We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Stunning urban hotel with amazing views and a killer location”
Review of The Upper House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Upper House
Ranked #1 of 719 Hotels in Hong Kong
Certificate of Excellence
2 reviews
“Stunning urban hotel with amazing views and a killer location”
Reviewed April 2, 2013

My wife and I loved The Upper House. The design is cool and modern, but works really well. The views from the rooms are amazing, and the staff could not be more thoughtful and welcoming. The restaurant and bar are excellent. The breakfast is fantastic and the evening meal with the nighttime view of Hong Kong is a do not miss experience. The location could not be better for shopping, sightseeing, and easy access to everything. In Hong Kong there is no where else I would consider staying. Check out the sister hotel in Beijing, The Opposite House, it is different, but equally fabulous.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marcel T, Manager at The Upper House, responded to this review, April 10, 2013
Dear David

Many thanks for your recent review on tripadvisor.com

I am glad to hear that you enjoyed the overall experience at both; The Upper House as well as The Opposite House and for sharing it with the rest of the tripadvisor.com community.

Stay in touch and please let me know if I may ever assist with anything in the future.

Sincerely

Marcel Thoma
Hotel Manager
The Upper House
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,124 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,955
    127
    29
    7
    6
See reviews for
269
762
170
615
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (537)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
California
Level Contributor
55 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
Reviewed April 1, 2013

World class hotel, awesome large room with wraparound view of the harbor to the hills from 4709. Great taste in furniture - sleek, modern but comfortable.

Our daughter, going to school in Hong Kong joined us for a few days, so they made up the couch into a comfortable bed. She loved it.

Lots of lessons for other high-end hotels, Upper House includes both lounging robes and bathrobes, free wifi, free snacks, free gym- all without the nickel and dime charges of the Four Seasons. Of course it's embedded in the hefty room rate, but great marketing.

Biggest nits:
1. Room lighting was too dim We chalked this up by being designed by someone under 35 :-) 2. Lighting controls were hard to find.
3. Perhaps it was Saturday night but the iPod wouldn't connect to order Room Service. Had to call twice to get a printed menu.
4. On arrival on the ground floor we were met by a smiling person who needs to get the message down for jet-lagged visitors. How about, "welcome, this is the ground floor of the Upper House. Registration is upstairs. Let me take your luggage and get you to the check-in area." Instead we had to ask multiple times.

Definitely staying here when we return. Wish we knew about their sister hotel, the Opposite House when were in Beijing.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank K&SRanch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marcel T, Manager at The Upper House, responded to this review, April 10, 2013
Many thanks for your recent review on tripadvisor.com

We appreciate that you use superlatives such as “awesome” to describe us. I am particularly happy to hear that you enjoyed our rooms and the extra amenities which we believe provide good price-value compared to other luxury five star hotels in town. I am glad to hear that you enjoyed the overall experience and for sharing it with the rest of the tripadvisor.com community.

I appreciate you pointing out things you liked less during your stay. It will certainly help to improve things for future visitors to “our house”. The lighting is something which certainly is a bit of personal preference but we will certainly ensure to put an extra light in your room for your next stay. I would love to hear more also about your arrival experience; please feel free to email me at : marcelthoma@swirehotels.com.

Do let me know if you wish to stay at our sister hotel The Opposite House and I shall be happy to connect you with my colleagues there.

Stay in touch and thank you again for having taken the time to write this detailed feedback.

Sincerely

Marcel Thoma
Hotel Manager
The Upper House
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed March 28, 2013

On an island packed with luxurious hotels, Upper House is a cut above the rest. Before you even arrive, the staff go out of their way to ensure you have everything you need and your stay is something special. Once you arrive the welcome is warm and the rooms are modern, stylish and luxurious, without being fussy. The bathrooms on the habour side view are a particular treat, with huge baths facing out over the water. Breakfast is a delicious with Eastern and Western options, accompanied by great views across Hong Kong. I cannot recommend highly enough.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MitchLions
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marcel T, Manager at The Upper House, responded to this review, April 10, 2013
Dear Mitch

Many thanks for your recent review on tripadvisor.com

We appreciate that you call us “Hong Kong’s finest hotel”. In a city where competition is abundant; we are trying to deliver a unique experience to all our guests. I am glad to hear that you enjoyed this experience and for sharing it with the rest of the tripadvisor.com community.

Please do let me know if I may ever assist with anything in the future and we hope to be able to welcome you back soon again to “our house”.

Sincerely

Marcel Thoma
Hotel Manager
The Upper House
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 27, 2013

We were just at The Upper House from March 20 to the 27. They are amazing!
We return on March 30 and will stay until April 11. We are looking forward to returning to our home away from home!
The staff goes out of their way to make sure everything is as one wants it, from the comfort of our bed, to getting my husband gluten free beer. The restaurant has good food, and the service is top notch. When getting our boarding passes they noticed there was an era on the ticket, they called our airline, and let us know what we needed. This saved us from having a horrible experience at the airport! We are most grateful for their help!
We have traveled all over the world, been to many high end hotels, and we have to say The Upper House is one of the best we have been in.
Cannot recommend them highly enough.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Terrie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marcel T, Manager at The Upper House, responded to this review, April 10, 2013
Many thanks for your recent review on tripadvisor.com as well your patronage over the last few weeks.

It was a pleasure also to meet you personally and many thanks for your kind comments about the team. We are indeed very lucky to work with such a passionate bunch of hospitality professionals!

I hope you had a safe onward journey. Please don’t stay away for too long and let me know if I may assist with anything in the future.

Sincerely

Marcel Thoma
Hotel Manager
The Upper House
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed March 26, 2013

Top notch service, fantastic rooms, convenient location.The rooms are very well appointed.
Bathtubs are wonderful as are the Ren products- especially the moroccan rose oil. Staff are thoughtful.
The mini bar snacks are great and generously refilled.
Would happily return to this hotel!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Aimes12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marcel T, Manager at The Upper House, responded to this review, April 10, 2013
Many thanks for your review on tripadvisor.com

We appreciate your recent patronage of our hotel. It is wonderful to hear that you rate your experience as “fantastic”.

Safe future travels and do return to “our house” soon again.

Sincerely

Marcel Thoma
Hotel Manager
The Upper House
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
38 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed March 23, 2013

The review title was a phrase my wife used several times during our 6 nights at The Upper House.

Everything about our stay was first class, starting with our pickup from the airport in a comfortable Lexus, where our driver greeted us with moist towels, cool bottled water and complimentary in car wi-fi. Loved the iPad check-in, none of this milling around the front desk, signing forms, and the first impressions of the rooms just leave you smiling and shaking your head - they are so spacious, luxurious and stylish!

Like many other reviewers we were upgraded to a Harbour View Room (4107), which allowed us to enjoy the panaroma of the night lights but also the activity on the harbor, which included the arrival and departure of a number of cruise ships.

My wife loved the deep bath and the generous array of REN products (she is now a REN customer!) and we both couldn’t get enough of the walk-in rain shower. Wardrobe space is plentiful and there is so much room throughout the suite that unlike most other hotel rooms you don’t constantly bump into each other.

We didn’t get a breakfast package, but did get room service two or three mornings (a lovely egg-white omelette) and settled into a breakfast ritual of coffee and toast. The illy coffee machine is a breeze to operate, and a toaster, crockery and cutlery are all supplied. As all the shops don’t open until at least 10 AM we quickly adjusted to “Hong Kong time”, which meant a very lazy morning in the room.

By no means an expert, but having visited HK twice before, I feel the hotel is ideally located, being roughly in the middle of the metropolis of HK Island. It is adjacent to the Admiralty MTR station, which is also an interchange for the line to Kowloon. Hong Kong Park is a stones’ throw away, as is the Peak Tram.

We dined at Café Gray on the Saturday night and it was a relaxed but memorable experience, we both had the same main course (Iberico Pork Chop), which we agreed was one of (if not the best) mains we had ever had, and if they give out Michelin stars for bar food, then Café Gray bar should have one. On three of the evenings we had drinks / cocktails and gourmet bar food while relaxing and enjoying the views, and also indulged in Afternoon Tea.

The hotel staff were charming and professional. From the moment they greeted us by name when the car pulled up, to the moment we left via Express check-out (just drop the room key cards at the desk), we were always greeted with warm smiles and you got the impression everyone enjoyed their jobs.

We will return to Hong Kong in the not too distant future, as there was so much left unseen and undone. And we will definitely return to The Upper House.

Room Tip: We got upgraded but it's well worth a little extra for a Harbour View room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank TurfTycoon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marcel T, Manager at The Upper House, responded to this review, March 24, 2013
Many thanks for your detailed review on tripadvisor.com

Your review really reads wonderfully and I am sure it is another helpful write up for any future traveller to Hong Kong.

You noted so many positive things about us; the most rewarding of your comments is though the one where you described the team as “charming and professional” and that they “enjoy their jobs”.

Please do stay in touch and please let me know if I may assist with anything in the future; at the Upper House or any other Swire Hotels in the future.

Regards,

Sincerely,

Marcel Thoma
Hotel Manager
The Upper House
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
55 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed March 21, 2013

We arrived in the middle of the night after a long flight from Los Angeles (with stopover in Seoul, Korea). I am glad we decided to use the hotel’s airport transportation since we knew we would be arriving tired at that time and did not want to have to locate a taxi. The hotel emailed us detailed instructions on where to meet the driver, and he was waiting for us as soon as we exited with our bags. He was holding a card up with our names.

We stayed at the Upper House for three nights February 22, 23 and 24. After we left the Upper House we went on a Silversea cruise which departed from Hong Kong and stopped at ports in Viet Nam, Bangkok, and finally Singapore where we stayed three nights before flying home.

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the Upper House and it was definitely one of the highlights of our vacation. There is not much more that I can add from what others have written. We loved the hotel! The rooms are beautiful and the service is excellent. The bathrooms are beautiful with a wonderful limestone shower with no door (not necessary), rain shower head, and nice Ren bath products. The “maxi-bar” is a nice treat with complimentary M&M’s and other treats, and beverages in the fridge. We did not have a very clear harbor view but the view nonetheless was quite spectacular. We stared at all the high-rises and had a glimpse of the harbor. They upgraded us from the Studio 70 to Studio 80 which was very nice. No detail is overlooked, with the various controls and switches, various plugs for the laptop and other devices, and convenient way to close all the window blinds at night with the touch of a button.

Two small items that could use improvement (1) missing from the room is a make-up mirror. There is really no place to put on your make-up as lighting over the sink areas is very dim, and (2) the outlet to plug in the hair dryer was inside the closet so you had to stand up and dry your hair by the closet.

We found the close proximity to Pacific Place and the MTR stop very convenient. It was our first time in Hong Kong and it was easy to get around. It was nice to return to the peaceful vibe of the hotel after touring around the city.

As we were celebrating our 35th wedding anniversary we made dinner reservations long in advance at Café Grey. The view and service are truly outstanding but to be honest we were a little disappointed in the food. I guess we were expecting it to be great. It was good, but not great. They did bring us an anniversary dessert with candle which was very nice.

We would definitely return to the Upper House!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank LosAngelesCarol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marcel T, Manager at The Upper House, responded to this review, April 10, 2013
Many thanks for your lovely and very personal review on tripadvisor.com

We are much honored to hear that you consider The Upper House one of your highlights of your recent trip around Asia.

We have taken note of your comments about the missing make up mirror in the room; we will certainly ensure to have one placed for you upon your next visit.

I do apologize for the sub-par experience in Café Gray Deluxe. I would very much like to understand more about your perception of service during breakfast; please do email me on marcelthoma@swirehotels.com and allow me to contact you back personally to discuss.

I am very much looking forward to hearing from you again.

Sincerely

Marcel Thoma
Hotel Manager
The Upper House
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hong Kong hotels
Tsim Sha Tsui
Hotel ICON
Hotel ICON
#5 of 719 in Hong Kong
5.0 of 5 bubbles 5,539 reviews
West Kowloon
The Ritz-Carlton, Hong Kong
Central
The Landmark Mandarin Oriental, Hong Kong
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central
Four Seasons Hotel Hong Kong
Central
Mandarin Oriental, Hong Kong
Tsim Sha Tsui
The Langham, Hong Kong
The Langham, Hong Kong
#13 of 719 in Hong Kong
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,516 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Upper House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Upper House

Property: The Upper House
Address: Pacific Place, 88 Queensway, Hong Kong, China
Phone Number:
Location: China > Hong Kong > Admiralty
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Hong Kong
#1 Luxury Hotel in Hong Kong
#1 Romantic Hotel in Hong Kong
#2 Family Hotel in Hong Kong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Upper House 5*
Number of rooms: 117
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Upper House is a highly individualized small luxury hotel designed by Hong Kong architect Andre Fu. The hotel’s 117 rooms (including 21 suites and 2 penthouses) start at 730sq ft – the largest in Hong Kong. They feature wonderfully spacious bathrooms and dressing areas, and offer either scenic harbour or island views. Calming and contemporary, the rooms are designed to provide a sense of relaxation, warmth and understated luxury. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, Preferred Hotels, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Upper House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Upper House Hotel Hong Kong
The Upper House Hong Kong

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing