We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Deal”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Mingle Place With The Star
Ranked #307 of 721 Hotels in Hong Kong
Reviewed December 25, 2012

I'll start with the good points about this hotel. It is located in the center of Wan Chai, it's near to everything. They have free wifi that works. The most important thing is that the people at the reception are very helpful and speak English, trust me! English speaking employees is a very rare currency in Hong Kong. The room has all necessary hotel amenities, hot water, clean, tidy, and room service.
The only drawback about this hotel is that the room is tiny, but it's a great deal for what u r going to pay for.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Queen's Room
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Shifo80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (49)
There are newer reviews for Mingle Place With The Star
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

31 - 37 of 49 reviews

Reviewed November 10, 2012 via mobile

If you are looking for a clean, comfortable & centrally (near MTR) place. This hotel might be what you are looking for. Hotel is very near Wan Chai MTR. Room is pretty cramp, toilet is small & you are able to hear street noise. But overall at least it is clean & neat. Saw previous review on the non existence wifi. Did not have this problem at all. If there is something to complain about is the canned food they "offer" to guests in the room??, the cans are rusty! Anyway, a food place can be easily located outside, so reckon not a big deal. A place to spend the night, have a bath & out to explore HK

1  Thank Ellelimsg
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed October 20, 2012

As I saw the latest review here, it is not as bad as we thought of.
1. The Location is great, CENTER, near market, shopping, MTR station
2. Our room got upgraded by booking.com (perhaps because it's weekday)
3. Nice room, though its a bit narrow but acceptable (around 12-14 sqm)
4. the good thing is we had NICE pillows, cool comforter and the bed is tidy all the time or everytime we had our room make-up
5. Friendly and Attentive staff, they were there and taught us around the city and how to go to one place to another by MTR.
6. Built in surround speaker, lots of jam pack loaded movies in a 32-in. LED TV so we did not feel boring or something at night because of this.
7. Welcome drinks, Tea or something, free coffee, tea always available on the bar but there's no fridge available.
8. All things inside the room were controlled in the smart television.
9. Restroom bit failed because its too narrow and small that you can only fit in inside the shower area, the ventilation inside so speedy that it turned so cold inside the restroom too.
10. Recommended for those who just want a sleep during the travel on day, windows were hazed so you cannot see the area unless you open it.
11. Bit noisy at night because of the bus or mini trucks passed by but it's okay.

Room Tip: Get the King size or Queen size room bed, just a bit on add on to your penny and it's all worth...
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Francster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2012

I stayed here for a couple of nights before moving elsewhere! For me the receptionist was an awful introduation to hk!! She was so rude, cold and unhelpful. I arrived at 7am after a 15hour flight, i understood my room was not ready but she charged me to use a toilet to change my clothes, not even a shower. For me she made my jetlag so much worse & she was very unhelpful! The hotel is not a hotel at all its a tiny, unwelcoming shoebox. Dorm hostels are better!

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Silkybaby456
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 12, 2012

My usual hotel was full and some event in tow nmade all hotels either full or prohibitively expensive. Eventually managed to book at Mingle Place in Wanchai and even this was pricey as there were a scarcity of rooms available. That said it did the job, is very conveniently located on Wancahi Road. Stayed in the "best" room - deluxe - and wouldn't want to stay in anything lesser. Power shower and heated toilet seat was unexpected and the best thing about the room

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank peter s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 5, 2012

I stayed here for two nights in april 2012. I had previously stayed at the mingle by the park next door but had decided to try this one instead. The room was a decent size and the queen bed i had was really big. I have to say that the shower was tiny compared to the one in the hotel next door, which was a bit of a dissappointment. The fridge was also a little awkward to get into as it was all the way under the desk and then in a cupboard.
All in all though it was still a great hotel, centeral and the free internet and movies are the added bonus that made me come back again. You can also leave you're luggage once you check out which is a great service and saves you dragging it around Hong Kong.
However i think i would stay next door again next time as i prefered the little antique touches, even though i am a person who likes modern decor. The only upside to staying in the Star is the lift so you don't have to carry luggage up and down the stairs.

Room Tip: Try to get a room at the back of the hotel as it will be much quieter, the rooms on front are pretty...
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sonami2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 16, 2012

We booked a double room which was big enough for two people (in HK all hotel rooms are relatively small). The bed was very comfortable and we enjoyed the selection of free TV channels and movies. Only a 3 minute walk to Wan Chai Station which makes reaching Soho and the airport very easy. The staff was ok. The only negative thing I have to say is that the room was freezing when we visited in February. There is an aircon but no heating. For some reason I wasn't able to connect to WIFI but the staff provided me with a cable and when using it the connection was great.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank CarolineKor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hong Kong hotels
Wan Chai / Causeway Bay
Mingle Place By The Park
Mingle Place By The Park
#480 of 721 in Hong Kong
129 reviews
Wan Chai / Causeway Bay
Brighton Hotel Hong Kong
Brighton Hotel Hong Kong
#194 of 721 in Hong Kong
151 reviews
Wan Chai / Causeway Bay
Walden Hotel
Walden Hotel
#459 of 721 in Hong Kong
161 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Wan Chai / Causeway Bay
iclub Wan Chai Hotel
iclub Wan Chai Hotel
#158 of 721 in Hong Kong
494 reviews
Wan Chai / Causeway Bay
Burlington Hotel
Burlington Hotel
#93 of 721 in Hong Kong
131 reviews
Wan Chai / Causeway Bay
JJ Hotel
JJ Hotel
#134 of 721 in Hong Kong
657 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mingle Place With The Star? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mingle Place With The Star

Address: No.137 Wanchai Road, Hong Kong, China
Location: China > Hong Kong > Wan Chai / Causeway Bay
Amenities:
Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #307 of 721 Hotels in Hong Kong
Price Range: $49 - $190 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Mingle Place With The Star reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mingle Place With The Star Hong Kong

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing