We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Stylish hotel with great location” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Upper House

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Upper House
Ranked #1 of 703 Hotels in Hong Kong
Certificate of Excellence
Beijing, China
Level Contributor
33 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Stylish hotel with great location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 12, 2012

Stylish design, geat location for shopping, enjoyed breakfast with nice view of Victoria harbor. You can easily go anywhere by metro. Plus downstairs is Lane Crawford shopping mall. I enjoyed my second stay here and I will come back for sure.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KAILIN1010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marcel T, Manager at The Upper House, responded to this review, December 13, 2012
Many thanks for having taken the time to write a tripadvisor review after your stay with us.

It is wonderful to know that you are a returning guest to “our house” already.

We are happy to know that you like the style and location of The Upper House.

Please do let me know next time you are travelling to Hong Kong. It will be my pleasure to personally look after your reservation in the future.

Safe travels and until soon!

Regards,

Marcel Thoma
Hotel Manager
The Upper House
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,938 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,778
    118
    28
    7
    7
See reviews for
226
696
154
575
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (493)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Glendale, California
Level Contributor
61 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 12, 2012

My wife and I spend four nights here, while on business. WOW, love this hotel. The room was very spacious, very contemporary and the service was outstanding. Located near two other great hotels (Conrad and Shangri La) you will to be at a loss for great dining or drinks. The room came with complimentary breakfast at Hotel Gray and it was just perfect. Staff is on top of it and the food is great. If you are looking for a Cosmopolitan experience in Hong Kong, this it it. If you want to shop, you at about 50 feet away from Pacific Place, which has it all. Already looking forward to our next visit.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mario F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marcel T, Manager at The Upper House, responded to this review, December 13, 2012
Dear Mario


Many thanks for having taken the time to write a tripadvisor review after your stay with us.

We appreciate the fact that you liked the ambience of “our house”. Your highlighted the service you received and I am very happy to know that you are planning to return soon again.

Please do let me know next time you are travelling to Hong Kong. It will be my pleasure to personally look after your reservation in the future.

Safe travels and until soon!

Regards,

Marcel Thoma
Hotel Manager
The Upper House
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 12, 2012

I have stayed in Hotels all over Europe, the Usa, Australia, Canada and some in the fareast but I have never enjoyed a sta y as much. Form our first welcome at0800hrs, a coffee whilst the room was checked, the introduction by the guest advisor regarding the amenities in the room, the incredible level of the amenities, this has to be the finest hotel stay I have ever experienced, outdoing the grand hotels of Europe with a quiet efficiency, unobtrusive service as well as the friendliest approach indicating they have not been swayed by their own hype.

Room Tip: Views of the harbour
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank al g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marcel T, Manager at The Upper House, responded to this review, December 13, 2012
Many thanks that you took the time to write a tripadvisor review after your stay with us.

To call us “the best hotel ever” is much appreciated. Your comparison with the grandest hotels in the world is wonderfully described and we are happy to know that it was the unobtrusive service which you liked the most at “our house”

Please do let me know next time you are travelling to Hong Kong. It will be my pleasure to personally look after your reservation in the future.

Safe travels and until soon!

Regards,

Marcel Thoma
Hotel Manager
The Upper House
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
glen rock
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 10, 2012

Young NYC couple thought this hotel was perfection.
All rooms boast incredible views. Felt like a spa experience when showering or having a bath. Endless REN products provided.
The restaurant has wonderful food. Friday, sat & Sunday nights draws a fun vibe. Views are breathtaking.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JBH1977
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marcel T, Manager at The Upper House, responded to this review, December 13, 2012
We appreciate your recent tripadvisor review.

The highlights of your stay are wonderfully noted and we are glad to know that you had a good time at “our house”.

Please do let me know next time you are travelling to Hong Kong. It will be my pleasure to personally look after your reservation in the future.

Safe travels and until soon!

Regards,

Marcel Thoma
Hotel Manager
The Upper House
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milan, Italy
Level Contributor
20 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 5, 2012

I travel over 80% of my time and I stay and travel in an automated way, I have my system and favorites. There is NO hotel that I have stayed in ( and I can say without bragging, I know what I'm talking about) that comes close to the experience in every way at the upper house
From arriving and going straight to your room
To the hot cookies and hot milk at the end of the day in my room welcoming be back
Every member of staff is so well trained
The beds hugely comfortable the bathrooms are a dream
A tub you could swim in
The room service is vast and being able to order from an iPhone in your room is fantastic
The mini bar all free and coffe maker and tea in your room is so nice, not o mention the FRESH milk in the fridge
Cafe gray upstairs is delicious breakfast, lunch and dinner
I hate leaving there, and truly can't wait to come back

Room Tip: There is no bad room!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Annmarie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marcel T, Manager at The Upper House, responded to this review, December 9, 2012
Many thanks for having taken the time to write a tripadvisor review.

It is pleasing to hear that you had a great stay with us. Your comments regarding the “well trained” team members have been shared. Also your appreciation of our milk and cookies has been noted.

Please do let me know next time you are travelling to Hong Kong. It will be my pleasure to personally look after your room allocation in the future.

Safe travels and until soon!

Regards,

Marcel Thoma
Hotel Manager
The Upper House
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
67 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 4, 2012 via mobile

My husband and I are currently staying at The Upper House and as he put it this morning when we left the breakfast...if we come back to HK we are not staying anywhere else, why bother because you would just be disappointed. The room itself is enormous HK standards or no and the bathroom is just fantastic! A great shower and a big, deep bath. The little touches are great like the amenities kit that has things like nail polish remover and a facial masque. The hotel really does think of everything. I also loved that there was a comfortable couch for lounging on during our stay and it was so relaxing we didn't want to leave the room. We went to the Lounge and it was so nice - in the afteroon they have trays of little sweets for guests to help themselves. In the lobby as it is christmas time they have a pretty chest that guests open for each day of Christmas and inside you will find a little treat in the manner of an advent calendar. We tried the bar at the hotel and the service was great and food and drinks nice too. All in all we are very happy with our stay. It is a modern hotel and I was a bit apprehensive as I quite like the grand hotel vibe but I was absolutely floored by the service at the Upper House. Thank you for a memorable stay.

Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank MissWizzy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marcel T, Manager at The Upper House, responded to this review, December 9, 2012
Thank you for having spent time to write the tripadvisor review.

We appreciate all your positive notes you took while you stayed at “our house”.
It is wonderful to hear that you appreciate our current holiday season decoration. Come back for more treats anytime until the end of the year.

Please do let me know next time you are travelling to Hong Kong. It will be my pleasure to personally look after your room allocation in the future. Hopefully I get a chance to meet you personally.

Safe travels and until soon!

Regards,

Marcel Thoma
Hotel Manager
The Upper House
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
100 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 1, 2012

I have stayed at the Upper House a couple of times and they always make you feel at home. Very spacious rooms for HK with fantastic shower and bathroom, but it is all the personal touches that make the difference and make this hotel stand out: check in in the room instead of reception desk, warm milk with cookies to fall asleep on the first evening of arrival to help with jet lag, ordering room service from iPhone. Upper House also have a fantastic breakfast offering, mango salad and oatmeal are superb!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Roopet9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marcel T, Manager at The Upper House, responded to this review, December 2, 2012
Thank you for having spent time on writing the tripadvisor review.

We appreciate all your positive feedback. Above all it is loyal guests like you which make “our house” special, not only for guests to arrive but also for us to work at.

Please do let me know next time you are travelling to Hong Kong. It will be my pleasure to personally look after your room allocation in the future and hopefully I get a chance to meet you personally.

Safe travels and until soon!

Regards,

Marcel Thoma
Hotel Manager
The Upper House
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hong Kong hotels
Tsim Sha Tsui
Hotel ICON
Hotel ICON
#3 of 703 in Hong Kong
5.0 of 5 bubbles 5,017 reviews
West Kowloon
The Ritz-Carlton, Hong Kong
Central
Four Seasons Hotel Hong Kong
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central
Mandarin Oriental, Hong Kong
Tsim Sha Tsui
InterContinental Hong Kong
InterContinental Hong Kong
#12 of 703 in Hong Kong
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,489 reviews
Tsim Sha Tsui
The Langham, Hong Kong
The Langham, Hong Kong
#13 of 703 in Hong Kong
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,164 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Upper House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Upper House

Property: The Upper House
Address: Pacific Place, 88 Queensway, Hong Kong, China
Phone Number:
Location: China > Hong Kong > Admiralty
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Hong Kong
#1 Business Hotel in Hong Kong
#1 Romantic Hotel in Hong Kong
#2 Family Hotel in Hong Kong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Upper House 5*
Number of rooms: 117
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Upper House is a highly individualized small luxury hotel designed by Hong Kong architect Andre Fu. The hotel’s 117 rooms (including 21 suites and 2 penthouses) start at 730sq ft – the largest in Hong Kong. They feature wonderfully spacious bathrooms and dressing areas, and offer either scenic harbour or island views. Calming and contemporary, the rooms are designed to provide a sense of relaxation, warmth and understated luxury. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Amex, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Travelocity, Odigeo, HotelTravel.com, Agoda and Jetsetter so you can book your The Upper House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Upper House Hotel Hong Kong
The Upper House Hong Kong

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing