We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“horrible”
Review of Chung Kiu Inn

Chung Kiu Inn
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Chung Kiu Inn
Ranked #520 of 725 Hotels in Hong Kong
Reviewed August 19, 2012

advertised prices are lies and if white will pay more.place is dirty and unfriendly.was 29 minutes late for check out and after being over charged,the owners kept key deposit 150$.cats live in office and they bite and scratch.location nice but can take train easily to area.can do much better with a little effort.took only because nothing else available..

Room Tip: get prices on paper before arriving
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank captcul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (10)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

5 - 10 of 10 reviews

Reviewed July 21, 2012

We found the recption building easily, however our actual room was in a different building on a different block (so expect to walk a bit further) - they let you leave the key in the room when you check out, so you dont need to walk back to reception. Also our building had stairs to get to the elevator, so you might struggle a bit if your bag is full of HK shopping!.

Room was basic, containing TV, fridge and small table. Bed was very hard and not that comfortable (still slept well tho after big days in HK). Private bathroom very small as well.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ShaunJ_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 10, 2012

I booked a single room with private bathroom. What I get is a shared bathroom. You may want to confirm first and check the room before paying.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 18, 2011

After searching high and low for a hostel in Causeway Bay, I finally settled on Chung Kiu Inn and I was on a work trip and wasn't looking for one of those youth hostels. I managed to secure a room despite confirming only in mid November (you know how crazy the hotel/hostel industry is in Hong Kong).

The place was relatively easy to find, just follow the directions given by the hostel, that is to exit from Exit E from Causeway Bay, walk straight and you will be walking along Yee Woo Street, walk about 200m and you will see a magazine makeshift stall at the entrance of the Hong Kong Mansion. Take the lift to the 15F and to your right, you will see some sort of Clinic signboard, but it's also the "reception" for the hostel. I was lucky to meet the owners of the hostel at the ground floor when I was reaching. They were very nice and friendly as they led me to the clinic while I waited to be checked in.

I paid for about 500HK per night (technically it's 250HK per person per night but I booked a room for two, so yeah). I paid a deposit for 2 nights to secure my room but that also meant that I had to pay extra 15HK due to the bank's commission.

I was brought to another unit on the same floor, which turned out to be the hostel. In the unit itself, there were about 6 rooms and 1 common toilet. So you would have two keys, one to the main unit and one to your room itself. You must put a deposit of 100HK in case you lose the keys. My room was 1502 and it is just right outside the fridge and the hot water dispenser.

Now the room - very basic but very good enough for me who just needed a place to sleep and shower. The beds were comfy enough for a hostel (I wasn't expecting hotel standard kind of mattress). The blankets were thick enough for the cold weather (first 3 nights actually), but the last 2 nights were a little too cold for someone like me who came from a tropical country. There was no heater provided, closing the windows didn't help warm the room, but I made do. The toilet was really small but that was expected too. But the flush was working well, the showerhead was working well, so no complains. They were considerate to provide hangers (I actually brought my own but it wasn't needed!). No hairdryer provided, but thankfully I brought my own. A traditional flask is provided in the room, which was really really helpful. Used it to store the hot water and it does keep the water hot for the whole night!! A small TV with 3 channels kept me company during the night and a small aircon unit which I am still wondering until today whether it works or not. They make your bed daily so you come 'home' to a neat bed every night. And for the record, the bath towels that they provide? It's way cleaner than the ones that was provided in a hotel in Malaysia. They also provide toothbrush/paste but I didn't need them as I brought my own.

I managed to peek into a single room as someone probably just checked out and the room was open. It doesn't have an attached bathroom but it was sooo small that I doubt I could put my luggage any where except on the bed. Thank gawd I didn't book the single room.

Couldn't sleep until about 2am on the first night due to the noise outside. It's Causeway Bay so this is expected.

What I love about this location is also because my flight was 7am in the morning, hence I had to take the night rider (save the money!) and the bus stop is just directly outside the mansion! N11 goes all the way to the airport and it costs about 30HK using the Octopus card.

So overall, I would love to stay in this hostel again but Causeway Bay is really not the kind of shopping area I'd frequent, so I might stay in TST or Mongkok area next time (sigh, gotta source for new hostels again!).

Room Tip: request for room 1502 is possible!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank voxypop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 21, 2010

For a Hong Kong hostel this place is ok, the rooms are pretty tidy, they give you a set of towels, toothbrushes, and something else
the phillipino girl that works there is very friendly and speaks ok english
the location is great, right in the middle of causeway bay!
although i had troubles with finding the entrance to the building.. so I had to walk all around it the first time
the floor itself looks a little bit creepy but the rooms are cozy and of course remember that this is a hostel and not a hotel

all in all a nice place, worth to stay in

  • Stayed: November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nogovitsyndhk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor China Member
Reviewed April 17, 2010
Google Translation

  • Stayed: April 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank A TripAdvisor China Member
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hong Kong hotels
Wan Chai / Causeway Bay
Hotel Bonaparte by Rhombus
Hotel Bonaparte by Rhombus
#507 of 725 in Hong Kong
314 reviews
Wan Chai / Causeway Bay
Hong Kong Hostel
Hong Kong Hostel
#277 of 725 in Hong Kong
277 reviews
Jordan / Yau Ma Tei
Dynasty Commercial Hotel
Dynasty Commercial Hotel
#406 of 725 in Hong Kong
11 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Wan Chai / Causeway Bay
Best Western Hotel Causeway Bay
Best Western Hotel Causeway Bay
#463 of 725 in Hong Kong
421 reviews
Tsim Sha Tsui
I-Hotel Limited
I-Hotel Limited
#462 of 725 in Hong Kong
32 reviews
Wan Chai / Causeway Bay
Mingle Place By The Park
Mingle Place By The Park
#482 of 725 in Hong Kong
130 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chung Kiu Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chung Kiu Inn

Address: Flat P, 15/F, Hong Kong Mansion, Hong Kong, China
Location: China > Hong Kong > Wan Chai / Causeway Bay
Hotel Style:
Ranked #520 of 725 Hotels in Hong Kong
Price Range: $41 - $109 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ctrip TA so you can book your Chung Kiu Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chung Kiu Inn Hong Kong

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing