We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A serviced apartment is a great alternative to a hotel”
Review of CHI Residences 279

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
CHI Residences 279
Ranked #152 of 730 Hotels in Hong Kong
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 14, 2013

A serviced apartment is a great alternative to a hotel. On previous Hong Kong holidays we have stayed at the Sheraton, the Excelsior, the Harbour Plaza, etc and this time we chose a serviced apartment. Ray, our host and the service team were wonderful and nothing was too much trouble. We enjoyed the proximity to the MTR, the Temple Street night markets for a late night meal, the wireless internet in our room and the facilities in the kitchen and bathroom. If you are like us and don't spend a lot of time in the hotel room, don't require associated buffet breakfasts and restaurant service, then try the Chi.

Room Tip: All rooms offer "much the same" depending on how many beds/bedrooms are required. Ensure t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SusaninPerth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CHI_Intl, Public Relations Manager at CHI Residences 279, responded to this reviewResponded February 24, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write such a in-depth and positive review. We're so glad, our convenient location, amenities and friendly staff were able to make your trip to Hong Kong memorable and enjoyable. Thank you especially for your kind words for our staff, we really think they do an amazing job and are glad you agree. We'll be sure to pass along your compliments to all of them.
Thanks again for the kind review, tips and recommendations. We hope to have you back with us on your next trip to Hong Kong.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (229)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

123 - 129 of 229 reviews

Reviewed February 3, 2013 via mobile

The place we enjoyed so much in our Hongkong trip. The room was boutique, spacious and comfortable, all good amenities are fully equipped. The location was excellent in center. Staffs were effusive and showed us great things in Hongkong. Lovely place to stay!

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank THasan b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 16, 2013

Great spacious apartment in central location. Very clean and comfortable bed. Facility is good. I was surprised at how big the bathroom was. Service friendly, enthusiastic and not intrusive. Recommended.

Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
3  Thank Gmonkey1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 12, 2013

Loved our first visit to Hong Kong staying at Chi apartments.

Apartment was stylish and clean. Management and service were unobtrusive but very helpful when you needed them. Free Wifi was much appreciated, especially when planning our itinerary for the day. Toiletries were lovely!

Location was superb. A few minutes walk to MTR and the city is at your feet! Hong Kong's public transport system is amazing! Buy an Octopus card at the airport and you're set! We caught the A21 bus from the airport which was within a few minutes walk to Chi apartments...although taxis are relatively cheap in HK.

Loved the numerous food options around us...lots of local restaurants with the delights of Hong Kong cuisine!

Highly recommend these apartments...especially if you're like us - want a great, safe, stylish place to stay, in a location that captures the essence of the city and without the "chain hotel" feel...perfect!

Room Tip: We were on the 3rd floor, but didn't hear much noise from the street. There were some sound pro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank monniemoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CHI_Intl, Public Relations Manager at CHI Residences 279, responded to this reviewResponded February 24, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write such a thorough and positive review of you stay with us at CHI 279. We couldn't be more pleased that we were able to help make your trip to Hong Kong an enjoyable one. Thank you especially for all the tips and recommendations in your review, they really are indispensable to future residents.
Again, thank you for leaving us such kind words, we hope you'll stay with us again the next time you visit Hong Kong.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 8, 2013

The Apartment location was superb. It was a quick 3-minute walk from the MTR. Temple Street night market is literally one street over. Mong Kok shopping and food district is a leisure 5-minute walk north. A Wellcome supermarket is also near. I can't ask for a better location... perhaps the only thing that may be better is a harbor view room at Tsim Sha Tsui at the Intercontinental or something. But you would be paying an arm and a leg for that.

The check in process was simple, and the staffs were super friendly and knowledgeable about the area. The room was spacious for two, and extremely clean. The bed were comfortable, The bathroom was well equipped. If we have to complain about something it would be the weak hair dryer and Cheap none HD TV service and how you can't angle it towards the bed.

The apartment also provided free laundry at the 12th floor and daily water bottles which was a good touch.

I'd def come back here again.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Frank L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CHI_Intl, Public Relations Manager at CHI Residences 279, responded to this reviewResponded February 24, 2013

Thank you so much for taking the time to write such a positive review. We're glad that CHI 279 was able help male your trip to Hong Kong a memorable and enjoyable one. Thank you also for your recommendations regarding the television, we do appreciate your suggestions and hope to use them to continually improve CHI 279.
Again thank you for the kind review, please let us know the next time you come to Hong Kong, we look forward to having you back with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 8, 2013

Firstly do not be put off by the location. We arrived at night and the street looked decidedly suspect but in daylight you realise it is so well located and safe. The apartment was modern, comfortable and the staff were excellent. Our housekeeper even did our small amount of dish washing every day! The apartment is within walking distance of the MTR, a supermarket for supplies, one block away from the Temple Street night market and two blocks away from Nathan Road which has many restaurants. I would most certainly recommend staying on the Kowloon side of Hong Kong as we found Hong Kong Island a bit too westernised for our tastes. Also take the airport express train from the airport and then get a cab from the Kowloon airport express station. The train is located inside the airport so there is no need to struggle with heavy luggage and it is much cheaper than a cab from the airport. On the return journey we checked our bags in at the Kowloon Airport Express station and didn't see them again until we reached Perth, Australia! (Amazed this worked but it did!) We were then able to go off for the day and take the express without our bags to the airport much later.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank UkBritAbroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CHI_Intl, Public Relations Manager at CHI Residences 279, responded to this reviewResponded January 8, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write such a positive and encouraging review. We're so glad you you enjoyed our convenient location and our helpful staff and pleased that we were able to provide you with a safe, comfortable and convenient place to stay on your trip to Hong Kong.
Thank you again for writing such a affirming review, the next time you are in Hong Kong, please visit with us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2013

We decided to go for an apartment on our way to New Zealand. We weren't sure what we would get and found 279 to be fantastic. We stayed 4 nights and could easily have stayed longer. There was more room than expected even with an extra bed for my seven year old. The rooms were spotless and the staff could not have been more helpful. It was an excellent location and we have been recommending it to everyone. Would definitely stay again if in Hong Kong. My son loved the shower best of all! It was huge. A lovely place to stay.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mearsfamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CHI_Intl, Public Relations Manager at CHI Residences 279, responded to this reviewResponded January 8, 2013

Thank you so much for taking the time out to write such a positive review. We're pleased that we were able to give you a pleasant surprise on your recent stay with us. We' re glad that our amenities and our courteous staff were able to make you feel safe, comfortable and happy , we will be sure to pass along your kind words to them.
Thanks again for the kind review, we hope to have you back with us for a little longer next time you are in Hong Kong.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hong Kong hotels
Tsim Sha Tsui
Residence G Hong Kong (by Hotel G)
Jordan / Yau Ma Tei
Inn Hotel Hong Kong
Inn Hotel Hong Kong
#127 of 730 in Hong Kong
290 reviews
Two MacDonnell Road
#135 of 730 in Hong Kong
195 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Jordan / Yau Ma Tei
Hotel Madera Hong Kong
Hotel Madera Hong Kong
#33 of 730 in Hong Kong
971 reviews
Jordan / Yau Ma Tei
The Cityview Hong Kong
The Cityview Hong Kong
#83 of 730 in Hong Kong
2,666 reviews
Mong Kok
Hotel 108 Hong Kong
Hotel 108 Hong Kong
#209 of 730 in Hong Kong
13 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to CHI Residences 279? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about CHI Residences 279

Address: No.279 Shanghai Street,Yau Ma Tei, Kowloon, Hong Kong, China
Phone Number:
Location: China > Hong Kong > Jordan / Yau Ma Tei
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
#46 Romantic Hotel in Hong Kong
#57 Family Hotel in Hong Kong
Price Range: $109 - $195 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — CHI Residences 279 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
CHI 279 by CHI Residences is a calm retreat from the city. Located on famous Shanghai Street, a fascinating eclectic array of shops and sights reveal the natural charm of Hong Kong. Daily, weekly and monthly rates are available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your CHI Residences 279 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chi Residences 279 Hotel Hong Kong
CHI Residences 279 Hong Kong

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing