We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I will be back :)”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Jockey Club Mt. Davis Youth Hostel
Ranked #26 of 161 Specialty Lodging in Hong Kong
Reviewed September 21, 2012

I had stayed in this hostel a year ago. And I come back last week again because of its good price. It has changed a lot and become much more comfortable!

Although the location of the hostel is far away from down town, they provide free shuttle bus from Sheung Wan to the hostel. So it won't be a big problem.

Their dorms are now for 4 to 6 people instead of 28.The buildings and rooms were recently furnished. I love the kitchen! They provide kitchenware such as pans, stoves, microwave and dinnerware. It was a good experience chatting with people from different countries while preparing food and having dinner at the canteen.

I am amused by the sea view there! There are some chairs and table at the rooftop, and a square to enjoy the beautiful harbour view. It is rare calm place in the fast-pacing city. I will definitely come again in the future.

Room Tip: Ask the staff the bed you want, e.g.lower bed, 4-bed dorm.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ppchan1989
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (73)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

25 - 31 of 73 reviews

Reviewed December 25, 2009

Having travelled the world staying in hostels I have had my fair share of the bad and the good.

We were aware that this hostel is a bit out of the way, and as the shuttle timetable didn't match up with our timing, we got a public bus. This dropped us off at the bottom of the hill (more like mountain) and we had a bit of a 30 minute trek to get to the top.

My first impression was that the whole place looked very run down, the pain falling off the buildings etc, I felt like I was in bosnia or somewhere.

We had booked a double room, and the first one we were shown was terrible. There were 2 single beds which actually had cot sides on them, with no mattress but rather a piece of foam no more than an inch thick. The floor was tiled which made the room very cold, and the furniture looked ready for the dump. I complained and there was one other room they could offer, which did have a double bed, but was the size of a box.

The showers were ok, but were only half inside, with a curtain instead of a door as entry, so the whole place was freezing. Did I mention that none of the rooms have heating?!?!

The place is in the middle of nowhere (which we were aware of) but they do run a good shuttle service into the centre.

This place could be really nice, as there are great views over the harbour etc, but at the moment they need to knock the place down and start again!

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank s300bex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: October 2017, traveled with friends
Thank yongyihk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: October 2017, traveled as a couple
Thank kwan1019
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 5, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: October 2017, traveled with friends
Thank Zah L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 20, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: November 2016, traveled with friends
1  Thank johnchan0626
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 18, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: June 2017, traveled with friends
Thank Andy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hong Kong hotels
The Mahjong
#1 of 161 in Hong Kong
180 reviews
Pandora After 80s
#43 of 161 in Hong Kong
133 reviews
Tsim Sha Tsui
Urban Pack
Urban Pack
#5 of 161 in Hong Kong
415 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Wan Chai / Causeway Bay
Yesinn Causeway Bay
Yesinn Causeway Bay
#2 of 161 in Hong Kong
597 reviews
Wontonmeen Hostel
#7 of 161 in Hong Kong
47 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jockey Club Mt. Davis Youth Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jockey Club Mt. Davis Youth Hostel

Address: No.123 Mount Davis Path, Bofulin, Hong Kong, China
Location: China > Hong Kong
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 161 Specialty Lodging in Hong Kong
Price Range: $23 - $96 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Jockey Club Mt. Davis Youth Hostel 2*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Jockey Club Mt. Davis Youth Hostel, situated against the backdrop of Mount Davis in Pokfulam, offers you the best of both worlds enabling you to enjoy both breathtaking views across Victoria Harbour whilst also being only a short distance from the many clubs, bars, and restaurants for which Hong Kong is justly famous. You can soak up unforgettable morning views of the multitude of boats in the shipping lanes and the distant Tsing Ma Bridge before heading to the heart of Hong Kong by our free shuttle bus to Sheung Wan in 20 minutes for shopping and sightseeing. You can also opt for an historic walk following our heritage trail leaflet to visit a series of World War Two military relics, including the command headquarters, arsenal and batteries of the British military forces at Mount Davis and in the nearby Lung Fu Shan Country Park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, Travelocity, HostelWorld, Booking.com and Ctrip TA so you can book your Jockey Club Mt. Davis Youth Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jockey Club Mt. Davis Youth Hotel Hong Kong
Jockey Club Mt. Davis Youth Hostel Hong Kong

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing