We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worth for HKD 250 / night”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
New Peking Guest House
Ranked #376 of 726 Hotels in Hong Kong
Reviewed November 22, 2010

I booked New Peking Guest House on 18-20/11/2010 via HostelWorld.com, single room ensuite, price HKD 250 / night. It is located in Chungking Mansion 12th floor, Nathan Road, Tsim Sha Tsui, which is very good location for travel Hong Kong. Around the building, there are many guesthouse, hostel, and luxury hotel, including with shopping arcade, department stores, brand name shops, good restaurants and fast food chain stores. MTR Tsim Sha Tsui is nearby for connecting to everywhere in Kowloon, Hong Kong, Lantau, and New Territories. Tsim Sha Tsui Ferry Pier is not only 15 minutes walk. Also China Ferry Terminal to Macau is near on Canton Road. The location is closed to the ultimate highlight of Hong Kong, such the Symphony of Lights and Avenue of Stars.

I checked in about 8 am after checking out from USA Hostel, Mirador Mansion (It is good, but no room is available). There is a security guard in front of the elevator at Chungking Mansion to be of service for all residents. The housekeeper at New Peking Guest House was friendly, and in good cooperation. After paid the room, it was no room vacant, so I left my baggage with them, and go travel. I came again on 8 pm., and found my baggage was already in my room in good condition.

Room is very small and incommodious. From the room’s door, I can only walk one step to my bed, and bathroom. However, it is no problem as my main purpose in Hong Kong is for travel, not for sleep. I went out in early morning, and back in late midnight during the time I stayed here. Bed, bed sheet, pillow, blanket is clean with a small shelf, which TV and telephone on it, at the end of my bed. The hanger for cloth is on the wall. My room has a small window, but no good view. A small shelf is attached at the edge of window with a small refrigerator under.

The tiny bathroom is old, but clean. There is a tiny wash bowl with the mirror and little shelf over. Bath cream disposal is affixed on wall nearby. Shower is over the toilet bowl. There is also a window in bathroom.

Computer and internet are available for free of charge, but I did not use them. The old man (I think he is an owner) advised me about this. He was very polite, and looked very kind.

For overall, I feel this is fair for HKD 250 / night.

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LeeHyoHee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (28)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

19 - 25 of 28 reviews

Reviewed July 3, 2010

Relatively cheap. I had read a lot of bad stories about hostels in Chung King Mansion and surroundings and a girl travelling alone was a little worried what it might become. And everything was really good. After booking, the owner Peter emailed me a map of the building and some additional information. When I arrived there, I got a small but _really_ clean room with a view to the street. Yet it was quiet as it was in 12th floor. Staff was very friendly and were ready to help with anything. I felt perfectly safe and slept like a baby. I tried to go back once without booking but it was fully booked that night.

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Edea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 5, 2010

The hotel was clean and very frIendly staff. YOur at the heart of the city already even though it was located on the 12th floor. I mean hongkong is a densely populated area so you dont expect to stay on a flat bed hotel. Just DONT BOTHER indians at the entrance, just ask THE INFORMATION on the ground level as to where the elevator is. The manager Peter was very nICE AND HE EVEN CARRY ONE OF OUR LUGGAGE AND DELIVER US TO THE BUS STOP GOING TO THE AIRPORT.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank joqs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2015
Google Translation

  • Stayed: November 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Андрей К
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 11, 2015
Google Translation

  • Stayed: September 2014, traveled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Manuelloco44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 25, 2014
Google Translation

  • Stayed: October 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank j1195843
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 28, 2013
Google Translation

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Balic73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hong Kong hotels
Tsim Sha Tsui
Cosmic Guest House Hong Kong
Cosmic Guest House Hong Kong
#92 of 269 in Hong Kong
188 reviews
Mong Kok
Royal Plaza Hotel
Royal Plaza Hotel
#26 of 726 in Hong Kong
4,140 reviews
Mong Kok
Cordis, Hong Kong
Cordis, Hong Kong
#7 of 726 in Hong Kong
825 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Tsuen Wan
Royal View Hotel
Royal View Hotel
#106 of 726 in Hong Kong
966 reviews
Tsim Sha Tsui
Hotel ICON
Hotel ICON
#3 of 726 in Hong Kong
6,122 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to New Peking Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about New Peking Guest House

Address: A1 12/F Block A Chung King Mansion, Yau Tsim Mong District (Tsim Sha Tsui), Hong Kong, China
Location: China > Hong Kong > Tsim Sha Tsui
Hotel Style:
Ranked #376 of 726 Hotels in Hong Kong
Also Known As:
New Peking Guest House Hotel Hong Kong
New Peking Guest House Hong Kong

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing