We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good value in good position”
Review of Sohotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Sohotel
Ranked #151 of 718 Hotels in Hong Kong
Certificate of Excellence
Wollongbar, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“good value in good position”
Reviewed November 16, 2010

150 dollars a night for smallish room and breakfast.,good for hk
clean
helpful staff
walk to anywhere you need to go

Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank lostpilgrim2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

243 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    65
    106
    50
    13
    9
See reviews for
26
92
39
42
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed October 30, 2010

Five minutes walk from the nearest metro station. Very close to trams and Macau ferry. The rooms are modern and well kept, but very small. The bathroom is well-designed (no wet floor after the shower!), but the frosted glass door won't suit everybody. Staff were always helpful. Breakfasts consisted of bacon and eggs or omelette, juice, coffee/tea, toast and jam and some fruit pieces. One downside at the moment is that there is construction work in a building opposite. Jackhammers started at about 8:30 and ran into the late afternoon. No problem if you are out and about, but painful if you are trying to catch up from lost sleep after a very long flight. Free Internet (wired) worked fine.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ML_GL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lovelady, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed September 25, 2010

Don't come to this hotel with a high expectation and you'll be pleasantly surprised as I was. The rooms were adequate (small but they all are in HK, and I was able to fit 2 big luggages in the room, so it was enough). It's a 7 mins walk from the nearest MTR exit. Breakfast was so so, but food is everywhere and they are not expensive. Reception was efficient and nice. During off peak seasons, the price gets really good for a business/leisure hotel. I'd come back to stay again due to the convenience & location.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lower_case_sensitive
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luxembourg City, Luxembourg
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed September 2, 2010

the hotel is a family run and very small but cosy. Be aware that the standard rooms are very small but modern and clean.
the design of the hotel is very modern and the staff very friendly. Although they still need a little practise.
WiFi was not working n our room despite the fact that they say they have it for free. (you can still use the 2 computers in the lobby)
Breakfast was not so great. No buffet.
Location was very good, The underground is reachable in about 5 min by foot.

Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank LipTe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level 6 Contributor
172 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 185 helpful votes
Reviewed August 10, 2010

It's ok, nice and clean, tiny rooms, almost no service, had some trouble getting back in a taxi even with a map. There are better places a few streets away for the same price, it's no closer to the centre of town than Wan Chai. The cafe next door is great for a healthy breakfast or snack. The staff are nice and so is the free pc internet in the lobby.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank remarkable_travels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2010

Standard rooms are like tiny rooms on a ship - tiny. I dreaded returning to my room, but couldn't cancel my reservation because of their stiff penalty so I stayed for 5 nights. NO closet - just a rack with a few hangers. My two suitcases took up almost the whole room which was drab and lifeless. I had a bench removed which was supposed to be a desk chair (the desk was a piece of glass) to create a bit more room. I put one suitcase underneath the 'desk' and sat at the foot of the bed to use my computer on the desk...that's how tight it was. Reception staff uneven and moody - two people were nice, two were very grumpy.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TrustedOpinion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, NY
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed June 29, 2010

Compared to many other hotels I have stayed in in HK, this hotel had the best value by far. Being from NYC, space isn't an issue, so for us, so we were very happy with our small 300 sq ft, 900HKD room, which had great decor, was clean, and had large comfortable bathrooms (definite priorities!). The location is also quite ideal -- it is only a 10-15 minute walk from the main bar and restaurant district, and about 5 minutes from the Sheung Wan subway station. Most hotels in the area are much more expensive, since they are in a prime location of the city, so we were happily surprised to find such a reasonable gem. We liked it so much we came back again after returning from our travels in SE Asia!

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank supertraveler333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hong Kong hotels
Sheung Wan
Ovolo Noho
Ovolo Noho
#36 of 718 in Hong Kong
1,093 reviews
Sheung Wan
iclub Sheung Wan Hotel
iclub Sheung Wan Hotel
#100 of 718 in Hong Kong
442 reviews
Sheung Wan
The Bauhinia Hotel - Central
The Bauhinia Hotel - Central
#162 of 718 in Hong Kong
230 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sheung Wan
Holiday Inn Express HONG KONG SOHO
Sheung Wan
Hotel LBP
Hotel LBP
#52 of 718 in Hong Kong
1,156 reviews
Sheung Wan
Lan Kwai Fong Hotel
Lan Kwai Fong Hotel
#106 of 718 in Hong Kong
1,067 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sohotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sohotel

Property: Sohotel
Address: No.139 Bonham Strand, Hong Kong, China
Location: China > Hong Kong > Sheung Wan
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#114 Luxury Hotel in Hong Kong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Sohotel 4*
Number of rooms: 37
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sohotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sohotel Hotel Hong Kong
Sohotel Hong Kong

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing