We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Never go there! It's full of bed bugs” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hong Kong Star Hostel

Hong Kong Star Hostel
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Hong Kong
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hong Kong Star Hostel
Ranked #133 of 158 Specialty Lodging in Hong Kong
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Never go there! It's full of bed bugs”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2013

As other reviewers say: do not book a room at this hostel/hotel. I could give you 25 reasons not to. First it is dirty. The 10 bed dorm is sold as an 8 bed dorm: when we questioned the manager he laughed and said one bunk bed= one bed therefore the room is really only a 4 bed dorm. Never heard of that anywhere but never mind. When you check in, they will ask you to pay for a deposit. Fair enough. They give you a receipt on a small piece of paper. They don't mention anything special and as expected, a few people loose this paper. They refuse to return the deposit in that case. I have witness every single day people screaming at the front desk to try to get their money back: the manager will not bulge. They are always strange people lurking around rooms, entering the dorm rooms and checking your belongings. They have no security door at the entrance, no key to the room, no code at the elevator and no lockers so it is a unsafe place to be. Lastly and most important is the bed bugs problem. We first stay at the hostel for 6 nights (we needed to get visas, hence the long stay), we left this hostel with lots of bites. Not wanting to assume Star Hostel was the cupid, we left it at that. We returned after twelve days (our bites had disappeared by then) and after sleeping there one night, the next day we were covered of bites again. They kept appearing every minute, my arms/legs/feet/back/hands were very itchy. I confronted the manager because this is a serious problem. He didn't seem to think it was his responsibility, and told me he could not control this kind of situation. He also told me that i had no proof of this coming from his property and that if i wanted to ensure staying free of bed bugs, i should sleep in 5 star hotels. I asked him to change room (my partner and two other girls wanted to change as well because of the same problem), he told us he had a private 4 bed-room but that we would have to pay extra to stay there. Still having one night to sleep at that place and having paid for the room in advance, i would have imagined that he could wave the extra fee, especially considering the smaller room was unoccupied and it was around 6pm already but no, he would not move us for free. I am now reading on the internet many other complaints about insects, cockroaches and bed bugs (the manager told me that he had never heard of this problem before). I cannot warn future customers enough: never stay at this hostel it is an absolute nightmare.
Lastly, the owner of the place has many different properties in Chungking Mansions (at least on 4 different floors and 13 different names). Star hostel is also listed as Taiwan Hotel, Kowloon Budget Hostel, TWH-Tai Wan Hotel and maybe more. There are endless Chungking Mansions on hostel world and co websites i would avoid anywhere in that building (filthy and too many people harassing you trying to sell you fake stuff and drugs) there are better places in HK.

Room Tip: Never choose the dorm room, it has an extra bunk bed in the centre of the room that has no business...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LucieCox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

9 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    0
    3
    0
    0
    6
See reviews for
Families
0
3
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
109 reviews
103 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 20, 2012

I've stayed at some pretty awful places in Cambodia and Vietnam, but this place is the worst I've been to. It's quite literally swarming with insects/rodents and the staff couldn't care less. Stay away and find a better option!

Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank HKG_MFM_2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Hong Kong hotels

Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 1, 2011

When we arrived we checked in and the young girl that helped us was nice and offered us a private room with bathroom for a discount. taking this room we got in and fell alseep as we were jet lagged. When i woke up i saw bed bugs crawling on my girlfirends clothes. When we went to tell them to move us to another room she said that they were full and gave us a can of bug spray and told us to spray the room and that it would be fine. we went in search of other rooms and but no luck. The next morning we had to get all our clothes and bags washed.
We spoke to an older lady who refused to give us any money back or compensation ( as we booked 2 nights and only stayed one). i explained that there were bed bugs and she disagreed. (I know what to look for with bed bugs as i have worked in hotels for over 5 years and know what they look like)
After a heated arguement for about 10 mins she gave us the 2nd night back but refused to give me a refund on the deposit.
my advice for budget travellers in HK, shell out a little bit more and make sure that you dont have this issue and dont stay in this hotel no matter what.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ashley a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 12, 2011

AVOID AVOID AVOID
The owner has a nasty attitude and is extremely rude to his customers. we were booked for 4 nights over chinese new year, only to find that on arrival the office was locked so we had to leave our bags and return later - this was an annoyance but ok.
BUT when we did return we were rudely told by the manager in an agressive unapologetic manner that we could only stay 2 nights as the hostel was being refurbished (over the busiest period of the year?? really??) Of course it wasn't!! We reluctantly stayed the 2 nights as we were tired and didn't have a clue where to start looking in peak season. We did find somewhere when we checked out - - and in the same building and surprise surprise, the Star hostel was not under construction - there was a large group of tourists there that were obviously offering more cash. The Building the hostel is in itself is dodgy, drugs, alcoholics, creepy characters and pimps - - most hostels here are used as a knocking shop! not safe at all!!!

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lauren G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hong Kong hotels
Tsim Sha Tsui
Lis Hostel Hong Kong
Lis Hostel Hong Kong
#427 of 713 in Hong Kong
3.0 of 5 bubbles 8 reviews
Tsim Sha Tsui
Hotel ICON
Hotel ICON
#4 of 713 in Hong Kong
5.0 of 5 bubbles 5,361 reviews
Mong Kok
Royal Plaza Hotel
Royal Plaza Hotel
#29 of 713 in Hong Kong
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,514 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Tai Kok Tsui
Dorsett Mongkok Hong Kong
Dorsett Mongkok Hong Kong
#76 of 713 in Hong Kong
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,414 reviews
Disneyland
Hong Kong Disneyland Hotel
Hong Kong Disneyland Hotel
#46 of 713 in Hong Kong
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,849 reviews
Tsim Sha Tsui
Butterfly on Prat
Butterfly on Prat
#52 of 713 in Hong Kong
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,626 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hong Kong Star Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hong Kong Star Hostel

Property: Hong Kong Star Hostel
Address: Block A, 3rd Floor, Chungking Mansions, No38 Nathan Road, Tsim Sha Tsui, Hong Kong, China
Location: China > Hong Kong > Tsim Sha Tsui
Hotel Style:
Ranked #133 of 158 Specialty Lodging in Hong Kong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Also Known As:
Hong Kong Star Hostel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing