We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel Great Service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Hotel Hong Kong Causeway Bay
Ranked #51 of 726 Hotels in Hong Kong
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 8, 2013

Just returned from a 3-night stay in Crowne Plaza Causeway Bay HK. Excellent hotel and I really enjoyed the stay. Great room layout, well decorated and clean rooms (feels new), good breakfast, free wifi access, fantastic location (just a block away from Times Square), and most of all pleasant and helpful staffs (which is rare in HK). Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tony R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,027)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

438 - 444 of 1,027 reviews

Reviewed May 8, 2013

My nine nights in total at this hotel turned out to be a fantastic experience. The rooms, even though not the biggest, were well sized by HK standards. They were clean and had a professional well laid out set up in the room. The tv channels were good with seven sports channels but no English football. The amenities were good with everything provided. The bed was very comfortable and the hotel was an oasis in busy HK. The hotel has limited facilities. The gym is small, there was no dedicated club facility however the staff was friendly and attentive. The front door men were excellent and the bar on the top floor has awesome views of the city.

The room is obviously not cheap but fair by HK standards. The MTR station is around 500m walk which is a fair distance but it is fun walk in the city streets. Times Square is a lovely shopping mall on the door step of the hotel just 100m away.

The public light bus and tram stop literally outside the hotel and if you know how to use them, they can be useful for getting around. Ask the helpful concierge.

The room service and breakfast was expensive and nearby outlets for food offer better value. Lee Gardens, Times Square and others around the hotel provide many dining options.

Wifi is to expensive and should be provided free or cheaper in order to attract people to stay here. It is a must in modern society to be connected. The room cellular phone is a special innovation and can be used all over Hong Kong. Great idea.

Buy a local sim card from the seven eleven across the road. Buy the one2free card for hkd 60 and read instructions to activate the data. Cheap and many options for different users. micro sim available.

Don't forget to go night racing at Happy Valley racecourse on Wednesday nights, it is an awesome experience that is next to the hotel. The views of Happy Valley race course from the hotel are unbelievable.

All in all a great place to stay and highly recommended.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ash7777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2013

A great hotel, with fantastic views over the Happy Valley racecourse. Rooms were really quite spacious and had brilliant surround sound system, into which you could integrate your I phone.
Tube station around the corner and with a set fare of 5 HKD (50p) into central Hong Kong, don't be afraid to use it. Staff were very welcoming and helpful. My only gripe would be the nominal charge for wifi use - so small as to be pointless, but bar on the roof was awesome

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mark K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crowneplazahk, Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Hong Kong Causeway Bay, responded to this reviewResponded May 8, 2013

Dear Mark K,

Thank you very much for your review and compliments.

We are pleased to hear that you like the fantastic Happy Valley Racecourse view. If you like jogging or running outside the air-con room, you may try to go Happy Valley Racecourse because it opens for public and free of charge.

We received many comments about the internet charges in the previous months; therefore we are now offering free internet service in both public area and guest rooms starting from May. We are appreciated your valuable feedback and welcome you to visit us again in the future.

Thank you.

Best Regards,
Crowne Plaza Hong Kong Causeway Bay

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 3, 2013

I tend to be a picky traveler, and I’m pleased to report that this is a nice hotel.

Certainly not cheap, but nothing of quality is cheap in Hong Kong.

Good sized room, clean, with nice bathroom. I stayed on the 24th floor. A little wait for elevators, but not enough drive me to the stairs! :-)

Internet was included in my package (being charged for internet is a pet peeve of mine, and be advised that the internet price if you need to pay it is excessive. At the time of this writing it would've added another 6% to the cost!)

Walk from Hotel to MTR was close. (Well, the walk to the MTR station is close… but it’s still a bit of a walk once inside the rather large station! Still close enough to be considered an easy walk.)

Rooftop bar is fine for a drink.

Breakfast was the only meal I had in the hotel. It was an uninspired buffet, and didn’t seem particularly western or Chinese (which seems pretty typical of most Chinese/Hong Kong hotels). Wait staff was slow… hard to get coffee or tea in a reasonable timeframe. Having said that, I’m there for the spacious room, not the quick breakfast.

I’ve stayed in several Hong Kong hotels, and this is the first that I plan to rebook on my next visit. I was really happy with the room. Stayed 4/26 - 4/28

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank Mike R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crowneplazahk, Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Hong Kong Causeway Bay, responded to this reviewResponded May 8, 2013

Dear Mike R,

Thank you for staying with us this time and the valuable feedback. Please accept our apologies for the delay of the service provided during your breakfast time. Our Restaurant Manager has briefed the team to be more efficient in the future.

Thank you for bringing this issue to our attention and we genuinely hope that we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back soon.

Best Regards,
Crowne Plaza Hong Kong Causeway Bay

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 2, 2013

Very helpful and friendly staff, location is great for the metro (5 mins walk). Also a 7-Eleven & Starbucks just across the road. We didn't opt for the 'reduced rate' breakfast on arrival as it was still very expensive. The room exceeded our expectations - very comfy bed, modern granite bathroom with bath & shower. We were 'road-facing' on the 10th floor but couldn't hear any noise. The one downside is you have to pay 140 dollars for 24 hrs internet. It should be free.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Louise92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 30, 2013

Excellent service from the helpful staff. Very comfortable large clean rooms with large TV, mini bar, tea and coffee facilities, super en-suite. Good views from room, we were on 14th floor. The bar on 28th floor worth a visit after dark, complete with its infinity pool. Doorman very good and takes care of taxis and luggage etc. Hotel within easy walking of main shops etc. Very good location generally. If I visit again, I will try to stay in this hotel for longer. Unfortunately we had to leave at 4.30 in the morning to get to the airport so did not get to try breakfast. Recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RogerToad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 28, 2013

Checked in early and was quickly found a room that was immediately available so we could get some sleep. Very impressed. Room was quite large with a view of the city skyline. Room was kept very clean and serviced well. We spent time around the pool area which was very nice. Evening times in Club 28 were very nice and service was amazing. There is a great team working here who remember your preferences and quickly deliver your drinks.
Breakfast was amazing, so many choices. I miss them already!
As this was our first visit to Hong Kong we needed the odd bit of pointing in the right direction and Budi from the concierge team was always there to help. He made sure Taxi drivers knew where to take you and also gave an estimate of the likely cost. We took a day trip to Macau which is well worth it and were quite amazed that when we returned Budi was waving hello at us like we had been away for a few weeks. I always say a good hotel is one where you feel welcome and this one certainly does.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank johnniepk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hong Kong hotels
Wan Chai / Causeway Bay
Lanson Place Hotel
Lanson Place Hotel
#25 of 726 in Hong Kong
1,476 reviews
Wan Chai / Causeway Bay
The Park Lane Hong Kong, a Pullman Hotel
Wan Chai / Causeway Bay
Hotel Indigo Hong Kong Island
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Wan Chai / Causeway Bay
Renaissance Hong Kong Harbour View Hotel
Wan Chai / Causeway Bay
The Excelsior, Hong Kong
The Excelsior, Hong Kong
#72 of 726 in Hong Kong
2,609 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Hotel Hong Kong Causeway Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Hotel Hong Kong Causeway Bay

Address: 8 Leighton Road, Causeway Bay, Hong Kong, China
Phone Number:
Location: China > Hong Kong
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#34 Romantic Hotel in Hong Kong
#35 Business Hotel in Hong Kong
#36 Family Hotel in Hong Kong
#48 Luxury Hotel in Hong Kong
Price Range: $243 - $463 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Crowne Plaza Hotel Hong Kong Causeway Bay 4.5*
Number of rooms: 263
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in Causeway Bay, Crowne Plaza Hong Kong Causeway Bay is just 3 minutes’ walk to the renowned Times Square. The international brand business hotel offers 263 spacious guestrooms and suites featuring the high-tech Citywide In-room Mobile, WiFi and wired Internet connectivity, iPod Docking Entertainment Center, 5.1 Surround Sound System and a 42 inch LCD TV. Our Club at 28, rooftop swimming pool and fitness center are perfect for unwind. Kudos, the all-day-dining restaurant, features an extensive selection of international cuisine to appeal to all appetites. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, Orbitz, Ctrip TA, Priceline, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Crowne Plaza Hotel Hong Kong Causeway Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Hotel Hong Kong Causeway Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing