We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Confusing attraction!”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of Noah's Ark

Noah's Ark
Book In Advance
More Info
$18.44*
and up
Hong Kong Noah's Ark Admission Ticket
Ranked #193 of 812 things to do in Hong Kong
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Noah's Ark Hong Kong hosts the world's first full-sized replica of the biblical ship and featuring 5 interactive attractions, fantastic nature gardens, 4-D movies and more. This fun-filled, educating and conservational Ark on the Ma Wan Island waterfront overlooks the breath-taking view of HK's iconic landmark "Tsing Ma Bridge" filled with wholesome and entertaining activities for the whole family
Useful Information: Activities for older children, Wheelchair access, Stairs / elevator, Lockers / storage, Food available for purchase, Activities for young children
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
32 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Confusing attraction!”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 2, 2013

We had planned to visit Noah's ark as the website made it seem quite appealing and that there were quite a few activities/attractions in the 'park'.

Transport to and from Noah's Ark:
Firstly we were coming from Lantau island (near Ngong ping) and caught a taxi there. This attraction is situated on a small island with restricted access to vehicles, so the taxis could only take us so far before we had to walk the rest of the way. The island was pretty much deserted, on our walk to the park we came across no other visitors.

The main issue we had was leaving the park. The taxi rank (where we got dropped) has no taxis coming or going (there really is no reason for them to come on the island), no train access either, so we were wondering how we were going to get home. There was literally no one around to ask for help. We saw a bus stop and a few minutes later a bus pulled up, we got on regardless of where it was going, because we didn't want to be stuck on that island for any longer. Luckily for us, it took us to Tsing Yi train station, so we could catch the MTR back to our hotel.

Inside the park:
We paid our admission fee and walked towards the ark garden. It was interesting seeing all the fake animals in pairs scattered around the ark. (This bit I enjoyed). I wish we could have gotten closer to the animals to be able to take pictures with them. Instead, they were scattered in garden beds, which meant you could only look on from a distance.

Then we went inside the ark. It started off interesting with a set up of the animals and how they would be arranged on the ark. There were a few live animals, followed by display after display of different historic pieces of info. There were a few 3D movie viewings relating to the flood that we watched too.

But after the 2nd viewing the staff member directed us back into the gallery space and we could not find a way to exit/continue. We could not go back the way we came as it was the theatre from the 3D movie we just watched. The doors were closed, which meant the gallery had to continue some where right? Wrong, we searched the entire gallery floor and could only find emergency exits and entrance to the theatres. There were no staff members around to ask either. We used an emergency exit to get out as we just couldn't escape it.

After that we checked around the outside of the ark and found the gift shop we then found ourselves wondering what more there was to do. We ended up just leaving.

I feel that improvements could be made to this park (particularly with access made easier) as this was a real put off.

I would not recommend this attraction as I personally found that it was a waste of time.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
9 Thank WorldTraveller255103
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

144 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    28
    46
    39
    14
    17
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Indonesian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
208 reviews
103 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
“Educational but not thrilled”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 29, 2012

We visited on Christmas day and were a little disappointed with the lack of festive atmosphere at the theme park. Anyway, the 1:1 replicas of Noah's Ark and the animals were nicely done but perhaps robotic versions of the animals might be able to thrill the kids more. Other than that, the exhibitions on environmental awareness was ok but the rest got a little too heavy for our young children. When we reached the Solar Tower, the kids had very little clue about what the 3D movie was about. A short stroll in Ma Wan park (public access) next to the Solar Tower entrance/exit was a nice way to end the visit.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Gary Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“A science centre in an ark for the kids”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 14, 2012

I guess if you are looking for something to do in Hong Kong besides the shopping and the eating, and you have too much time to spend with your little ones, this might be a good place for them to learn about science (in relationship to the environment).

The place is quite boring for adults as there isnt any hype, rides and significant must-see. The only attraction to me is the majestic size of the size and the few animals outside the ark to take photographs of.

Putting that aside, there are 2 parts to this attractions. The biblical history and background of the ark and the second is the planet earth and the need to be environment mindedness. There is a long hallway of learning rooms for children to learn about the planet, animals, planets, languages etc via interactive learning. I found that quite interesting but as my daughter is still very young, she could not appreciate it.

We wanted to visit the other side of the resort- the solar tower and found that it is a deep walk into mini forest. Half way, we gave up.

The tickets aren’t that cheap either. The shuttle service from Mongkok helps us to save some trouble in travelling there and I must admit the staff are very friendly.

In conclusion, think of the attraction as a learning centre to be a better environmentalist rather than a theme park. In this way, you might not be disappointed.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank tangibleprseence
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong
Level Contributor
1,443 reviews
560 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 695 helpful votes
“OK for an afternoon”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012

It's a great place for kids to explore, but rather boring if you're an adult, especially if you are actively atheist.

To get there, either take the ferry from Tsuen Wan, destination Ma Wan, or take the Park Island buses either from out side Tsuen Wan MTR ($9) or Metroplaza Kwai Fong ($10). The Kwai Fong route is less crowded. Alight first stop on Ma Wan.

You basically wander around the place looking for a logical sequence to do things, but innevitably you just walk into a room and start exploring. There are 2 3D movies in the Ark and another in the Sun Tower. The movies are innocuous enough, tad boring with their educational themes.

The Sun Tower is a new addition to the ticket. It's a short walk uphill towards the campsite. There, you can explore the Sun, see sunspots live, explore the planets and watch a 25 minute 3D movie.

While there is a restaurant onsite, I'd avoid it if at all possible. Pricey for mediocraty.

A good place to spend an afternoon, but at the same price bracket as Ocean Park, I'd rather be somewhere else. But the kids will love it.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank HKeater
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, null, Hong Kong
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“alright”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 17, 2012

It was pretty cool, bit confusing on how to go there must walk a fair amount before you reach the place and public transportation. The shows were nothing spectacular, it was somewhat educational but overall quiet boring since there weren't much interactive activities available, and the ones they have weren't fun. Took my 4 year old cousin there she had a blast because she was able to pose and take pictures of with tons of animal figures which was fun for her. Great photo opt, but nothing more than that.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Elza W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Noah's Ark also viewed

 

Been to Noah's Ark? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing