We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value and nice amenities”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Butterfly On Morrison
Ranked #79 of 718 Hotels in Hong Kong
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Good value and nice amenities”
Reviewed July 1, 2012

If you like horse racing (or shopping), this hotel is right in the action - near Happy Valley racecourse and Times Square Shopping Complex. Our deluxe room overlooked the racecourse and it looked amazing lit up at night, and was a close walk - check out the Wednesday night racing schedule; its a fun filled night on the lawn with music between races and lots of fun happening on course amongst locals and expats alike. The hotel is boutique - nice (small) rooms, nice amenities ad everything you need for comfort - only 4 rooms per floor so noise is minimal, which is great. Helpful staff and a nice atmosphere all round.

Room Tip: High floor overlooking racecourse
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BiztravellerSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,406 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    487
    698
    186
    21
    14
See reviews for
204
416
161
235
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (187)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Montreal
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 24, 2012

I was in HK a few weeks ago and we stayed at Dorsett regency in Kennedy town and everything was awesome however the location was far from everything. Coming back from taipei .. We decided to stay at butterfly on morrison in HK thinking itd be great since we booked an executive room on the 28th floor. To my surprise... It wasnt great, it was horrible. The shower and bassin are always clogged even after i complained 3 times! The bathroom floor looks dirty. They try to ask their so called engineer to fix the drain problem but its useless and the front desk keeps on apologizing .... But nothing is done or improved. For the price i paid i expected much better. The only reason why i havent left yet is because of the location. Never again will i stay at this boutique hotel

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Olivia K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Executive Assistant Manager at Butterfly On Morrison, responded to this review, June 30, 2012
Thank you for your feedback. We are sorry to learn about your disappointment.

Thank you for choosing to stay at the hotel due to its easy access to MTR subway station, Times Square and the popular Causeway Bay shopping and entertainment area.

Obviously, it was the drainage problem that spoiled your stay. From our record, the service team promptly addressed to your enquiry and had the problem fixed. According to my experience, it could be the strong water pressure that causes the slow-down of drainage.

We thank you for your valuable comment and hope you would give us another chance to serve you again on your next visit to Hong Kong.

Raymond Siu
Executive Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
94 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed June 22, 2012

Good price for a comfortable bed, nice pillows, good shower and free wifi. Very noisy from the traffic noise.. but where in HK is not? Great central location. Occasional bad smell from the bathroom sink and hard to find the phone number as the only place they had it printed was on the key card.. don't know who did their branding!! Overall good value for an easy place to stay.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shazar_Robinson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
357 reviews
133 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 160 helpful votes
Reviewed June 16, 2012

Stayed here for 4 nights in June 2012. To get to the hotel I took the Airport Express to Hong Kong Station - I was meeting a friend who lives in Hong Kong, so we took a taxi to the hotel (or rather the road it was on, as the taxi driver hadn't heard of it) - this cost about HK$45 including HK$5 for my luggage (this was a Sunday evening so traffic wasn't an issue, might cost more at peak times). The entrance is pretty easy to find although it isn't big - take the lift to the 3rd floor for reception.

Check-in was swift and the staff speak very good English. I was given an upgrade to a deluxe room, which was great - still don't quite understand how hotels dish out their upgrades, but it might be because I booked directly via the hotel's website; it was cheaper than every website comparison site I could find and means they don't pay commission. On check-in, they did give me the wrong room key at first - it was obvious though from the fact the room had someone else's stuff in and by the time I'd gone back reception, the staff were already coming to meet me with the correct key. I didn't find this a big deal as it was an honest mistake and I did notice later that the hotel is full of security cameras (in the hallways and lifts) so your belongings are secure.

My room was on the 16th floor and was of ample size - other reviewers have complained about the size of the rooms but I can only comment on the one I had, which would be sufficient for two people, even with luggage. Sadly, I wasn't on the Happy Valley side (although you could still see the corner of the race-course as the photo shows) but being high up you still get a good view of the city and can't hear any of the traffic noise below. The room was exactly as it's described - there were tea/coffee making facilities, a fridge (built in to part of the wardrobe, along with a valuables safe), an iPod dock (worth noting though that it didn't charge my iPhone 4, so make sure you still bring your cable), plus an LCD TV, with several English channels, and a DVD player (didn't use the latter, it was by the bed though rather than under the TV). One reviewer had problems finding plug sockets but this wasn't an issue - there was one by the desk and one under the bedside cabinet.

The bed was very comfy, probably because the hotel's relatively new. The air con worked very well and has a sleep mode, which cranks the noise down to help you at night while still keeping things cool. Do see what other reviewers have meant about the bathroom - e.g. there's just a clear glass panel enclosing the shower, then the walls between the bathroom and bedroom are glass - although there are now blinds to provide some sort of privacy - given that most of the hotel is double rooms, then this shouldn't be a problem for single travellers or couples. Was plenty of hot water and good water pressure - got 2 new toothbrushes and mini-tubes of toothpaste every day as well as 2 small bottles of water. The rooms were also cleaned to a very high standard and on the day I did see the housekeeper, she was apologetic for disturbing me (it was 10am or so mind!). The wifi was good, had a strong signal and speed was good.

Location-wise, it's about a 10-15 minute walk to the MTR (Exit A at Times Square), although it's worth noting that you'll walk for another 10 minutes from Exit A to the actual trains. There are other exits for Causeway Bay station that are a further walk above ground, but get you nearer to the trains. There's a 7/11 (corner shop) just down from the hotel and one across the road too. Just down a bit further is Hennessy Road where you can get one of the trams (well worth the experience). Between the MTR and Hennessy Road is a local market, great for photos and to see some of the local food on offer.

Overall, I'd definitely use this hotel again as the facilities are modern whilst available at a reasonable price. The location is also great, as it's slightly away from the bustle of Time Square, but a short walk to get to the MTR and shops.

Room Tip: As usual, ask for a higher room for a better room and if you get one over Happy Valley, the view mus...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank TheLush101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
1 review
Reviewed June 13, 2012

Hotel is quite new, the room is quite big by hong kong standard. Bath room is excellent. My room viewing the race course, high rise building and mountain. The night view was awesome. It is located about 3 minute walks to times square shopping center and causeway MTR. Another 2min walks further down,SOGO departmental store is just across the road. Famous eatery shops are also located in this area example the famous Mak wanton mee, deserts and etc. At the back of the hotel, there is a market and stalls selling fruits and dried stuff like dried shrimp, dried abolone, scallop and many more Chinese medicinal products are reasonable price due to these stalls are patronized by local. If you want to do your own laundry, there is self service kiosk (with dryer) pay by octopus card is located at the back of the hotel.
The hotel staffs are very helpful and will do whatever to ensure that your requests are met. We enjoy our 5 night stay and thanks for the good hospitality. i definitely will go back to this hotel in my return trip.
From Danny and family, JB, pMalaysia

Room Tip: Ask for room at 20th floor and above to get good view of the race course or peak.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Excelhotel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penang Island, Malaysia
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed June 11, 2012 via mobile

Nice room.i stayed at a deluxe room.it was quite spacious for hongkong standard. Location is very near to times square.jz 5min walking distance.but it was a 15min walking distance to mtr.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nicolelee77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed June 11, 2012

After 10 days at the Butterfly on Wellington, I wanted to change the scenery and moved to Causeway Bay. At first, I regretted it, the location on Morrison is not that great, then I saw my room...I booked a superior room, that's what I had on Wellington and it was so spacious. Obviously, the room at Morrison are tinier. I couldn't fit my three suitcases, I immediately went down to the reception to complain. And they upgraded me to a Deluxe room which was much better. I liked the modern decoration very much, there is even a chair similar to the one I have in my own bedroom at home. But still, I don't think I would come back to that hotel, the area is noisier, you can hear the traffic.The staff is polite and professional, but not as warm and friendly as they are on Wellington. The other day I was lost in Central, I went back to Butterfly hotel to ask for guidance and use the Wifi in the lobby. They've been so kind, they even wrote down the address I was going to in Chinese, to make it easier for me if I needed to ask a taxi or someone in the street. I've heard that Butterfly hotel will open a new location in Causeway Bay in July near by the metro, maybe worth to check it out...

Room Tip: Nothing less than a Deluxe room otherwise it's tiny...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank carolannt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hong Kong hotels
Tin Hau
Butterfly on Victoria
Butterfly on Victoria
#65 of 718 in Hong Kong
1,334 reviews
Sheung Wan
Butterfly on Hollywood
Butterfly on Hollywood
#91 of 718 in Hong Kong
1,731 reviews
Tsim Sha Tsui
Butterfly on Prat
Butterfly on Prat
#49 of 718 in Hong Kong
2,855 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sheung Wan
Butterfly on Waterfront
Butterfly on Waterfront
#80 of 718 in Hong Kong
1,223 reviews
Wan Chai / Causeway Bay
Dorsett Wanchai, Hong Kong
Dorsett Wanchai, Hong Kong
#113 of 718 in Hong Kong
3,155 reviews
Wan Chai / Causeway Bay
Kew Green Hotel Wanchai Hong Kong
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Butterfly On Morrison? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Butterfly On Morrison

Property: Butterfly On Morrison
Address: No.39 Morrison Hill Road, Causeway Bay, Hong Kong, China
Location: China > Hong Kong > Wan Chai / Causeway Bay
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#40 Business Hotel in Hong Kong
#49 Family Hotel in Hong Kong
#62 Romantic Hotel in Hong Kong
#66 Best Value Hotel in Hong Kong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Butterfly On Morrison 3.5*
Number of rooms: 98
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Combining contemporary comfort with a classy dose of European pizzazz, Butterfly on Morrison cannot enjoy a better location than where it is at Causeway Bay. That means 5 minutes away from the heart of shopper's Hong Kong (think Times Square, Sogo and the brand new Hysan Place); 5 minutes from the high-octane actions of the Happy Valley racetrack and the Hong Kong stadium; 10 minutes from the nightlife and heritage cool of Wan Chai and the same number of minutes from the chic and quirks of Star Street Precinct. In short, everything that makes Hong Kong buzz and hum with energy is right outside. Inside, 98 guest rooms are filled to the brim with sophisticated amenities, offering every comfort for both work and play, including a free smartphone offering unlimited local calls and 3G data, Wi-Fi tethering, a city guide as well as all sorts of interesting info and features. However busy the night gets, the hotel will be your refuge. So when you're tired from a day of non-stop shopping, Rugby Sevens watching or nightlife exploring, return to us, relax and lounge. Our 24-hour front desk and 'Local Ambassadors' have got you covered. How well connected are we? - 6-minute walk to Causeway Bay MTR. - 15-minute taxi ride to the Airport Express Hong Kong Station for direct train connection to Hong Kong International Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Butterfly On Morrison reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Butterfly On Morrison Hotel Hong Kong
Butterfly On Morrison Hong Kong

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing