We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrific hole in the wall restaurant - take-away”
Review of Bombay Cafe - CLOSED

Bombay Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Takeout
Description: Great little Indian gem near the ferry. Great place to grab delicious Indian cuisine on the go.
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
434 reviews
123 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 254 helpful votes
“Terrific hole in the wall restaurant - take-away”
Reviewed April 11, 2012

This place is a really great value place to get your indian carry out. The fish curry is terrific as is the chicken. My wife is a veggie and she loves the felafel. The owner and his wife always have a smile on their face and go out of their way to make the curry you want. The curries are great but there are better places for4 pizza in Mui Wo.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
Thank fareastjim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

31 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    20
    6
    4
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
hk
Level Contributor
37 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Surprised by the hype”
Reviewed April 4, 2012

they have laminated sheet inside the restaurant showing trip advisor reviews. The reviews were pretty great, so we settled in. The service was decent, but the food was pretty bland. We had the kebab and the chicken tikka salad. Nothing amazing and the kebabs from ebenezer's are better

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank skd555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth
Level Contributor
62 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“A CULINARY DELIGHT REVISITED”
Reviewed April 1, 2012

I last visited The Bombay Cafe on Lantau Island, Hongkong in April 2009. The memory of the delicious vindaloo I had on that day has remained with me ever since and is my bench mark for curries tasted in any restaurant in any part of the world. If the Bombay Cafe is rated 10 the closest any other restaurant has come is a 7/8. Well, we were staying on HK Island on this occasion so it was a good distance away to The Bombay Café on Lantau. It didn’t matter. The food at the end made the journey no burden it all. I feel sorry for those who get to the outside of the café and seeing the very small premises just travel on. If you’d rather eat 2nd and 3rd rate food in the convenience of a more spacious restaurant, that’s your sad choice. But you would have missed out on one of the culinary delights of the world. My meal didn’t disappoint at all. It was delicious. Great work Gordon! Keep up the tradition! I will definitely see you again when next in HK.

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank starryjohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
37 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Hit the spot with clean fresh authentic tastes & flavors”
Reviewed February 4, 2012

Possibly the worlds smallest cafe with a kitchen wrapped around an internal stair case. The food offered is basic and to the point. The Bombay Cafe does not pretend to be something it's not BUT it delivers flavors and food quality that are well worth the visit. Service is prompt and very personal. Value is very good. I will be back and will recommend to others.

  • Visited February 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Riverwine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
45 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Curry on the street”
Reviewed December 26, 2011

Don't let this sleepy backwater cafe fool you. If you are in Mui Wo and hungry this is a great place to go.

Curry is home cooked to perfection and with only 2 tables the service is impeccable!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank alibullock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bombay Cafe also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing