We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Good Stay”
Review of CHI Residences 279

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
CHI Residences 279
Ranked #148 of 729 Hotels in Hong Kong
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 8, 2013

The Apartment location was superb. It was a quick 3-minute walk from the MTR. Temple Street night market is literally one street over. Mong Kok shopping and food district is a leisure 5-minute walk north. A Wellcome supermarket is also near. I can't ask for a better location... perhaps the only thing that may be better is a harbor view room at Tsim Sha Tsui at the Intercontinental or something. But you would be paying an arm and a leg for that.

The check in process was simple, and the staffs were super friendly and knowledgeable about the area. The room was spacious for two, and extremely clean. The bed were comfortable, The bathroom was well equipped. If we have to complain about something it would be the weak hair dryer and Cheap none HD TV service and how you can't angle it towards the bed.

The apartment also provided free laundry at the 12th floor and daily water bottles which was a good touch.

I'd def come back here again.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Frank L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CHI_Intl, Public Relations Manager at CHI Residences 279, responded to this reviewResponded February 24, 2013

Thank you so much for taking the time to write such a positive review. We're glad that CHI 279 was able help male your trip to Hong Kong a memorable and enjoyable one. Thank you also for your recommendations regarding the television, we do appreciate your suggestions and hope to use them to continually improve CHI 279.
Again thank you for the kind review, please let us know the next time you come to Hong Kong, we look forward to having you back with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (231)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

128 - 134 of 231 reviews

Reviewed January 8, 2013

Firstly do not be put off by the location. We arrived at night and the street looked decidedly suspect but in daylight you realise it is so well located and safe. The apartment was modern, comfortable and the staff were excellent. Our housekeeper even did our small amount of dish washing every day! The apartment is within walking distance of the MTR, a supermarket for supplies, one block away from the Temple Street night market and two blocks away from Nathan Road which has many restaurants. I would most certainly recommend staying on the Kowloon side of Hong Kong as we found Hong Kong Island a bit too westernised for our tastes. Also take the airport express train from the airport and then get a cab from the Kowloon airport express station. The train is located inside the airport so there is no need to struggle with heavy luggage and it is much cheaper than a cab from the airport. On the return journey we checked our bags in at the Kowloon Airport Express station and didn't see them again until we reached Perth, Australia! (Amazed this worked but it did!) We were then able to go off for the day and take the express without our bags to the airport much later.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank UkBritAbroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CHI_Intl, Public Relations Manager at CHI Residences 279, responded to this reviewResponded January 8, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write such a positive and encouraging review. We're so glad you you enjoyed our convenient location and our helpful staff and pleased that we were able to provide you with a safe, comfortable and convenient place to stay on your trip to Hong Kong.
Thank you again for writing such a affirming review, the next time you are in Hong Kong, please visit with us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2013

We decided to go for an apartment on our way to New Zealand. We weren't sure what we would get and found 279 to be fantastic. We stayed 4 nights and could easily have stayed longer. There was more room than expected even with an extra bed for my seven year old. The rooms were spotless and the staff could not have been more helpful. It was an excellent location and we have been recommending it to everyone. Would definitely stay again if in Hong Kong. My son loved the shower best of all! It was huge. A lovely place to stay.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mearsfamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CHI_Intl, Public Relations Manager at CHI Residences 279, responded to this reviewResponded January 8, 2013

Thank you so much for taking the time out to write such a positive review. We're pleased that we were able to give you a pleasant surprise on your recent stay with us. We' re glad that our amenities and our courteous staff were able to make you feel safe, comfortable and happy , we will be sure to pass along your kind words to them.
Thanks again for the kind review, we hope to have you back with us for a little longer next time you are in Hong Kong.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2013

I have to admit, when our taxi pulled up out the front I was a bit concerned as the surrounding area is quite run down. However the apartment building itself is very clean and well maintained as well as being very secure with a security code required to enter the building and security cameras throughout.
The staff are very friendly and every effort is made to make your stay as pleasant as possible. There is a DVD library for your use and you are supplied daily with fresh towels, shampoo and moisturiser etc as well as bottled water. The little things like free wifi and shared laundry facilities, power point adapter and large safe are greatly appreciated.
Yau Ma Tei is the local MTR station and is just a short walk through the Temple Street Markets and past the shops on Nathan road (don't forget to get yourself an Octopus Card, makes travelling on the MTR very convenient). You really are in the heart of all the activity.
Would definitely recommend staying at the Chi 279.

Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Susan G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 27, 2012 via mobile

Although beds are appealing, I'm pretty sure rocks have more cushion. Plumbing wasn't the greatest either. I.e. the toilet didn't reliably flush. Loved that it was self catering.

Location was excellent being near the metro & walking distance of a lot of attractions. Place was quiet considering location.

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sherrypd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CHI_Intl, Public Relations Manager at CHI Residences 279, responded to this reviewResponded January 8, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We appreciate your suggestions and we will use them to continually improve CHI Residences. We're glad you did enjoy our convenient location with easy accese and wehope to have you back with us soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 8, 2012

My husband and I stayed at the CHI Residences 279 for 5 nights in October and enjoyed our stay very much. We were offered an 'upgrade' to another Residence, but declined as we had carefully chosen 279 for its quiet location.
We had a one bedroom suite on the 12th floor (top). The suite is a good size, large by Hong Kong standards, and well equipped with a large fridge, one burner stove top, microwave, television with English stations, telephone, wifi and DVD player. The bed was very comfortable, it was spotlessly clean and the air conditioning worked perfectly. There is a small grocery store a short walk away.
We took the bus from the airport and it was a short walk from the bus stop. I took a taxi back to the airport as I had an early morning flight - one of the staff went out onto the street to hail a taxi for me as there were few at that early hour. The cost $230 which included a charge for my two bags.
Yau Mei Tei MTR station is less than 5 minutes walk as it the Temple Street Night Market. The Ladies Market is also nearby. We attended a wedding and most of the guests stayed in Central but we were happy to soak up the atmosphere of Kowloon. We were most impressed with the friendly welcome and service we received throughout our stay.
We had tea at the Mandarin Oriental which we highly recommend - it is delicious and a great place to people watch. We haggled for outrageously cheap goods in the Ladies Market and took the Star Ferry. Victoria Peak was a definite highlight and we splashed out for a very nice lunch at the summit. Our favourite meal was dim sum at Zen in the Pacific Place in Central.
I highly recommend CHI Residences 279 - it has a great, quiet location and offers excellent value for money.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Sapphire22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CHI_Intl, Public Relations Manager at CHI Residences 279, responded to this reviewResponded December 11, 2012

Thank you so much for taking the time to write such a positive and encouraging review. We are glad that your trip to Hong Kong was a productive and memorable one and are honoured we were able to play a small part in that by providing you with a safe, comfortable and convenient place to stay. Thank you again for your helpful and in-depth review, we truly do appreciate it. The next time you are in Hong Kong please let us know so we can have the chance to impress you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 7, 2012

I will definitely come back and stay at CHI 279. The location, amenities and the service was great. Ms. Fellin, Ms. Kate and Mr. Johnny were all very helpful and accommodating (we got to check in before 2:00 pm). This is my second time in Hong Kong and I'm glad I decided to try CHI.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sheiladlp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CHI_Intl, Public Relations Manager at CHI Residences 279, responded to this reviewResponded December 11, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to write such a positive review, we couldn't be happier that you enjoyed your stay at CHI 279 and plan to return in the future. We will be sure to pass along your kind words to Fellin, Kate and Johnny, we think they do an excellent job and are glad that you agree. Thanks again, we can't wait to have you back with us soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hong Kong hotels
Jordan / Yau Ma Tei
Hotel Madera Hong Kong
Hotel Madera Hong Kong
#35 of 729 in Hong Kong
986 reviews
Garden View Hong Kong
#171 of 729 in Hong Kong
684 reviews
Two MacDonnell Road
#129 of 729 in Hong Kong
201 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Jordan / Yau Ma Tei
Inn Hotel Hong Kong
Inn Hotel Hong Kong
#127 of 729 in Hong Kong
293 reviews
Tsim Sha Tsui
Residence G Hong Kong (by Hotel G)
Kowloon King's Hotel
#378 of 729 in Hong Kong
13 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to CHI Residences 279? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about CHI Residences 279

Address: No.279 Shanghai Street,Yau Ma Tei, Kowloon, Hong Kong, China
Phone Number:
Location: China > Hong Kong > Jordan / Yau Ma Tei
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
#46 Romantic Hotel in Hong Kong
#57 Family Hotel in Hong Kong
Price Range: $104 - $364 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — CHI Residences 279 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
CHI 279 by CHI Residences is a calm retreat from the city. Located on famous Shanghai Street, a fascinating eclectic array of shops and sights reveal the natural charm of Hong Kong. Daily, weekly and monthly rates are available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Agoda, Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your CHI Residences 279 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chi Residences 279 Hotel Hong Kong
CHI Residences 279 Hong Kong

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing