We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hidden White Pearl in the middle of chaos”
Review of CHI Residences 279

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
CHI Residences 279
Ranked #146 of 718 Hotels in Hong Kong
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Hidden White Pearl in the middle of chaos”
Reviewed October 2, 2012

Stayed at Chi between 17-20th Sept. We arrived in the late evening and when the cab first turned into the street you feel slightly worried as the area is quite run down and untidy however as soon as you step into Chi greeted by fresh white walls and peaceful water features. Group of 6 of us stayed in two apartments - it was great having the entire floor to ourselves during our stay. Great apartments - wifi - big internet tv, daily water bottles and housekeeping. Location is perfect can walk to night markets and cabs to other parts of town were very reasonable. During the day the area is great - really feel like you are in are in proper Hong Kong rather than commercial and business side of Hong Kong. Only downside was the checkout procedure - stayed in many apartments before but never had to wait for the entire apartment to be searched and each spoon counted before checking out - especially since you leave a security deposit at the beginning. Since we had an early morning flight and rush hour to contend with did not appreciate this delay or the big deal made out of not being able to find one of the entry cards used to activate the lift - would have appreciated the staff helping us to get a cab rather than worrying about a card. Overall though would recommended the apartments - clean, great location and loved the atmosphere.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RBN55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CHI_Intl, Public Relations Manager at CHI Residences 279, responded to this review, October 14, 2012
Thank you for taking time to write such an encouraging review. It's good to know you and your family enjoyed our apartments and explored the surrounding local neighbourhoods. Regarding the lift card, please understand it is a security issue, and so we have to take certain measures. Your feedback is appreciated and we will review early morning check out procedures. Thank you again, and we look forward to welcoming you back again - perhaps try one of our other properties to experience another area of Hong Kong!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

222 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    125
    78
    13
    5
    1
See reviews for
71
70
10
18
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed October 1, 2012

We arrived late at night and we had a hard time locating the hotel, it is situtaed at a relatively dark and quiet street, the dim signboard means it could easily go unnoticed if one didn't pay much attention. We're given a room on 11th floor, it was huge and equipped basically with everything you need, a living room, kitchenette and dining table. However, do note that there's hardly any room for an extra bed. The full wall window in the bedroom offers an amazing view of the street. Close proximity to Yau Ma Tei MTR and just right opposite to temple's street. Though we didn't spend much time in the apartment since we checked out ealy the next day but it's definitely worth the price we paid in a country like Hong Kong, let alone the fact that it's in the city area. The only drawback was the alarm turned itself on during early in the morning and we couldn't figure out a way to disable it, eventually we just removed the batteries. All in all, it was a indeed nice stay at CHI residence 279, would recommend it to anyone that prefer a spacious room.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gillarossi1986
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CHI_Intl, Public Relations Manager at CHI Residences 279, responded to this review, October 14, 2012
Thank you for taking time to write a review on your stay with us. We're glad to have been able to provide a comfortable space for you to relax and rest, even just for a night. We look forward to welcoming you back again, hopefully for a longer stay next time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bundaberg, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed September 29, 2012

The location in a safe older part of town is opposite Temple Street Markets, the Big Bus Stop and a Viator Tour pick up point. The apartments are clean, modern, comfortable have an excellent Wifi connection and the best shower you will get in China. There is a Welcome supermarket, McDonalds and restuarants nearby. You can catch up on the washing with rooftop washers and dryers. Traffic noise is low at night and the staff are most helpful.

Room Tip: We were on the second floor near the office which saved time using the lift.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rubenjam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CHI_Intl, Public Relations Manager at CHI Residences 279, responded to this review, October 14, 2012
Thank you for sharing your experience of CHI 279 and we're glad you had a comfortable stay and enjoyed the good showers! We look forward to welcoming you both back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sentosa Island, Singapore
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 28, 2012

We stayed in the Chi 279 Service apartments for 4 nights with our 3 year old son. The Service apartments are located about a 5 minute walk from the MTR station. On first appearance the neighborhood seems a little run down but we did not experience any problems when walking around after dark and several of the local people were friendly when we were walking down the street.
There are several 7elevens, Circle Ks and a mini market on Nathan Street (one block over from Shanghai Road) for which to buy groceries.
The apartments are extremely clean and have everything you will need for a stay in a Service apartment. The staff are very friendly and helpful.
I was very pleased with our stay and I would recommend the Chi 279 apartments for those who want some independence from a normal hotel.

Room Tip: Higher floors have better view and less noise from traffic
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Colin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 4, 2012

Stayed here for 5 nights in July 2012 with my wife and son. The apartment is well maintained, clean, very good furnishings and most of all the bed and linen are very good and comfortable. The only issues we faced is the toilet flush which you need to flush two times get everything down and the other thing is the very strong water pressure in the lavatory which nearly soaked my mobile phone in my waist when I first opened the tap.

Location is very good since its very near to the Yau Ma Tei metro station. Like what other people mentioned in their reviews, there are lots of cheap eateries around the apartment but I don't suggest them because most of the food are greasy and heavily soaked in oil.

The other thing I did not like is that one week before our stay, I received an email from the Chi management telling us that we were upgraded to another apartment which is Chi 120 in Sheung Wan, Hong Kong island. It felt like they just wanted to move us to one of their apartments to give way to their other customers (maybe for a higher rate). I declined the offer since we have no plans in staying in the Hong Kong side.

Overall, a good apartment close to public transportation.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jhun100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CHI_Intl, Public Relations Manager at CHI Residences 279, responded to this review, October 14, 2012
Thank you for taking time to write a detailed review and share your experience. We're glad that you enjoyed our convenient location and comforts of our apartments, and we have taken note about the water pressure. Thanks again and we look forward to welcoming you and your family back again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2012

The service apartment is fully answer my requirements. Cleaness, modern, comfortable, good location.

There are only 12nd floor and 24 rooms which 1 floor per 2 rooms; kicthen, microwave, dish, bowl, pot, pan, iron, bread maker, air purifier, mosquito killer machine, umbrella, shopping bag, etc

I am strongly suggest all traveller to stay in this place. You will never feel to go back home.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pimsiri C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CHI_Intl, Public Relations Manager at CHI Residences 279, responded to this review, August 29, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write such a positive review. We're glad that CHI 279 was able to meet and exceed all your expectations and that it contributed to making your trip a memorable one.
Again, thanks, we look forward to having you back with us in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed June 27, 2012

I stayed in CHI Residence 279 with my husband and my 16 months boy from 23-Jun to 26-Jun. CHI 279 is very suitable for a family with a baby/toddler. Apartment is similar to a one room flat in Singapore with everything provided.

How to reach CHI 279? Buy MTR ticket from HK Airport to Kowloon MTR. (HK$90 Adult, HK$45 Child). Take free shuttle bus (K1) and alight at Eaton Smart Hotel (6 Stops), walk estimiate 350m to CHI Residence 279.

Service: 100% Service Excellent from the Staff. Room is always clean & tidy after we returned back from shopping. Two persons who serve us during the trip are Johnny and Ying. The rest not sure of their name, they just greet us with a smile everyday.

Toilet: Big toilet. All toiletries provided, except shaver. Shower hose/tap is using GROHE brand. (Branded).

Bedroom: Suitable for 2 adults and baby/toddler. Not suitable for an extra person cos there will not be enough space to put a bed. Even a cot-bed is quite cramp. Our baby sleeps in between us. Bed is very comfortable, my baby can sleep very long. Two big cupboards with hangers and a safe provided.

Kitchen: Almost all utensils are provided. All bowls, plates, cups, glasses are made of glass, might not be suitable for children. Microwave, bread toaster. Iron, iron-board, umbrella, room slippers are found in a cupboard.

Living room: Smart TV. (Don't have to bring your personal laptop). H-Fi, DVD player. Ionizeer, air-con.

Location: 2-3 min walk to Yau Ma Tei MTR. 2 min walk to Tin Hau Temple. 2 min walk to temple street. You can purchase Mango Dessert everyday from the same building, level 1. Opposite the street are the hawker stalls.

Others: Dryers x02 and washing machine x02 provided on rooftop.

Price: Worth the price. Comparable to a 4 star and 5 star hotel.

Overall: Tidy and well-maintained apartment. Location: Very convenience. Excellent service. Definitely come back again.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
18 Thank JeanNgYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Public Relations Manager at CHI Residences 279, responded to this review, July 3, 2012
Thank you for taking to the time to write such an in depth, detailed and encouraging review. We're glad that you enjoyed our convenient location and our amenities. Thank you for your kind words towards our staff and we will be sure to pass along your kind words to Johnny and Ying and the rest of the staff. It sounds like you managed to see and experience a lot of what Hong Kong has to offer, we hope you had a great time during your stay. Again, thank you for your kind words and we look forward to having you and your family with us again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hong Kong hotels
Jordan / Yau Ma Tei
Hotel Madera Hong Kong
Hotel Madera Hong Kong
#28 of 718 in Hong Kong
881 reviews
Jordan / Yau Ma Tei
Casa Deluxe Hotel
Casa Deluxe Hotel
#188 of 718 in Hong Kong
109 reviews
Tsim Sha Tsui
Residence G Hong Kong (by Hotel G)
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Jordan / Yau Ma Tei
Inn Hotel Hong Kong
Inn Hotel Hong Kong
#121 of 718 in Hong Kong
257 reviews
Jordan / Yau Ma Tei
The Cityview Hong Kong
The Cityview Hong Kong
#85 of 718 in Hong Kong
2,344 reviews
Jordan / Yau Ma Tei
Shamrock Hotel
Shamrock Hotel
#86 of 718 in Hong Kong
661 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to CHI Residences 279? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about CHI Residences 279

Property: CHI Residences 279
Address: No.279 Shanghai Street,Yau Ma Tei, Kowloon, Hong Kong, China
Phone Number:
Location: China > Hong Kong > Jordan / Yau Ma Tei
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
#46 Romantic Hotel in Hong Kong
#77 Family Hotel in Hong Kong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — CHI Residences 279 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
CHI 279 by CHI Residences is a calm retreat from the city. Located on famous Shanghai Street, a fascinating eclectic array of shops and sights reveal the natural charm of Hong Kong. Daily, weekly and monthly rates are available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Agoda, Cancelon, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your CHI Residences 279 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chi Residences 279 Hotel Hong Kong
CHI Residences 279 Hong Kong

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing