We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice Hotel great view” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Harbour Grand Hong Kong

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Harbour Grand Hong Kong
Ranked #57 of 715 Hotels in Hong Kong
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
262 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
“Nice Hotel great view”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2013

The decision of were to stay is a hard one in Hong Kong, with so many places to choose from how do you choose. Easy let the wife choose her top three and then make the decision together. We sure made the right choice. After landing in Hong Kong we got on the air port express MTR to central changed to the next line to Fortress Hill, a 2-3 minute walk in a straight line to The Harbour Grand Hotel, on approaching the front doors the doors are opened and you walk into this grand foyer were you are greeted, and taken to the desk for check in, after check in its up to our room on the 15Th floor on entering the room first impression it was a little small however well laid out very clean and neat with the most spectacular view from our window.
Breakfast is sensational make sure to try it at least once there is an amazing selection of you name it ever thing European, Asian, Western, foods the other thing you must do is dress smart take the lift to the 41st floor take a seat enjoy the view over a nice drink amazing. Would we stay at The Harbour Grand again? Certainly

Room Tip: We chose to stay in a deluxe harbour view room and were very impressed
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Glenn N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,062 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,510
    1,092
    311
    97
    52
See reviews for
502
1,225
174
644
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (875)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Forcalquier, France
Level Contributor
75 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 3, 2013

Amazing views across Victoria Harbour from this fabulous luxury hotel. Very expensive, but only to be expected given the views and a very nice pool on the third floor. Staff were super-courteous and efficient. Highly recommended if you can afford it. Brilliant location just 3 minutes from MTR.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CroatiaGuide-writer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong / Kelowna, BC, Canada
Level Contributor
94 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 246 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 31, 2013

Hotels in Hong Kong are expensive, and most of the time expensive doesn't equal good quality. The Harbour Grand Hong Kong offers a great staying experience with a reasonable price tag in Hong Kong standard, it would be difficult to find similar hotel in such price range with the same level of offerings. However, there are a number of things that this property could do much better, hence the 4-star rating.

Location:

Hong Kong is very well connected with public transit system, I honestly couldn't find a place in Hong Kong that I'd could "in the middle of no where". Although the Harbour Grand Hong Kong is not centrally located in the downtown shopping core, it is merely a 5 mins walk to MTR Fortress Hill Station, which will take you to the shoppers paradise of Causeway Bay and Central in less than 10 mins, the world famous tramway is also just a 5mins walk away. There are 2 super markets, 2 7-11, 4 fast food joint and a countless number of restaurants within 10mins walk from the hotel, you wouldn't have any problem finding a bite to eat that's for sure.

This property is located in a quiet corner in a residential area, quiet enough to feel at home yet close enough to the busy Hong Kong life. There is also a free shuttle that departs from the hotel every 30mins that takes you to Causeway Bay and Central.

Security:

Hong Kong is a safe city, just use basic precautions and you'll be fine. The one downside about the hotel is that the elevators are not door card locked, hence everyone could just walk in and go up to the guests' floors.

Services:

Staffs were friendly yet a bit robotic, the door mans are always busy chatting with each other and ignoring the fact that I was standing right in front of the door that they're holding on to. Room server is slow as snail, one night I requested a pillow from house keeping and it took them 40mins to show up with it, and the next morning it took them 30 mins to response to my call to fix the TV in my room, such response speed is far from satisfaction.

Check-out too is incredibly slow, with only 2 counters opened for check-out, even a line of 4 people took 20mins for me to get through, express check-out should be provided to guests as an option.

Facility and Dinning:

There is an outdoor pool and a gym room on the 3rd floor of the hotel. The entrance of this facility is ridiculous, since the guests are sharing the same elevator exit with a restaurant that floor! Guests are forced to meet fancy dressed people who are heading for dinner in the hallway, while we are dressed for a swim, something must be done here to avoid embarrassment.

The changing room (male) is always a mess out of the 3 visits during my stay. Towels are on the floor, cleans towels are gone and no one bother to replace them, garbish cans are full and was left that way for over an hour, for a hotel that claims to be luxury, that is not acceptable. But other than the messy sense in the changing room, the pool is nice, large outdoor pool, heated too.

The other let down about the pool is that towards the edge of the pool facing the sea line, there is a huge pool of dead water, which created a bunch of bugs and mosquito flying around the edge of the pool, I'm not sure was that temporary or a permanent feature, but I sure hope that the hotel management could get that fixed promptly.

Food is above average yet a bit overpriced, the top floor restaurant gives your a great 180-degree sea view across the Victoria Harbour, it sure is one romantic place to eat if you're travelling as a couples.

Rooms:

The rooms are real nice and very spacious in Hong Kong standard, the large bath tub that could fit 2 is must certainly a plus! A nice and comfy sofa in the room makes the place even more relaxing.

Every room in this place has a sea view, and the view is fantastic as it provides a 180-degree view from Central to Tsim Sha Tsui, setting there looking at Victoria Harbous is an awesome experience. However the tinted glass prevent guests from getting a bright and clear night view of the harbour, certainly no help to watch the Symphony of Lights at night.

Rooms were quiet and the bed was very comfortable, one of the best out of my recent hotel stays! They provide a wide selection of pillows with different features that helps you sleep better.

Tips:

1) Hotel WIFI / LAN internet is SUPER EXPENSIVE! Go to any 7-11 to buy yourself a prepaid sim card, it gives your unlimited 3G/4G LTE with just fraction of what the hotel is charging!

2) Arome Bakery is nearby, make a right turn on the first set of lights from the hotel and it is on your right, awesome cakes and pastry with a reasonable price tag!

3) Going to Mongkok or Temple Street night market? MTR is not your only option, bus route 102 is right next to the MTR exit and it will take your to Kowloon passing by Yau Ma Tei, Mongkok, Prince Edward and Shum Shui Po without the need to change train plus you get to sit on the 2nd floor and enjoy the view from there (and is cheaper). All buses are equipped with route broadcasting system which your announce stops throughout your ride :)

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Crossingtheglobe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miranda T, Director of Rooms at Harbour Grand Hong Kong, responded to this review, August 1, 2013
Thank you very much for for your stay at Harbour Grand Hong Kong, and thanks for sharing your comments on Tripadvisor. Your comments about our services, cleanliness and recommendations about our facilities have been brought to the attention to relevant department heads for further improvement. We value feedback from our guests and will definitely follow up with corrective actions.
Thank you once again for bringing up these concerns to our attention and it is always through constructive comments that we are able to identify areas for improvement.
We are looking forward to welcoming you back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Otaki, New Zealand
Level Contributor
95 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2013

A truly wonderful Hotel.It has the best of everything,wonderful,helpful staff,divine meals and superb rooms and amazing foyer.
The bar and nibbles on the 41st floor is fantastic with stunning views and great service.
I can't recommend this gorgeous Hotel enough.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank poodlz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miranda T, Director of Rooms at Harbour Grand Hong Kong, responded to this review, August 1, 2013
Thank you for staying at Harbour Grand Hong Kong and thanks for sharing your pleasant experience at TripAdvisor with the travelers around the world. Your compliments to our hotel and staff members are greatly appreciated.
Thanks again and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
94 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2013 via mobile

Just had 10 days here and the hotel is fab. The harpist playing in the evening, food variety on the breakfast and evening buffets, the various lounges and the view from the top floor bar were great.

Room service often came round asking for suggestions on how to improve but we couldn't think of anything (they even had a pillow menu!)

The gym was really good - small but with a tv for each machine. Take headphones so you can watch whilst training (the hotel gets lots of decent channels in a wide range of languages so there was usually something good to watch.) They provide gym towels, water and will change the blinds / aircon for you if it's too hot.

The staff were exceptional - so friendly, polite and really couldn't do enough for you.

Didn't try the massage etc services as unbelievably expensive and while the evening buffet was good it was very expensive. Round the corner (opposite the Parknshop - they'll show you it on a map at the sales desk by the door) was an EXCELLENT veggie cafe. It has a great variety of food, ALL veggie and the menus have pictures which is useful. It's sooo cheap, delicious and the staff are friendly amd helpful.

The location is OK but not in a great area. I suppose it's near Fortress Hill MTR stop which is good as there's not much around the hotel. There are some Starbucks nearby where you can get 20mins free wifi a day here as the hotel doesn't have free wifi!!!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jen w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Queensland, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2013

a lovely hotel in a great location. Initially we had a few small issues regarding service and lack of essentials expected in a five star hotel, but after a chat with the right person all was resolved to a very high standard indeed. This hotel wants to give their customers a good experience and makes sure that this is what you get. Once the niggles had been sorted this hotel could not be faulted.

Room Tip: a room with a view of the harbour is a must as the view is spectacular and there is so much to watch
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Julia H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 24, 2013 via mobile

Room was beautiful, see through bed while looking into the toilet. Wonderful views too. Really comfortable bed.
However, for such a grand hotel, you need to pay for Internet, pay for use of umbrella etc. front reception is not forthcoming with information about anything. Concierge is strictly on a you-ask-a-question, I-give-you-a-yes-or-no-answer. After 10 days in both Macau and Kowloon hotels, this is by far the worst service staff. Having to pay more each night for the room is fine, but its the reluctance of staff and the little things like additional for Internet, for use of umbrella, for airport transfer, I don't think it's worth the stress. We stayed in 2 other Butterfly chain hotels and for a lesser star rating, the experience was far better.

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Mun B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Benoit H, Front Office Manager at Harbour Grand Hong Kong, responded to this review, July 25, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Greetings from Harbour Grand Hong Kong,

Thank you for your recent stay at our hotel and taking the time to share your comments. We truly regret to hear that your experience at our hotel did not meet your expectation..

I would appreciate if you could please contact me directly so that we can fully investigate the points you mentioned. This will also allow us to implement any remedial actions as this is definitely not the level of service that we aim to deliver.

In the meantime, please accept my apologies for the shortfalls you have experienced and kindly shared with us so that we can improve our services in the future.

Benoit Heumez
Front Office Manager
Email: benoith@harbourgrand.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hong Kong hotels
Hung Hom
Harbour Grand Kowloon
Harbour Grand Kowloon
#48 of 715 in Hong Kong
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,734 reviews
Tin Hau
Metropark Hotel Causeway Bay Hong Kong
Mong Kok
Cordis, Hong Kong at Langham Place
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Tsim Sha Tsui
The Langham, Hong Kong
The Langham, Hong Kong
#12 of 715 in Hong Kong
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,347 reviews
Tsim Sha Tsui
Hotel ICON
Hotel ICON
#5 of 715 in Hong Kong
5.0 of 5 bubbles 5,347 reviews
Wan Chai / Causeway Bay
Lanson Place Hotel
Lanson Place Hotel
#20 of 715 in Hong Kong
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,333 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Harbour Grand Hong Kong? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harbour Grand Hong Kong

Property: Harbour Grand Hong Kong
Address: No.23 Oil Street, North Point | MTR Fortress Hill Station, Exit A, Hong Kong, China
Location: China > Hong Kong > Fortress Hill
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#18 Spa Hotel in Hong Kong
#33 Romantic Hotel in Hong Kong
#47 Family Hotel in Hong Kong
#52 Luxury Hotel in Hong Kong
#56 Business Hotel in Hong Kong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Harbour Grand Hong Kong 4.5*
Number of rooms: 828
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The multi-award winning Harbour Grand Hong Kong is ideally located in the heart of Hong Kong Island and just few minutes walk from the MTR station with easy access to the city's business, shopping, dining and fashion districts. All 828 contemporary-designed guestrooms and suites enjoy stunning views of Victoria Harbour. In addition to the 27-metre outdoor swimming pool, gymnasium, spa facilities, a total of 12,685 square feet of meeting spaces, there are also 5 distinguished restaurants which accent Cantonese, European, Japanese and international cuisines, with Le 188o Restaurant and Lounge boasting a 188 degree panoramic harbour view. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Cheap Tickets, Agoda and Jetsetter so you can book your Harbour Grand Hong Kong reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Harbour Grand Hong Kong Hotel Hong Kong

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing