We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unreliable”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Golden Island Guesthouse
Ranked #92 of 164 Specialty Lodging in Hong Kong
Reviewed December 28, 2011

We stayed at GIG after looking for a place to stay in The Lonely Planet guide, it seemed the cheapest. The rooms were very small & during the night somebody was ringing the bell for the main door constantly until 4am!
The one positive is that it's in a good location to get to the HK side & the rooms are cheap in comparison of other places. Due to this we decided to try & stay here a few days later. I rang before we came & they said they had a room, when we arrived however we found out from Jessie the owner that they didn't & she called a friend who did & we stayed there for that night, with the intention of returning to GIG the next night, before we left to go to this other room, Jessie confirmed with us that she would reserve us a room for the next night, we clarified with her that this was 100% positive otherwise we would have to spend that night looking for somewhere for the next night, she said yes & that we should stay at hers as she would reserve us a nicer room than the one we were off to, so off we went to her friends hostel.
The next day however we arrived at GIG and they didn't have a room booked, when i queried to speak to Jessie they passed me the phone and she didn't even apologise for not having a room, when she had promised they would. This then left us in a massive problem with all our heavy bags. I found her attitude to be rude and they no way deserve to have a recommendation in the Lonely Planet Guide.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Zippytwist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (51)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

25 - 31 of 52 reviews

Reviewed December 17, 2011

The worst place I have ever stayed, the room was tiny and filthy (after advertising that they were recently redecorated, maybe in the 70's..) the service was rude, there was no wifi in the room, dodgey lifts and entrance. I will never go back.

  • Stayed: December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank granthardie2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 8, 2011

We book a tripble room for our small family. First of all, the room is basic but it is all what we need for our sleep. The bath room is very small but resonable for a guest house. Our room has a big window and that is really fine. My son and I shared a double room, the bed is confortable.
Room is clean and be maked up everyday. Water kettle is just out side the room, hot water is always ready for instant noodle.
This mansion is better than Chung King, they have camera in all their lift and your tivi in room is a camera viewer. I can see my son and husband from my room, that is really useful.
The location of this guest house is between from MRT Jondan and Yau Ma Tei. It take you 10 minutes walking from guest house to MRT station. Taxi standing our side the building and along the street.
I have just only one confusing when check in cause my booking with Hotelbooker is Golden Island at Level 7 but our room at Level 6 so I am not sure that is Golden Island or Not. Anyway, the room is OK.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Billmama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 28, 2011

What a bad experience! Don't stay here unless you can't really find a better place.

  • Stayed: October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DavidzTham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 21, 2011

We stayed in a twin room with a en-suite shower room + toilet. The room was very small as was the ensuite and there was no window but everything was very clean. We had a tv and air-con (which we wouldn't have been able to cope without!). Other than that there is little in the way of 'frills'. Entrance to the guest house is via a communal entrance way and lifts/stairs - not the prettiest or most illustrious of entrances but most hostels/hotels in this budget range will be similar.

The staff here were very helpful and we were able to leave our luggage with them on our last day.

Very close to bus stop to airport and metro. Great for HK sightseeing. Just off the main shopping street in Kowloon. Just around the corner from Temple Street Night Market - great place for street food and souvenir shopping.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank simbelina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 1, 2011

Our family (with two children) arrived in Hong Kong for a five day visit but ended up staying for five weeks when one of the children required medical care. We felt very fortunate to have Golden Island Guesthouse as our home base during this time. The guesthouse is a great deal for Hong Kong -- very clean rooms with private bathrooms and a super location. The bus from the airport stops one block away. The MTR is a 5-minute walk. If you like longer strolls, you can easily walk down bustling Nathan Road to the Harbor and the ferry terminal (25 minutes walking at a leisurely pace with kids). Lots of great eats are minutes away. Best of all, the management and staff at GIG are very friendly and helpful. They went the extra mile to help us when our child was sick but I got the impression they work very hard to please everyone. Jessie, the English-speaking young manager (whose family has run the guesthouse for years) is on-site or on-call 24/7 and she's terrific. GIG is not fancy (if you are looking for fancy, you are looking at paying 5 or 10 times as much in HK) but it's top-of-the-line for a HK guesthouse. If you are looking for affordable, clean, friendly and convenient, go to GIG!

Room Tip: Tell Jessie what you need!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MEJT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 10, 2011

We were originally going to stay in this room for 5 nights, however after checking in, we immediately wanted to leave! However, owing to the fact the trade fair was going on at the time, nearly all other affordable hotels/hostels were booked out or were EXTREMELY expensive (more than double the usual rates). We ended up having to stay 3 nights, until we could find a better place (the Dorsett Seaview Hotel, which was great) for the remaining 2 nights.

The Cons:
* Unclean & uncomfortable - the entire room felt unclean and like it was still in the middle of being renovated. Walls were stained and was peeling in some parts. The bed frame seemed like it would break any moment - it was broken and wobbled when moving around on the bed. A few cockroaches were spotted. The curtains were also very dirty and did not completely cover the windows. Overall the furniture was old and falling apart.

* Bathroom - very old and rundown and felt quite dirty. The worst part -- there was no shower screen, so essentially the shower head is attached to the wall next to the sink.... water gets sprayed EVERYwhere in the bathroom (i.e. including getting the toilet wet). The drainage hole is just a hole underneath the sink basin. GIG are "considerate" enough to provide us with a broom to enable us to sweep the water that is now milling near the bathroom door towards the drainage point. Basically a very uncomfortable shower experience!

* Beds were only OK - sheets seemed clean enough and mattresses were not bad. But since the entire room felt dirty, we didn't sleep well.
* this guesthouse is situated in a building that is infamous for its abundance of brothels (there were police notices posted in the lifts specifying that police operations may be in progress). Think there are less brothels than there used to be (as alot of other floors of the building seemed to be hostels too) but nontheless, the place DID NOT FEEL SAFE.

The PROS:
* the owner was friendly enough when we asked whether she had the other (renovated) rooms available for the other nights. She explained that this time round it was completely booked, but at least she was nice when we complained to her. I guess we ended up with an UNrenovated room, resulting in my very different and negative review, compared to reviews on hostelworld.com, which were quite positive overall.
* it is right in the middle of Jordan/TST and Mong Kok shopping districts, so a very convenient location for shopping, food and public transport.

We definitely would never recommend this place to anyone.

Room Tip: make sure you get a newly renovated room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank feeebz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hong Kong hotels
Jordan / Yau Ma Tei
Asia Travel House
Asia Travel House
#425 of 726 in Hong Kong
55 reviews
Mong Kok
Royal Plaza Hotel
Royal Plaza Hotel
#26 of 726 in Hong Kong
4,212 reviews
Mong Kok
Cordis, Hong Kong
Cordis, Hong Kong
#7 of 726 in Hong Kong
1,006 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Tsim Sha Tsui
Hotel ICON
Hotel ICON
#3 of 726 in Hong Kong
6,217 reviews
Sheung Wan
Ibis Hong Kong Central & Sheung Wan Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Golden Island Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Golden Island Guesthouse

Address: Room 1-2, 7/F Alhambra Building, No.383-385 Nathan Road, Yaumatei, Hong Kong, China
Location: China > Hong Kong > Jordan / Yau Ma Tei
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #92 of 164 Specialty Lodging in Hong Kong
Price Range: $42 - $72 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Golden Island Guesthouse 1.5*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Golden Island Guesthouse (GIG) is newly decorated in 2008 and located in Nathan Road where is the heart of commercial and entertainment district in Kowloon. We're nearby Jordan MTR Station and Yaumatei MTR Station, and can be easily accessed by most of major public transportation from/to anywhere in Hong Kong . We provide clean and comfortable accommodation to budget travelers at most affordable price. All the rooms are equipped with private bathroom, television, telephone and FREE WIFI internet access. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda and Ctrip TA so you can book your Golden Island Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Golden Island Guesthouse Hotel Hong Kong
Golden Island Guesthouse Hong Kong

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing