We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good honest food with a great pint!”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Yorkshire Pudding - CLOSED

Yorkshire Pudding
Cuisines: Bar, British, European, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Drinks, Late Night, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: Central
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
67 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Good honest food with a great pint!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 14, 2013

You can sit and watch the city life go by as you enjoy a nice pint and good pub food with some air conditioning on your back.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank elanem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

103 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    17
    49
    25
    8
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
525 reviews
340 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 222 helpful votes
“great location and good food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 18, 2013

We stopped by here for lunch during a recent trip to HK. Its in a great location next to the escalator which is fabulous for people watching and also a good place to meet people as its really easy to find.
We had a couple of beers and fish and chips and the food was very good indeed. I wasn't expecting it to be but the fish were cooked fresh and the batter was not too thick... they even had vinegar !!
Lunch time can get very busy so get there early and try to snatch a table next to the window....

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank An_Expat_Wife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saskatoon, Canada
Level Contributor
195 reviews
135 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Yorkshire Pudding Friends”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 4, 2013

Wow, what a great find! Final nite In Hong Kong & of course we decided on SOHO. We stopped on Shelley Street at Yorkshire Pudding Pub. I had some tasty beers recommended by the staff then a friendly expat from LA suggested some tasty food. It was all good. I must try to make the Scotch eggs, what a delightful dish. I will visit again when I return.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ThaiFamilyExperience
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington, United States
Level Contributor
35 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Great for people watching and beers!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 1, 2013

We jumped into Yorkshire Pudding to avoid a thunderstorm and grabbed a couple beers. The open-air design of the bar/restaurant was perfect to stay dry and do some people watching near the Hong Kong escalator.

The bar is pretty small and can feel a little claustrophobic when packed. Seems like the majority of their business is tourists or ex-pats. People were eating brunch/lunch, but nothing looked good in my opinion. Prices also seemed a little high, even our beers were expensive. But that's probably understandable due to the location and that it's basically in a tourist-trap neighborhood.

Service was really slow - both to get our beers and our check - true, it was busy, but it seemed as though the wait staff was just non-attentive.

I bet they have a happy hour, which would be my recommendation of when to visit Yorkshire Pudding, both to save a little on some good, quality foreign beers and do some good afternoon/evening people watching.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Drew M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dongguan, China
Level Contributor
34 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Great hangout place”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 21, 2013

Me and my friends always show up over there late, so I never tried the food, but the bar scene is great. Always managed to mingle in and meet cool people over there.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Andrei C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Yorkshire Pudding also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing