We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place, nothing that stands out”
Review of Sohotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Sohotel
Ranked #160 of 726 Hotels in Hong Kong
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 21, 2014

This is Hong Kong so if you are hoping for a large room for around $100 ... keep hoping. The space was adequate, certainly not the greatest hotel I have stayed at but the staff were friendly and helpful, it had a great location and quiet room. Nice touch was the included breakfast which runs from 8-10 (but everyday they were able to deliver it at 6 and 6.30 so they can make exceptions). Breakfast was a fresh croissant and danish with a drink...

Good value if you can book it for around $100-$125 if more there are better options (Ibis for instance has bigger rooms for the same price). the room is not set up to work on your laptop (I had a standard room) the "desk" has a stool rather then a chair (no space for a chair). There is a lot of competition in the Western District (butterfly, Ramada, Island Pacific, iClub, Ibis, etc) all for around the same price. The room in Sohotel was the smallest out of the ones I mentioned (yes I stayed at each one).

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mlokhorst
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (255)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

86 - 92 of 256 reviews

Reviewed July 2, 2014 via mobile

rooms aee small staff was wonderful easy to get around not as fast pace as kowloon would recommend to couples only because of the room size there tour packages the one that includes the tram is good but not enough time at the peak and the pearl shopping was a waste of our time

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GaryS57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 22, 2014

We stayed here for 3 nights and had booked the superior room with 2 single beds.

The hotel was very conveniently located in Sheung Wan and we chose it because it was a 5 minutes (or less) walk to the HK- Macau Ferry terminal. Also the Sheung Wan MTR station was also about a 10 minutes walk away. It is also 1 stop away from the Central MTR station which is linked to the Airport express to the HKIA. We also sat on the tram ('ding ding') which was also walking distance from the hotel. The IFC mall (Tim Ho Wan is there) was also very close by and we took the tram there.

Convenient stores and many restaurants are also conveniently located around the hotel with the famous Kau Kee beef noodles and the Man Mo
Temple just a 10-15 minute walk away.

The hotel staff was very friendly and attentive. A simple breakfast of croissants and other pastries with coffee and tea was delivered on time to our room everyday at the time we requested which was 8.30am (starts at 8am).

The room was small but clean with modern fittings so it was not a problem for us. Free, fast wifi in the room was also a plus point. We also used the computers with wifi at the lobby. The view of our room was the road below (Bonham Strand) and it was fun watching people walk down the road especially at night. There are still many people on the roads even around 12 midnight and we felt safe walking in HK at night. One thing to keep in mind is that as the roads look quite similar, it can be confusing at first to remember where the hotel is, and we had a little trouble recognising the roads back from the MTR to the hotel as they looked similar.

Overall, we would strongly recommend this hotel to those who want a modern, clean hotel (albeit the small rooms) located strategically in central HK at a budget friendly price.

We enjoyed our stay here and would return when in HK.

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank CTDJtravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 21, 2014

The location was very near to HongKong and was easy to find. The transportation was very convenient. We could go wherever we wanted and bought tickets with ease. There were also various shopping and dining facilities around. The best thing was there was also a supermarket nearby. The bathroom was big and bright. There was lovely sunshine every morning. However the room was small and we could hardly find space to open our suitcases.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Xiaofeng Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 6, 2014

This was sort of a joke when I arrived but being jetlagged, I couldn't do much more than faceplant any ways. If I stood with my arms out and spun in a circle, I would be able to touch all sides of the room. Carpet looked very dingy.

They did create a to-go little breakfast package for me which was very sweet. however, it wasn't good so I did have to toss it. The gesture was there and it was appreciated!

I do prefer this part of town to Kowloon as it is much more authentic without the tourist crowds and chains.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank steph_joann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 25, 2014

We stayed in a standard room from May 22nd 2014 to May 24th 2014, and like other hotels that I have stayed in Hong Kong, the room is typically standard size small. We practically have to jump over my luggage to get from the door to the bed. I have expected this and actually I feel this sohotel is a steal due to its low price and high standard of service. The toilet is however bigger than other budget hotels. It has a separate showering partition which keeps rest of the toilet dry which I really appreciated. Ample towels are around in the bathroom which is a pleasant surprise as well.

Pauline was the one who checked us in and she was very efficient and friendly, telling us everything we need without us asking first. Our room doesn't have a fridge, Pauline saw us bringing some beverages from 7-11 and told us that we can keep our drinks cold in the kitchen fridge and they will bring it to us when we wants them. Every staff we met in the hotel smiled and greeted us.

Breakfast is served in the room at whatever time we wanted till 10.30am. Freshly brewed hot coffee and warm pastries are delivered to our room within 10 minutes.

We stored our luggage with the concierge on the day of leaving. The nice concierge mister helped us talked to our cab driver on the phone to direct him to the hotel. Overall, I would highly recommend this hotel who wants to live in Central and near to a MTR but at a budget price.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Xiu_Summer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 30, 2014

We were very pleased with the Sohotel. The staff was extremely friendly and attentive, the entire hotel was clean and well-maintained, and the location was absolutely perfect. The MTR and numerous trams are just steps away. The rooms are very small, but if you're not planning on hanging out in the room during large portions of your HK stay (and why would you?), then it doesn't matter very much.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hong Kong hotels
Sheung Wan
Ovolo Noho
Ovolo Noho
#29 of 726 in Hong Kong
1,156 reviews
Sheung Wan
iclub Sheung Wan Hotel
iclub Sheung Wan Hotel
#89 of 726 in Hong Kong
494 reviews
Sheung Wan
The Bauhinia Hotel - Central
The Bauhinia Hotel - Central
#169 of 726 in Hong Kong
241 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sheung Wan
Hotel LBP
Hotel LBP
#61 of 726 in Hong Kong
1,240 reviews
Wan Chai / Causeway Bay
Burlington Hotel
Burlington Hotel
#44 of 726 in Hong Kong
171 reviews
Sheung Wan
Holiday Inn Express HONG KONG SOHO
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sohotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sohotel

Address: No.139 Bonham Strand, Hong Kong, China
Location: China > Hong Kong > Sheung Wan
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#118 Luxury Hotel in Hong Kong
Price Range: $123 - $505 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Sohotel 4*
Number of rooms: 37
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Sohotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sohotel Hotel Hong Kong
Sohotel Hong Kong

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing