We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A decent hotel, friendly staffs”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Hotel Hong Kong Causeway Bay
Ranked #44 of 718 Hotels in Hong Kong
Certificate of Excellence
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“A decent hotel, friendly staffs”
Reviewed October 5, 2013 via mobile

I stayed a 2 nights business trip here. In general, it is a very nice IHG standard hotel in the exciting Hongkong center. The hotel location is absolutely convenient that people are talking about this hotel.

Everything was nice and pleasant for me. The only one thing need to approve is the food. I spent HK $300 for the dinner but it was not impressed me.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank showteeth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crowneplazahk, Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Hong Kong Causeway Bay, responded to this review, October 7, 2013
Dear showteeth,

Thank you very much for staying with us. We are glad to know that you were satisfied with our hotel especially our location. You are welcomed to contact our concierge for any tips for sightseeing if you visit Hong Kong again next time for leisure purpose.

Regarding the comment about the meal, we are sorry that it did not meet your expectations. Thank you for bringing up the issue and we will communicate your comment with the concerned department and look into it.

Last but not least, thank you for your valuable feedback. We hope you’d give us a chance in the future to show our improvement. Look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel again. Thank you!

Best Regards,
Crowne Plaza Hong Kong Causeway Bay
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,002 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    523
    375
    81
    14
    9
See reviews for
178
220
70
361
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (194)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Kuala Lumpur, Wilayah Persekutuan, Malaysia
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed October 1, 2013

Good hotel, clean, and all you can expect from a 5 stars hotel. I think it is particularly located close to the train station and gives you access to great restaurants and transportation very easily. The gym is small but good, and pool in the rooftop is beautiful, and the bars on 27th and 28th floors are very classy, well maintained, and great places to chill out. All in all, I think this hotel was very good for me.

Room Tip: If you stay, request a view to the horse race stadium for a much better view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chakib_AbiSaab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crowneplazahk, Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Hong Kong Causeway Bay, responded to this review, October 2, 2013
Dear Chakib_AbiSaab,

Thank you for taking the time and your compliment on Crowne Plaza Hong Kong Causeway Bay.

We are delighted to know that you were satisfied with our hotel location and facilities. Believe you have an enjoyable stay with us. Your encouraging review will help us constantly improve our quality and we aim to exceed guest expectation in their stays.

Once again, thank you for your support and looking forward to see you again very soon.

Best Regards,
Crowne Plaza Hong Kong Causeway Bay
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Israel
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed September 26, 2013

Stayed at the hotel for two nights between the 12_14/8/13. Initially I booked two rooms on booking.com as we are a family with four children and admittedly the website is extremely misleading. It stated that a child up to the age of 11 in the room is free and the rate I took included breakfast. When I got to the hotel I discovered there is no bed for a child unless you pay extra for one and the breakfast rate does not include the child.
However the hotel were very accommodating and the manager Mr William Luang arranged a suite its instead of two rooms which is more spacious and threw in the extra bed for half price and did not charge extra for breakfast for the child in each room.
The room was excellent certainly five star and pretty spacious Hong Kong terms. Breakfast was excellent and the service extremely good all around.
Location is good, about 4 minutes walk from Times Square mtr and there are plenty of taxis if that is your preference. I assume that staying in Central or on the water front may be nicer but the price compared was very reasonable.
The gym is on the top floor with a great view of the racecourse and there is also a roof top pool that was closed due to a typhoon warning. There is a great bar on the top floor so we could leave the kids in the room (my eldest is 16) and have a drink in the evening with beautiful city views without leaving the hotel, very convenient.
In all this is a very good hotel certainly value for money and I am pleased to recommend.

Room Tip: If you are travelling with a large family with small children then a suite is probably better than t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nellos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crowneplazahk, Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Hong Kong Causeway Bay, responded to this review, October 2, 2013
Dear Nellos,

Thank you for your time to share your staying experience and valuable feedback with us.

We would like to apologize for the inconvenience caused. Thank you for bringing up the issues and we have reviewed the description on the mentioned online booking website. We are pleased to clarify that one child (under 12 years old) stays with 2 adults in one room is free of charge if he/she is using the existing bed. One breakfast is also included for the child if you book Advance Booking rate with breakfast. If extra bed is needed for one older child or adult, HK$450+10% surcharge (per night) will be applied.

Thank you for your understanding of our arrangement. We are delighted to know that you like our guest room and 28/F. It is a pity that our rooftop pool closed this time due to typhoon warning but you will be very welcomed to try our pool again next time.

Once again, thank you for your compliments and we hope to see you again in the near future.

Best Regards,
Crowne Plaza Hong Kong Causeway Bay
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aylesbury, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
246 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
Reviewed September 23, 2013 via mobile

Love the location a 2 min walk from the trams to anywhere on HK island
We stayed in the club rooms and were very well looked after
The refreshing bar on the top floor is great for cooling off your feet while enjoying a sundowner and was stunning during the thunderstorm
A little gem in a great city and good value

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Patrick G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crowneplazahk, Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Hong Kong Causeway Bay, responded to this review, September 30, 2013
Dear Paddythediver,

Thank you for choosing Crowne Plaza Hong Kong Causeway Bay.

We are pleased to know that you appreciated our location, an aspect of our hotel that is preferred by many of our guests. Your encouraging review will help us constantly improve our quality even further as we hope to exceed over and beyond our guest expectations.

Believe that you had an enjoyable stay with us this time. Thank you for your comment and welcome to stay at our Crowne Privilege Room again in the future to enjoy our exclusive benefits and fantastic racecourses view.

Best Regards,
Crowne Plaza Hong Kong Causeway Bay
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level 4 Contributor
49 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed September 21, 2013

Spent three nights here. The hotel is located about a 5 minute walk from the Causeway Bay MTR station (Times Square exit). The room was nicely furnished, a good size for Hong Kong and I had a nice racecourse view. The rooms are not particularly well insulated from hallway noise thought as I heard my neighbors talking in the hallway every night. For a Hong Kong (Asian) hotel, the breakfast selection was not great. However, there are a lot of good restaurant steps from the hotel.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BenDC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crowneplazahk, Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Hong Kong Causeway Bay, responded to this review, September 25, 2013
Dear BenDC,

Thank you for your valuable feedback.

Please accept our apology for any inconvenience caused by the noise from hallway in your stay this time. We will communicate your feedback with the concerned department to improve the soundproofing. Please do not hesitate to let us know if you would like to stay at the end of corridor in the future visits which can reduce the chance to hear the noise when other guests walking pass the door.

Moreover, thank you for letting us know your comment about the variety of the breakfast. Feedback like yours is valuable to us and enables us to monitor our standards regularly. We will pass this comment to our Food and Beverage Manager.

We hope this would not deter you from choosing Crowne Plaza Hong Kong Causeway Bay again in the future. Please do not hesitate to contact us anytime if we can be of assistance to you for your next day.

Best Regards,
Crowne Plaza Hong Kong Causeway Bay
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bellingham, Massachusetts
Level 5 Contributor
90 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed September 18, 2013

Hong Kong is a great city: Very international but very accessible for a westerner. And having tried several hotels, I like the Crowne Plaza best. Very good service, great location for shopping, wandering, walking, and a short distance to the subway. The rooms are modern, attractive and spacious by Hong Kong standards. The price is also reasonable, and no worse than other major cities, and way cheaper than NYC. If you don't feel like going out, the hotel restaurant is quite good, and the morning breakfast buffet is excellent and the price (~$20) is not cheap but on par price-wise with anything similar in the states. It pays to stay on the island instead of Kowloon. Better restaurants, SoHo, parks, culture, and nobody trying to sell you a shirt or a watch. The Crowne Plaza is an excellent value.

Room Tip: Get an upper floor, and you might get a view. Bring extra outlet adapters for the china style plugs...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank upfrontguitars
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crowneplazahk, Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Hong Kong Causeway Bay, responded to this review, September 25, 2013
Dear ggswanson,

Thank you for sharing your staying experience with us. That is our pleasure to become the best hotel in your mind. We will continue to strive in delivering quality service and friendly accommodation to our guests.

Thank you for your feedback and we hope to have an opportunity to serve you again in the near future.

Best Regards,
Crowne Plaza Hong Kong Causeway Bay
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed September 17, 2013

We stayed the weekend at the Crowne Plaza for an under 8 rugby tour while the rest of the team stayed at the Cosmopoiltan. We knew we made the right choice when we walked into our room. THe hotel is lovely, modern and clean. The rooms are spacious and very modern with huge windows that give you a great view of HK and the Happy valley racecourse. The bathroom was lovely with a gorgeous shower and bath.
We ordered room service with tired kids and the Yangzhou fried rice is one of the best fried rice dishes I have tasted in Asia !! The service was quick and easy.
We spent some time in the pool which was also lovely with a great view and despite our noisy group of children, the staff were great.
Breakfast was nice except they ran out of soy milk on the first morning of our stay and didnt bother to replace it despite my request. Also the only gluten free options were one basket of plastic bread.
The door man was very friendly and helpful always confirming with the taxi drivers that they knew where to take us.
I would say though that only allowing 2 adults and only 1 child should be increased to 2 children as the cost of the interconnecting rooms are too steep for an extra child.
We would be happy to stay again at the hotel.

Room Tip: HIgh floor has a better view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Katespy169
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crowneplazahk, Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Hong Kong Causeway Bay, responded to this review, September 25, 2013
Dear KTspy911,

Thank you for your compliments on our hotel and room facilities. We heard a lot of guest comments about the breakfast in the past few months and we are glad that you appreciated the breakfast in Kudos after our continuous improvement. We take guest comments very seriously and always strive to deliver excellent service and comfortable accommodation to guests.

Furthermore, your comment about the number of children should be allowed in one room has been documented. We appreciate your feedback and it will be looked into by management.

Thank you for your review once again. We look forward to your next stay in the near future!

Best Regards,
Crowne Plaza Hong Kong Causeway Bay
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hong Kong hotels
Wan Chai / Causeway Bay
The Park Lane Hong Kong, a Pullman Hotel
Wan Chai / Causeway Bay
Lanson Place Hotel
Lanson Place Hotel
#22 of 718 in Hong Kong
1,414 reviews
Wan Chai / Causeway Bay
Hotel Indigo Hong Kong Island
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Wan Chai / Causeway Bay
Renaissance Hong Kong Harbour View Hotel
Wan Chai / Causeway Bay
J Plus Hotel by YOO
J Plus Hotel by YOO
#58 of 718 in Hong Kong
583 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Hotel Hong Kong Causeway Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Hotel Hong Kong Causeway Bay

Property: Crowne Plaza Hotel Hong Kong Causeway Bay
Address: 8 Leighton Road, Causeway Bay, Hong Kong, China
Phone Number:
Location: China > Hong Kong
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#34 Romantic Hotel in Hong Kong
#35 Business Hotel in Hong Kong
#36 Family Hotel in Hong Kong
#42 Luxury Hotel in Hong Kong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Crowne Plaza Hotel Hong Kong Causeway Bay 4.5*
Number of rooms: 263
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in Causeway Bay, Crowne Plaza Hong Kong Causeway Bay is just 3 minutes’ walk to the renowned Times Square. The international brand business hotel offers 263 spacious guestrooms and suites featuring the high-tech Citywide In-room Mobile, WiFi and wired Internet connectivity, iPod Docking Entertainment Center, 5.1 Surround Sound System and a 42 inch LCD TV. Our Club at 28, rooftop swimming pool and fitness center are perfect for unwind. Kudos, the all-day-dining restaurant, features an extensive selection of international cuisine to appeal to all appetites. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Cancelon, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotwire, Agoda, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Crowne Plaza Hotel Hong Kong Causeway Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Hotel Hong Kong Causeway Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing