We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent stay”
Review of CHI Residences 279

Best prices for your stay
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
CHI Residences 279
Ranked #147 of 718 Hotels in Hong Kong
Certificate of Excellence
San Diego, California
Level 5 Contributor
16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Excellent stay”
Reviewed February 2, 2012

Stayed at Chi for the latter part of my trip. Staff was pleasant. Elevator went out when we were leaving and they climbed the 11 floors to take our bags. Of course my bag was larger than the girl offering so I refused, but it was a nice gesture anyway. Walking distance of starbucks and the metro. The rooms were modern and large. W/D available in the building or you can walk around the corner to have it laundered for minimal fee. They even deliver back to the hotel since Chi uses them for their laundry service. Overall, pleasant stay and would return.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CHI_Intl, Public Relations Manager at CHI Residences 279, responded to this review, February 5, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write such an encouraging review. We're glad you enjoyed your stay with us at CHI 279. Our apologies in regards to the lift but we're glad it did not inconvenience you too much. Again, thank you and we hope to have you back with us in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

219 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    124
    77
    12
    5
    1
See reviews for
70
69
10
18
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lausanne, Switzerland
Level 6 Contributor
216 reviews
102 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 192 helpful votes
Reviewed January 17, 2012

We were a party of 3 and stayed 3 nights in CHI Residences 279. Right, they block an amount on your Credit Card, so you have to plan it on your credit card allowance, but it was not a problem for me, as I was advised from the other review. From the airport, take the Airport Express to Kowloon Station. Then take the free transfer Bus n°K1 to Eaton Hotel Hong Kong. Then it's a 3-blocks walk to the apartment, around the park and a nice temple. It's the closest conection to the airport.
Now to the room. For Hong Kong and for the price, it's a real deal. The appartment is huge. When You book a three people apartment, if you're on floors 1,2 or 3, you'll have a seperate corner for the single bed. If you're on floor 4 and higher, you'll have the single bed in the Kitchen/Dining room. So you either have a little more space near the noise of the road, or a higher floor apartment with less room. We were on the last floor, so it was quiet! The staff was helpful and very nice. The location is convenient, near metro stations and buses. For a reasonable price, you'll get lots of space and a big double bed, which is real luxury in Hong Kong!
One word to the bathroom, The shower is also huge! And a very modern design.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guangzhou, CHINA
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed January 9, 2012

I stayed at CHI 279 for an overnight to pick up my mom at the airport. The apartment was spacious as advertised and extremely clean. It's also very well located as others have mentioned, two blocks to MTR and a McDonalds and Welcome supermarket one block away. The Temple Street Market is one short block away.

In all it's a great location and a wonderful room. But it's not a hotel. No on-site restaurant, but the McDonalds is closeby for quick coffee and breakfast. As the Yau Ma Tei Metro Exit C is just a couple blocks away, transport to fancier restaurants is easy. Also, there are dozens of small restuarants all around the location and Temple Street Market has the street side table restaurants. You can get dim sum there in the evening and morning as well.

Beware there is only a single bed in the room, so if you need twin beds, it could be a problem. I had noted this specifically on the reservation which they had a copy of. They wanted to charge me 200 HKD surcharge for twin beds instead of a queen. In the end it was complimentary, but the room was really geared to two people sharing a bed. They just put a roll-away in the living room. There's a couch too. So

I rated the service a three star, but it's not because the service that's provided is bad. It's just there isn't really the normal kind of service you might expect in any kind of hotel setting. The desk closed at 6:00 pm the day I was there. They came back for our late arrival from the airport (I had to pick my mom up) by special arrangement, but if you were to arrive late or leave early, you need to make arrangements. The manager was very helpful and friendly though. Took our picture and helped out.

You get a full kitchen, but there is zero food service on site of any kind. So you must go out as mentioned above.

The ultra cleanliness of the room is really nice. Top notch. For a serviced apartment, with no hotel services, this is a great place.

p.s. I didn't see a gym and clicked it by accident, however, they are close to a giant gym and fitness center.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level 4 Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed November 16, 2011

we booked a 3 night stay, and we stayed in a triple room for my wife, myself plus my 2.5 yr old boy.

The triple room has a queen bed plus one single bed in another "wing" type of configuration. for the price we paid, the room is huge by hong kong standards. This is more like a serviced apartment which allows daily stay, rather than a hotel, hence this might explain the difference in size. That said, don't expect hotel cosyness or decor too. This is more functional, homelike and is clean and tidy. Service is fantastic too considering we aren't thrilled about our experience with other Hong Kong service people! from the friendly office mgmt to housekeeping staff, they are smiley and helpful.

toilet is a bit too big and empty (rather the space goes into the room), but is ok. toilet/kitchenette fittings are grohe, so it's good stuff even though the overall decor may not feel so.

Flat screen TV is great too!

Location wise, it is a short walk to Yau Ma Tei station, so it's pretty convenient. and it's just a short walk away to Temple St night market too. Actually just a block away there is already a smaller night market which is like an "extension" to the Temple St one, but on Yau Ma Tei side.

My family have even walked to Mong Kok / Langham Place / Women st market area twice, not that far away. TST to our hotel is a bit further but we did that walk too, passing through Temple St along the way.

One downside is that from the main entrance to the lift, there is a flight of stairs to negotiate. luggage is still ok, cos there's a small lift that is meant for wheelchairs that can take the luggage, but you need the hotel staff to activate for you I think. so for daily use, it's up and down the stairs we went with our baby stroller.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CHI_Intl, Public Relations Manager at CHI Residences 279, responded to this review, November 22, 2011
Thank you for taking the time to write an encouraging review. We look forward to welcoming you and your family back in the near future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gawler, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
133 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
Reviewed October 22, 2011

We arrived at Chi Residences after travelling from Hanoi and 3 weeks into our trip. We were met by Johnny who was fantastic and was very welcoming and helpful. All the staff at this venue were extremely friendly and many places I have stayed in could learn a lot from their attitude to customer relations.
Johnny showed us our apartment which was exactly what we wanted after 3 weeks of hotels. It is very well equipped with a small kitchen, a bedroom with a very comfortable bed and a nice bathroom. The lounge is equipped with a table, a lounge and an internet capable TV and sound system. On the roof there are washers and dryers that are free to use. There are also a few chairs and great views. Everything about this place was good and the prices are very reasonable when taken into context with HK accommodation costs.
All the attractions are close by or very easily accessable on public transport. Plenty of night markets and great places to eat are within a short walk. When at the markets try the New Delhi Indian restaurant, very good cheap food and a great atmosphere.
We would not even think of staying anywhere else in HK after our experience at Chi Residences 279.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CHI_Intl, Public Relations Manager at CHI Residences 279, responded to this review, November 16, 2011
Thank you Tim for taking the time to write such an encouraging review. Our CHI team is ready to make sure your next stay is just as comfortable, and you will always have a home away from home with us. Thanks again, we hope to have you back with us soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed September 29, 2011

We stayed at the CHI Residences for a week on the last leg of our 7 week holiday and it was a relaxing and enjoyable experience.
After a long day of sightseeing it was wonderful to come home to a wonderfully quiet, cool and spotlessly clean apartment equipped with just about everything you could need.
The staff were so friendly and obliging and nothing was too much trouble for them, we were always greeted by our names and a smile!
The CHI Residences 279 does not have a bar or restaurant, but that is not missed, as there are so many great eating places in the area, especially the dessert place on the corner.
The area is very safe and the Residences are secure, entry is via a pass code at the front door. Close to transport, Temple Street and the Ladies Markets.
One of the most comfortable beds I have slept in for ages!!
We highly recommend it to travelers of all ages.

Room Tip: We had a room on level 4 at the front of the hotel and we found this to be very quiet. Some street...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CHI_Intl, Public Relations Manager at CHI Residences 279, responded to this review, October 3, 2011
Kathy,

Thank you for taking the time to write such an encouraging review. We hope to have you back with us in the future so we can continue making CHI Residences 279 your home away from home.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
137 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
Reviewed June 26, 2011

Really recommend. Great place nice helpful staff. Easy for the metro and close to the night market. Apartments nicely decorated.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hong Kong hotels
Jordan / Yau Ma Tei
The Cityview Hong Kong
The Cityview Hong Kong
#86 of 718 in Hong Kong
2,298 reviews
Jordan / Yau Ma Tei
Inn Hotel Hong Kong
Inn Hotel Hong Kong
#120 of 718 in Hong Kong
251 reviews
Tsim Sha Tsui
Residence G Hong Kong (by Hotel G)
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sheung Wan
Hotel LBP
Hotel LBP
#52 of 718 in Hong Kong
1,155 reviews
Jordan / Yau Ma Tei
Casa Deluxe Hotel
Casa Deluxe Hotel
#185 of 718 in Hong Kong
107 reviews
Jordan / Yau Ma Tei
Hotel Madera Hong Kong
Hotel Madera Hong Kong
#30 of 718 in Hong Kong
862 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Additional Information about CHI Residences 279

Property: CHI Residences 279
Address: No.279 Shanghai Street,Yau Ma Tei, Kowloon, Hong Kong, China
Phone Number:
Location: China > Hong Kong > Jordan / Yau Ma Tei
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
#47 Romantic Hotel in Hong Kong
#78 Family Hotel in Hong Kong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — CHI Residences 279 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
CHI 279 by CHI Residences is a calm retreat from the city. Located on famous Shanghai Street, a fascinating eclectic array of shops and sights reveal the natural charm of Hong Kong. Daily, weekly and monthly rates are available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your CHI Residences 279 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chi Residences 279 Hotel Hong Kong
CHI Residences 279 Hong Kong

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing