We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No nonsense working hotel”
Review of Wifi Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Wifi Hotel
Ranked #209 of 718 Hotels in Hong Kong
Brisbane
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“No nonsense working hotel”
Reviewed January 9, 2014

Well the Taj Mahal it isn't. The Wifi Boutique hotel is a working tourist hotel in a brilliant location in one of the world's busiest tourist cities.

We booked 2 nights here to extend our stay in Hong Kong as our original hotel didn't have a vacancy for us. While the rooms are small by western standards, they aren't small for Hong Kong. The amenities were basic but clean and working (kettle, flat screen TV, good bathroom and shower and wardrobe safe).

There's an outdoor area on the 4th floor and reception is on floor 2. The building has 2 modern, working elevators. I mean what really do people expect? While the staff are busy and hardly welcome you like a long lost relative I found them helpful if a bit confused by my 'stralian accent.

While I prefer space over efficiency and much preferred my original hotel at V Wan Chai, but I reckon the Wifi Boutique was good value for money and couldn't fault the location - 5 minute stroll to Causeway Bay and Times Square or a 10 minute walk to Wan Chai MTR.

I'd stay again if I couldn't get my first choice or was on my own. People really need to match their expectations to their wallets. I think this is a better than average hotel for such a notoriously difficult and expensive city for accommodation.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gene S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

206 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    29
    99
    46
    18
    14
See reviews for
29
37
38
44
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed December 25, 2013

This place is false advertising. It has no lobby, the rooms are tiny, our bed was hard as a rock and the backboard was broken. The windows and floor were filthy. They also charged a fee after we had paid on booking.com and after we asked to change our reservation, they would not refund us.

WILL NEVER STAY AGAIN

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SFYF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Hong Kong hotels

Sao Paulo, SP
2 reviews
Reviewed December 19, 2013

The location was great, very near to metro station, restaurants, shops, everything it´s around and easier to get by taxi or train from or to the airport. The only bad point was taxi drivers trying to charge ridiculous amount of money to get from Lan Kwai Fong on the weekend back to the hotel, beware of them. I would stay there again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Digital_Milton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mandi, India
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed November 24, 2013

we did a last minute booking of this hotel for three of us in one room. they had a double bed and a single bed in a rather small room. for the cost (about 1300 HKD) was worth it. best part of this hotel is the location. right in the middle of the bustling wan chai area. there is no restaurant within the hotel but ample options close by. the reception of the hotel is on the second floor. the elevator takes a very long time to come as there are just two of them catering to a whole lot of floors. cost and location are the only two attractions if you chose this hotel. even though its called the wifi hotel the net speed is just passable.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank jandeep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level 6 Contributor
266 reviews
84 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
Reviewed October 18, 2013

Basically if I opened my suitcase, I could not walk around the room. The room was clean but obvious traces of a water leak near the window have not been repaired for quite a while.

Location is OK on Lockhart road.

Staff could go on a guest satisfaction course and smile a little more

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ThierryBMaidenhead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2013

I stayed here because it was walking distance to the Chinese consulate, and I wanted to be first in line at the visa center (especially on Monday morning). I've actually stayed here twice. It's a bit more expensive than other places in HK but it was in the location I wanted to be.

It's a little difficult to see from the street. The standard room isn't very big (literally only sleeps two on the bed, no floor room), but it's clean. The second time I was upgraded to the deluxe room for free, much bigger! You could put two in the bed, then like 8-10 more on the floor, and 3-4 on the floor of the bathroom if needed! haha, but don't do that it'd be uncomfortable. Upgrade to the deluxe it's well worth the money!!

There's plenty of places to eat around the hotel, and the subway is just a few blocks away. Nice little spot to stay.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shelly K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed September 12, 2013

The hotel has a good location and has a very good price-quality.
If you look for a clean and efficient hotel at an affordable price, this is your place to stay.
If you are all day out and just come to the hotel, this is an ideal place.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Frederik60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hong Kong hotels
Wan Chai / Causeway Bay
The Charterhouse Causeway Bay Hotel
Wan Chai / Causeway Bay
Walden Hotel
Walden Hotel
#451 of 718 in Hong Kong
160 reviews
Wan Chai / Causeway Bay
Hotel Bonaparte by Rhombus
Hotel Bonaparte by Rhombus
#508 of 718 in Hong Kong
304 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Wan Chai / Causeway Bay
JJ Hotel
JJ Hotel
#135 of 718 in Hong Kong
655 reviews
Wan Chai / Causeway Bay
Brighton Hotel Hong Kong
Brighton Hotel Hong Kong
#190 of 718 in Hong Kong
147 reviews
Wan Chai / Causeway Bay
South Pacific Hotel
South Pacific Hotel
#184 of 718 in Hong Kong
582 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wifi Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wifi Hotel

Property: Wifi Hotel
Address: No.366 Lockhart Road, Wanchai, Hong Kong, China
Location: China > Hong Kong > Wan Chai / Causeway Bay
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #209 of 718 Hotels in Hong Kong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Wifi Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 63
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Agoda, Travelocity and HotelQuickly so you can book your Wifi Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wifi Hotel Hong Kong

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing