We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Surprised”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Harbour Plaza 8 Degrees
Ranked #157 of 723 Hotels in Hong Kong
Reviewed February 8, 2014

Stay for only 1 night and chose this hotel because of the price.

Check in and check out was a fairly easy process even though it was very busy.
The rooms were immaculate, couldn't fault them and exceeded my expectations.
The location isn't the best as it isn't really walking distance to the main attractions, however the courtesy bus is very convenient and taxis are cheap and abundant. However we did still find a great noodle house around the corner. $5 aud for some of the best noodles you will ever taste.

Customer service is where this hotel differentiates them selves from other hotels I've stay at while in Hong Kong. The head of customer service is doing a great job. There a particular girl there by the name of Kay who was particularly good.


Would definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: Get the up-grade if they ask you for one it cost a little and you get a lot.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Russell E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (967)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

419 - 425 of 967 reviews

Reviewed February 5, 2014

The location is in non-tourist interest district, more like an old industrial area but close to a market, and with many local restaurants to choose from. They offer shuttle buses to more tourist interest districts - Tsim Sha Tsui and Hung Hum. The staff and concierge were friendly and provided good directions to other locations.

Internet was not free and buffet breakfast not included. Room and bathroom are small but clean.

Overall satisfactory.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank dtlau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 4, 2014

Stayed here during Chinese New Year (CNY) from 30th Jan - 2nd Feb 2014.

Heard about the small lobby - it was small! But the polite and helpful reception and concierge staffs were more than enough to ensure the lobby was not crowded. They were even highly effective as I waited not more than 3-5 minutes to settle my check-in.

The best part was the CNY promotion! I booked online through AirAsia website for a basic Superior Room [no breakfast, no Internet, etc.], but during check-in they told me about the CNY upgrade promotion to Suite [one-bedroom suite (mine looked 100% like the picture in the website), comes with with free buffet breakfast, free high-speed Internet, complimentary fruits, and a big, private balcony facing the pool - with chairs and a coffee table]. I took it immediately for two reasons; 1. because we have a 18-month daughter who can run around in the living room or the balcony. 2. at HKD1815 (roughly MYR781 or USD233) for 3 nights with the breakfast, Internet, etc. the suite was definitely worth it.

The room was clean and completely furnished as listed in the website except for the TV. It was actually TWO TVs, another one is inside the bedroom =) The L-shaped kitchen includes the normal tea/coffee set plus a sink, cabinets, medium-sized fridge, microwave oven, and an induction stove for two.

Of course, I, too would second the notion of most people wouldn't take it because they just want a room to sleep in after a long day of trips and such. But in my case, I still needed the food (for us as muslims, it was quite challenging finding halal foods. and this hotel got the halal certificate from HK Islamic Mufti Body), the Internet (work emails, directories of shops, downloads, etc), and the space. so it depends on personal necessities, preferences, etc. =)

For travelling, the staffs were helpful in helping me translating certain places' names in Cantonese and the shuttle buses were ON TIME. It doesn't matter whether it's full or empty, it will depart and arrive according to the schedule on the dot! =)

I'll not think twice to book this hotel if I ever come back to HK =)

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank khudri_johari
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 27, 2014

This is a good hotel with nice rooms and very helpful staff. Their location is average but they have frequent shuttle service making it accessible to the popular locations
Their reception, concierge, restaurant and room staff are helpful and courteous. They have many options in buffet breakfast and also serve at least 2 Indian veg dishes in buffet breakfast. They have a nice coffee shop and Poolside bar.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank NikhilJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 19, 2014

The hotel is pretty good with good food. Staff are polite and helpful.Hotel Shuttle made commuting easy and enjoyable,especially the evening rides to Tsim Sha sui. Bathroom is small but very neat ....spotless.Loved their breakfast spread

Room Tip: Great stay if you choose the top floors
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank gauroh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2014

The hotel is modern and clean, near Kowloon City with different kinds of delicious food restaurant. The staff are very helpful, they even printed the directions and maps for us if we want to tour around. Transportation to everywhere is easy that makes our trip more memorable. They even got the shuttles to go TsimShaTsui and Hung Hom which makes our journey more delightful. Their dinner buffet is tremendous good, they have different kinds of eastern and western food. Fast check in and out. One thing we are so impressed is that the we don't need to wait long time for escalators. We have very bad experience that we waste a lot of our valueable time in waiting for escalators in other hotels. We will definitely come back to this hotel in our next visit to HK. We will also recommend to others. We really love this hotel.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Irene T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2014 via mobile

The hotel is quite good as and when compared to price. However rooms are quite small and it's not ideally located but it's quite close to Tsim Sha Tsui and hotel even provides a free shuttle every half and hour.

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pankaj K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hong Kong hotels
Kowloon City
Regal Oriental Hotel
Regal Oriental Hotel
#148 of 723 in Hong Kong
910 reviews
Mong Kok
Metropark Hotel Kowloon
Metropark Hotel Kowloon
#115 of 723 in Hong Kong
1,755 reviews
Hotel Sav Hong Kong
#84 of 723 in Hong Kong
461 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hung Hom
Harbour Plaza Metropolis
Harbour Plaza Metropolis
#118 of 723 in Hong Kong
1,723 reviews
Jordan / Yau Ma Tei
The Cityview Hong Kong
The Cityview Hong Kong
#81 of 723 in Hong Kong
2,454 reviews
Quarry Bay
Harbour Plaza North Point
Harbour Plaza North Point
#117 of 723 in Hong Kong
1,473 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Harbour Plaza 8 Degrees? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harbour Plaza 8 Degrees

Address: No.199 Kowloon City Road, Tokwawan, Kowloon | Kowloon,, Hong Kong, China
Phone Number:
Location: China > Hong Kong > Kowloon City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#117 Luxury Hotel in Hong Kong
Price Range: $83 - $227 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Harbour Plaza 8 Degrees 4*
Number of rooms: 704
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located near the Kai Tak Cruise Terminal and Mongkok area, close to Tsimshatsui shopping, entertainment and sightseeing destinations, MTR Hunghom Station, Kowloon Bay & Kwun Tong are conveniently reachable by the complimentary hotel shuttle bus. The award winning Harbour Plaza 8 Degrees has a unique twist to its lobby, designed with utmost innovation creating an optical illusion where it feels as if you're inside Italy's Leaning Tower of Pisa. Features 704 guestrooms and suites, boasting a 32-inch LCD TV, in-room Wi-Fi access, mini-bar, tea & coffee-making facilities. Free use of handy Smartphone service for unlimited local calls and international phone calls for 5 selected countries, unlimited mobile Internet data. Two restaurants offer International, Asian, Halal and Indian cuisines, one inviting bar, a full service Business Centre, a well-equipped Fitness Centre, a relaxing sauna and a distinctively shaped outdoor swimming pool, children's pool and whirlpool surrounded by a lush landscape. Three Executive Floors with a Harbour Club Lounge offering complimentary afternoon tea, evening refreshments, breakfast buffet at Cafe 8 Degrees, etc. Offering hospitable service and excellent facilities, Harbour Plaza 8 Degrees distinguishes itself admirably among travelers appealing to business, leisure, family vacation or romantic getaway looking for comfortable and pleasurable accommodation at great value. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Harbour Plaza 8 Degrees reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Harbour Plaza 8 Degrees Hotel Hong Kong
Harbour Plaza 8 Degrees Hong Kong

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing