We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“6 star or more for the service - not to be missed!!”
Review of The Upper House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Upper House
Ranked #1 of 718 Hotels in Hong Kong
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
“6 star or more for the service - not to be missed!!”
Reviewed January 2, 2013

We have stayed in many 5 star hotels around the world, all we can say is this has to ranked among the BEST of the BEST. The staff from the most junior staff right up to the manager treated us like we were their best customers.

We plan to write a more detailed report of our incredible stay at The Upper House upon our return but to kick start the 2013 review for the hotel, we like to say that you have to come and experience this amazing hotel for its ambience, location and service. Bravo to the staff and keep up the good work.

David and Ray

Room Tip: We booked suite 80 with island views and that is pretty good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sydneywanderer888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marcel T, Manager at The Upper House, responded to this review, January 6, 2013
Thank you for your recent tripadvisor review and for sharing all your thoughts with like-minded travellers.

We appreciate that you call us “the best of the best”. It is wonderful to know that our teams made you feel welcome in all areas.

It was a pleasure to personally meet you during your stay. Please do stay in touch and let me know when you are returning to Hong Kong next. It will be my honor to personally look after all your arrangements.

Safe travels!

Sincerely

Marcel Thoma
Hotel Manager
The Upper House
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,192 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,021
    128
    29
    7
    7
See reviews for
281
778
176
639
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (548)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed December 30, 2012

A truly amazing experience, not to be missed if you are in Hong Kong. The room was large, the amenities fabulous, but more then that the staff was so friendly and helpful. They always made you feel special and were always there to make sure you had everything you needed.

Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Louise L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marcel T, Manager at The Upper House, responded to this review, January 6, 2013
Thank you for your recent tripadvisor review.

We are glad to hear that you had a pleasant stay with us. Above all though it is always great to hear that our teams made you feel at home!

We are looking forward to welcome you back soonest again. Please do contact me directly in the future if I may assist with any of your future bookings for any Swire Hotels.

Regards,

Marcel Thoma
Hotel Manager
The Upper House
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed December 25, 2012

One of the best designed rooms I have staid. Not only stylish and beautiful: each detail has been thought through. From the closet, the lighting to the soaps and yoga matt. The lounge is cosy and the restaurant outstanding. Service is of course perfect.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Arnaudyoyogi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marcel T, Manager at The Upper House, responded to this review, December 27, 2012
Thank you for your recent tripadvisor review.

We appreciate the time you took to write your review.

It is wonderful to hear that you not only appreciated the physical aspect of our hotel. Being passionate about service delivery, it is rewarding to know that you commend our team also on the service provided.

We are looking forward to welcome you back soonest again. Please do contact me directly in the future if I may assist with any of your future bookings for any Swire Hotels.

Regards,

Marcel Thoma
Hotel Manager
The Upper House
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Philippines
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed December 24, 2012

Having lived just around the corner from here for a few years and enjoyed drinks and dining at Gray Café many times this seemed like the perfect place to re-live Hong Kong. We had very high expectations and they were all met.

The service, from arrival to departure, was fabulous. The room was huge and tastefully detailed in all ways. The views over the harbour were of course spectacular. I don't think we could have asked for more. We stayed for a few days but never got to use any of the ameneties. Yoga classes in the garden on the weekend morning were very nice though.

Even if it's been open for only 3 years Upper House is "very now", much unlike the chandelier and butler focused competitors in this price segment. It must be difficult for a hotel like this to stay up to date with both technology and the wear and tear of Hong Kong's climate. It probably won't be the same in some years, so go now...

Room Tip: Harbour view. Harbour view. Harbour. View.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mr_Sigurdson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marcel T, Manager at The Upper House, responded to this review, December 27, 2012
Thank you for your recent tripadvisor review.

We appreciate the detailed feedback about your recent stay at “our house”. It is indeed very rewarding to know that all your expectations were met. Thank you for highlighting the fact that you appreciated the service. Rest assured that I have shared your feedback with the team.

Keeping up to date in todays’ fast changing business environment is not easy for any company. You are right that we don’t focus on “chandelier and butlers” but more on personalized, unexpected service delivery. The upkeep of the physical aspect of our hotel will remain also a top priority and we do hope to be able to maintain our product in the long term.

We are looking forward to welcome you back soonest again. Please do contact me directly in the future if I may assist with any of your future bookings for any Swire Hotels.

Regards,

Marcel Thoma
Hotel Manager
The Upper House
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bury St. Edmunds, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed December 24, 2012

We used this hotel as our base for our first visit to Hong Kong and absolutely loved it. The bedroom was well designed with good dressing-room space and featured several lovely sculptures and the bathroom was huge and very well equipped. The idea of the well stocked 'maxi-bar' - you only pay for the alcoholic drinks - made a refreshing change. Both rooms boasted great views. The restaurant, on the 49th floor, served a very good breakfast and we had dinner there one night and it was outstanding (reservation recommended). There was a lovely guest lounge, also on the 49th floor, which was a relaxing and peaceful place to unwind after a day in the city. Also, unusually for nowadays, much thought had gone into the design of the Smoking Area which was a delightful open air roof terrace with comfortable sofas and chairs nestled amongst plants and topiary. Delightful art-works were displayed throughout the hotel. The reception and 'Guest Experience' staff were extremely helpful and went out of their way to make our stay special. We thoroughly recommend this hotel and will return next time we are in H.K.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Grogsblossom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marcel T, Manager at The Upper House, responded to this review, December 27, 2012
Thank you for your recent tripadvisor review.

We appreciate the detailed feedback about your recent stay at “our house”. We are glad to know that you liked the layout of the rooms, the service in Café Gray Deluxe as well as the team in Guest Experience. It is wonderful to know that you are highlighting the special smoking area we created on our lawn area. Since all our rooms are non-smoking, this special space is indeed much appreciated by many of our guests.

Please do contact me directly in the future if I may assist with any of your future bookings for any Swire Hotels.

Regards,

Marcel Thoma
Hotel Manager
The Upper House
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wright5
Level 6 Contributor
134 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed December 24, 2012

We visited the The Upper House following recomendations from a family member who works at their sister hotel in Cheltenham, we stayed for afternoon tea which was lovely, lots of amazing sandwiches and cakes. The view was lovely and the staff were great and the suroundings amazing, we were blown away with the view from the toilets, I had to go back and grab my camera to prove that they had the best view from the loo ever.
Worth a visit if in Hong Kong and in Queensway area.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wrighty5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marcel T, Manager at The Upper House, responded to this review, December 27, 2012
Thank you for your recent tripadvisor review.

It is great to know that you found time to pass by for afternoon tea whilst in town.

Many thanks for your kind comments on the service you received. The views are not only amazing from our restrooms in Café Gray Deluxe but also from all our 117 guest rooms.

Please do contact me directly in case you are interested in staying with us during your next trip to Hong Kong. I would love to be able to assist you with any future arrangements.

Regards,

Marcel Thoma
Hotel Manager
The Upper House
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong
Level 6 Contributor
151 reviews
84 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 447 helpful votes
Reviewed December 23, 2012

I stay in a lot of hotels and this is one of the finest.
The hotel is very successful with the deals they offer. I am a member of the Marco Polo Cathay Pacific airlines club which is the parent company to this hotel and as such im rewarded with good rates and even free nights.
However, if i did not receive these benefits i would find it hard pushed as to whether i would stay here. The hotel is immaculately appointed. The rooms are spacious and the in room amenities are exquisite.
Unfortunately the hotel is located in Admirality and there really isnt much there except the pacific place mall and two other hotels, the conrad and the shangri la. Its a fine a hotel dont get me wrong but there is something just missing.
The staff are courtesy and polite and you get a sense that the hotel appreciates your business but they do not make you feel like you are home like other more established hotels in hong kong do.
I will be back here. But only if the price is right.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KaspXhotels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marcel T, Manager at The Upper House, responded to this review, December 23, 2012
Thank you for your recent tripadvisor review. Many thanks for having taken the time and effort to share your experience at The Upper House with other like-minded travellers.
We much appreciate that you call us “one of the finest”. It is wonderful to hear that you enjoyed the room product / amenities.

I am sorry to hear that you did not appreciate the Admiralty area. It seems that we did not get an opportunity to share all the excitement the area has to offer with you. I would particularly highlight the new and upcoming star street area where many excellent restaurants are located. Asia Society is also within walking distance. Shopping at Pacific Place is actually one of the best in town, virtually all major brands and a fabulous flagship Harvey Nichols store are just located nearby.

Please do share more about your general feeling about the fact that all team members were courteous and polite but that you did not get a feeling to be “at home”. You may reach me on my email address : marcelthoma@swirehotels.com

Please do stay in touch and I would be happy to assist with any future reservation arrangements at any of the Swire Hotels.

Regards,

Marcel Thoma
Hotel Manager
The Upper House
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hong Kong hotels
West Kowloon
The Ritz-Carlton, Hong Kong
Tsim Sha Tsui
Hotel ICON
Hotel ICON
#5 of 718 in Hong Kong
5,740 reviews
Central
The Landmark Mandarin Oriental, Hong Kong
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central
Four Seasons Hotel Hong Kong
Central
Mandarin Oriental, Hong Kong
Tsim Sha Tsui
InterContinental Hong Kong
InterContinental Hong Kong
#10 of 718 in Hong Kong
3,908 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Upper House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Upper House

Property: The Upper House
Address: Pacific Place, 88 Queensway, Hong Kong, China
Phone Number:
Location: China > Hong Kong > Admiralty
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Hong Kong
#1 Business Hotel in Hong Kong
#1 Romantic Hotel in Hong Kong
#2 Family Hotel in Hong Kong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Upper House 5*
Number of rooms: 117
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Upper House is a highly individualized small luxury hotel designed by Hong Kong architect Andre Fu. The hotel’s 117 rooms (including 21 suites and 2 penthouses) start at 730sq ft – the largest in Hong Kong. They feature wonderfully spacious bathrooms and dressing areas, and offer either scenic harbour or island views. Calming and contemporary, the rooms are designed to provide a sense of relaxation, warmth and understated luxury. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Preferred Hotels, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Upper House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Upper House Hotel Hong Kong
The Upper House Hong Kong

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing