We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“5 star but with frustrating practices”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 15 more sites!
Harbour Grand Hong Kong
Ranked #56 of 718 Hotels in Hong Kong
Certificate of Excellence
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“5 star but with frustrating practices”
Reviewed March 4, 2013

Positives

Good value;
Not too far from central HK by MTR only 10 minute;
Delightful lobby;
Well trained staff to a point

Negatives

Smallish rooms;
Pool out of action for nearly a year;
Expensive drinks and room service-bland breakfast for one around £17 for one;
Despite having do not disturb sign on as I was working till midnight frequently woken by staff asking if I really did not want to be disturbed. Er no!!
Twice asked to collect laundry when service was not required.
Emergency procedure activated . Had to wait to find out if there was a fire. Eventually asked house maid who advised everything was ok. However took another 10 to 15 minutes to make announcement over the tannoy;
Took a taxi to North Point to use sister hotels pool. Bellboy put on a face as clearly he was not getting a big enough kick back
In the same taxi queue a couple jumped into next taxi. However it was clear that there was a more profitable fare in the queue and they we were removed from taxi to allow "fat cat" into the next taxi

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stuart A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,272 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,633
    1,162
    322
    100
    55
See reviews for
548
1,317
187
674
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (935)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Coffs Harbour, Australia
2 reviews
Reviewed March 2, 2013

We stayed in this hotel in February 2013. This was our 2nd visit and enjoyed it on both occassions. Our very comfortable, clean room was on the 38th floor with the a harbour view to the east. We enjoyed a full breakfast plus afternoon tea and cocktails in the Harbour Club lounge on the 41st floor with a wonderful view of the harbour. The MTR at Fortress Hill was a 5mins walk away.The hotel shuttle is very handy to drop you off at certain locations. It is very central located for us and ideal for our needs. We especially appreciated the service given by Manny, Grace, Gabrielle and Marcus at the Club lounge and all staff cheery, helpful which made our stay great.We will be staying there again in the future and I would recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Upgrade to Club room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jenny M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed March 1, 2013

Very friendly welcome. Great service. Thoughtful helpful and friendly staff. Rooms well furnished although some of the furnishings looked a little dated. A little drab in places. Mainly very good. Wonderful bathroom. Fantastic breakfast bar. Must be twenty metres long. English and Chinese menu. Excellent variety of food. They are building a new hotel next door soon which might be interesting. Very quiet at present. Nearest tube is Fortress Hill but well within walking distance. You might like to be a little more central if you are only there for a short while. We really enjoyed our stay.

Room Tip: Go high for wonderful views of Kowloon and Hong Kong harbour.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
beverley
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 1, 2013

Two night stay, excellent hotel views over the harbour. Hong Kong is a giant building site at the moment so one has to look past that and see a very interesting city. The hotel rooms are very well equiped and spacious. I am not sure about the glass wall to the bathroom with an electrically operated curtain which one would always have closed, but maybe thats just me! Decided we would go for the buffet meal in the hotel cafe, not the restaurant, but when told the price of £50 per head thought probably not that hungry and went elsewhere. But all in all a very nice hotel.

Room Tip: Choose a hotel nearer to the city centre
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank johnelstonnapier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Finland
Level 6 Contributor
196 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed February 27, 2013

This is a wannabe 5 star hotel. I would give it max 3 stars. The lobby is like a huge hall with no character. The harpist played beautifully but is was quite corny for that place. The room was quite clean but tiny. Bathroom stylish and functional. Aircon ineffective.

If you are looking for a real 5 stars, do not book this. It is not worth it even if the rate is tempting.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelManiaxxx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hampshire
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed February 25, 2013

Stayed in January with my husband and daughter (who's 18) . Had a triple room room very nice but put u up bed was small and uncomfortable and was sort of squashed in the corner of the room.
Swimming pool wasn't open in fact it was a building site. Not the best of location but public transport was excellent and cheap its was a two minutes walk from the underground. Taxis are very cheap. Plenty of fast food places nearby. Food in the hotel was very expensive so we didn't eat there. Views from room were amazing looking out over the harbour.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gws67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed February 25, 2013

We stayed in this hotel during February 2013 and were very pleased with it. We upgraded to the Club Rooms which included use of the Club Floor Lounge on the 41st Floor which offered fantastic views over the harbour. We also had afternoon tea and cocktails in the lounge which was also included in the upgrade. It also offered free internet access.
The room we had # 3703 was very spacious and had the same great views overlooking the harbour as the club lounge. There were plenty of toiletries and we had a massive round bath-tub with a rainforrest shower.
The MTR at Fortress Hill was within 5 minutes walk which was excellent and there were plenty of taxis. We used the MTR to get to the hotel from the airport and found it very easy.
There is alot of work going on at the hotel currently and the pool is not in operation at the moment. The surrounding area is not the best, however it is still a very good quality hotel and the staff were really helpful and always greeted you with a smile.
Overall a good stay was had by all, I would recommend this hotel and would stay there again.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DAVID S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hong Kong hotels
Hung Hom
Harbour Grand Kowloon
Harbour Grand Kowloon
#52 of 718 in Hong Kong
2,875 reviews
Mong Kok
Cordis, Hong Kong
Cordis, Hong Kong
#15 of 718 in Hong Kong
6,392 reviews
Tsim Sha Tsui
Hotel ICON
Hotel ICON
#5 of 718 in Hong Kong
5,734 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Tin Hau
Metropark Hotel Causeway Bay Hong Kong
Mong Kok
Royal Plaza Hotel
Royal Plaza Hotel
#28 of 718 in Hong Kong
3,838 reviews
Tsim Sha Tsui
The Langham, Hong Kong
The Langham, Hong Kong
#10 of 718 in Hong Kong
3,629 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Harbour Grand Hong Kong? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harbour Grand Hong Kong

Property: Harbour Grand Hong Kong
Address: No.23 Oil Street, North Point | MTR Fortress Hill Station, Exit A, Hong Kong, China
Location: China > Hong Kong > Fortress Hill
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#19 Spa Hotel in Hong Kong
#33 Romantic Hotel in Hong Kong
#47 Family Hotel in Hong Kong
#52 Luxury Hotel in Hong Kong
#56 Business Hotel in Hong Kong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Harbour Grand Hong Kong 4.5*
Number of rooms: 828
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The multi-award winning Harbour Grand Hong Kong is ideally located in the heart of Hong Kong Island and just few minutes walk from the MTR station with easy access to the city's business, shopping, dining and fashion districts. All 828 contemporary-designed guestrooms and suites enjoy stunning views of Victoria Harbour. In addition to the 27-metre outdoor swimming pool, gymnasium, spa facilities, a total of 12,685 square feet of meeting spaces, there are also 5 distinguished restaurants which accent Cantonese, European, Japanese and international cuisines, with Le 188o Restaurant and Lounge boasting a 188 degree panoramic harbour view. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Preferred Hotels, Orbitz, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Travelocity, Hotwire, getaroom.com, HotelsforEveryone, HotelQuickly, HRS and Evoline ltd so you can book your Harbour Grand Hong Kong reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Harbour Grand Hong Kong Hotel Hong Kong

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing