We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very traditional chinese food”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Luk Yu Tea House

Luk Yu Tea House
Ranked #39 of 267 Coffee & Tea in Hong Kong
Price range: $0 - $100
Cuisines: Chinese, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Brunch, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: Central
Milan, Italy
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Very traditional chinese food”
Reviewed March 27, 2013

I came here for yum cha becoz of its history and vintage atmosphere.

The food was delicious - bbq pork bun, spring rolls, dumplings, egg tarts, fried rice noodles etc...

The presentation wasn't the fancy one and the portion was a bit smaller than other chinese restaurants.

Everything here seemed very authentic and traditional to me.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank giovanna m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

496 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    104
    189
    86
    51
    66
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Singapore
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Blast to the past!”
Reviewed March 25, 2013

Loved how the decor of the place has been preserved to create an "oriental experience". it is not everyday that such places can be found.

The har gow was probably one of the best I've eaten. The rest of the items like glutinous rice, carrot cake were average, with a slightly high price tag.

Grab some pics of the cashier counter while you're there!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank puffyeyes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
130 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Have a look in the window. ”
Reviewed March 18, 2013 via mobile

Arriving at 4-20pm we were directed to a dirty table while a cleaner was mopping the restaurant floor with a mop which smelled of disinfectant.
Our table was then changed, to a partially laid one we were given an English menu and a pot of tea. We selected four savoury and two sweet items by ticking the menu and the waiter picked it up on his way past, studied it, and headed for the kitchen. Two savoury and a sweet arrived, we ate the mains and put off for as long as we could on dessert but eventually had that before it became too cold.
We attracted the waiter's attention to ask for more tea (apparently not automatic at 30 dollars per head) and our remaining dishes.
At this point no-one had actually spoken to us at all.
The waiter explained that our other dishes had been cancelled as they had run out this late in the day...
We identified numerous training needs stumped up way too much cash for all we'd had and left.
It looks lovely but I'll never go back and wouldn't recommend going through the door.

Helpful?
Thank AndyBe11
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Level Contributor
58 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“I heard the place has history or looks like it has, but other than the ambience, not impressed.”
Reviewed March 17, 2013

Found it expensive - paid 600hk$ for 6 dishes ordered. If you want to have a Facebook picture here, just order two or three dumpling orders at 40 to 68$ each ang go. Their 3 pcs mini egg tarts were 40hk$ and I preferred the 4hk$ that I bought from a street bakery in shamshuipo area. Great ambiance - pay 5 or 6x here. There are better tasting restaurants serving the same stuff all over the streets of Hong Kong. Not coming back at all.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank loupeter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Known for Rude Service!”
Reviewed March 12, 2013

Beware: This restaurant is famous for its rude service. If the staff doesn't recognize you they'll wave you up to the second floor without saying anything. Once on the second floor, the only "service" you'll get is ordering, food tossed on your table and your bill picked up. Maybe you'll get lucky and your tea will be refilled.

However, the food is quite delicious, if pricey. Come for dinner for some unique, authentic food. Bring a lot of people because everything is served family style and the dishes are large. Make sure to order the sweet Walnut soup for dessert.

(Side Comment #1: In 2002, at 9AM in the morning, a local property tycoon was shot in the head and killed in this restaurant by a hitman.

Side Comment #2: Since I usually eat here with regulars, we get seated downstairs. The service downstairs is excellent. So, they know how to serve people... they just choose not to. Count it as part of the charm.)

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DoomGoober
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Luk Yu Tea House also viewed

 

Been to Luk Yu Tea House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing