We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, ok hotel ”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Mini Hotel Central Hong Kong
Ranked #175 of 718 Hotels in Hong Kong
Austin, Texas
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great location, ok hotel ”
Reviewed July 20, 2014 via mobile

I stayed at this hotel for a couple nights after a conference to visit around HK. First, you can't possibly beat the location of this hotel. Walking distance from Central station and the Star Ferry pier, malls and fancy shopping areas, bars in SoHo, the markets, the Peak tram, the park and gardens, etc. the price was very affordable. The staff was rather nice and they even let me check in early and offered to keep my luggage after I checked out. The room had free wifi and the air conditioning was great after a hot HK day. The room was very small; barely was able to fit my luggage. The bathroom was small too, but ok. I'd only recommend to stay here if you're traveling alone. The room it's too small even for a couple. The bed was rather uncomfortable and the street traffic was a bit loud at night. Though the room had a nice view. The hotel is an affordable option for a solo traveler that won't spend much time at the hotel anyway.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Renyalsace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mini hotel C, Front Office Manager at Mini Hotel Central Hong Kong, responded to this review, July 22, 2014
Dear Our Value Guest,

Thank you for having taken the time to share your positive feedback about your recent stay at The Mini hotel Central on tripadvisor.com

It was a pleasure to have you with us and delighted that you enjoyed our personalised services throughout the Hotel and we are definitely welcome you back to our hotel in future !

Yours Faithully,

Albert AU
Front Office Manager
Mini hotel Central
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,212 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    167
    468
    367
    105
    105
See reviews for
66
354
424
146
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (155)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 18, 2014

Excellent location and wifi included. Two short blocks from D1 Pedder St exit of MTR. If pushing luggage, be prepared for hills. Nothing too strenuous and easily negotiated. If carrying heavy luggage, ensure you're fit enough to carry suitcase up steps. At the hotel or boarding house, you will hear quiet neighbours and you can hear loud music and breaking glass from nightlife of Lan Kwai Fong, which is a couple of streets away. Great value for money for what it is. It's clean and tidy and decent for the busy traveller and excellent for the heavy sleeper. Be prepared to bring toiletries, coat hangers and ear plugs.

Room Tip: Double room, reserve view of Peak side. Not sure if there is extra cost involved for this.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Janice O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mini hotel C, Front Office Manager at Mini Hotel Central Hong Kong, responded to this review, July 22, 2014
Dear Ms. Janice,

Thank you for having taken the time to share your constructive feedback about your recent stay at The Mini hotel Central on tripadvisor.com

We hope that you will come back to stay with us in future !

Yours Sincerely,

Albert AU
Front Office Manager
Mini hotel Central
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asia
Level 5 Contributor
46 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 146 helpful votes
Reviewed July 16, 2014

My current favourite hotel was not available so I decided to give mini a try. I saw price was good, but puzzled about so many high and low rated reviews.

I was impressed with the large funky reception area with many chairs and sofas the generally younger hotel guests could just chill in and type on their phones in.
(No sarcasm intended. That's what everyone who hung there seemed to do )

Checked in quickly, went to my room, saw layer of condensation on every surface and a mould smell. I stayed a few minutes to see if I could put up with it, decided I couldn't, called reception and they said Yes straight away but I'd have to go to reception to change door key card. My new room had no mould smell but still had condensation on every surface, making even the bed linen slightly damp. Oh well. Guess all rooms must be like this. The new room was level 5. Previous was level 4.

Other than that the room had good decor for such a tiny room. Bright white, large wall mirror, big window facing road with church view so not claustrophobic with a building barely a metre from the window like some. Slide in room safe under bed.

But......

Damn condensation everywhere. Had to turn off air con to sleep. And it's summer.


Also, shower is weird. The shower space is reasonable except there is a recess in a corner, and this is where the shower head was placed. So you have to stand against .one side, you can't use the whole shower space. This problem could have been avoided easily by moving the shower head holder a foot.

So overall... location great, price good.. for Hk that is, decor good, bed comfy.. but shower not a pleasure to use, air con messes up the room with.. you know what. No one else seems to have mentioned this so maybe I got the only two rooms in tho whole hotel with this problem. I hope so.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SirCyrus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mini hotel C, Front Office Manager at Mini Hotel Central Hong Kong, responded to this review, July 18, 2014
Dear Our Value guest,

Many thanks for having taken the time to share your constructive feedback about your recent visit to The Mini hotel Central with the tripadvisor.com.We are continously conducting the improvement work on the room humidty in guest room .

Once again, we looking to foward to serve you better in not distant future !

Yours Sincerely,

Albert AU
Front Office Manager
Mini hotel Central
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cagayan de Oro, Philippines
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2014 via mobile

Location is a walking distance from the Peak Tram and Central Area. Easily accessible through MTR one exit also shows hotel name :) You do have to climb uphill from Central but overall its not far! There are restaurands and fastfood chains in the area so even if no breakfast is served you wont go hungry!
Hotel staffs are friendly and accomodating.
Room though small but very clean and housekeeping is do e every morning. Towels, beddings are clean. Our room was crisp white! Really nice! ++ free hair blower, electric pot

Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank hcsymkin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mini hotel C, Front Office Manager at Mini Hotel Central Hong Kong, responded to this review, July 11, 2014
Dear Our Value Guest,

Thank you for having taken the time to share your positive feedback about your recent stay at The Mini hotel Central on tripadvisor.com

We are definitely welcome you to Mini hotel gropus in future !

Yours Faithully,

Albert AU
Front Office Manager
Mini hotel Central
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 6, 2014 via mobile

This is hotel is in the perfect location in the central area of Hong Kong. The hotel itself is clean and modern, the rooms are small but that's standard for HK. The thing that let's this hotel down is the unhelpful, unwilling and rude staff. The worst I have come across in my life. They are rude to speak to and do not offer help or advice. When standing in front of the main desk you may have to ask several times to get their attention and when they respond don't expect eye contact or anything remotely coherent to come out of their mouth. We weren't shown to the room, weren't welcomed in ANY way and HAD to pay a $100 deposit as soon as we checked in. Luckily everything is on the doorstep so things are quite easy to workout but there is zero help or hospitality from the staff. We asked for directions and help a few times and got nothing in response. There is no luggage store and no mini bar in the room or service to buy refreshments in the hotel either which is annoying. Could be a great little spot but it is utterly spoilt by the terrible terrible staff.

Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Rachel-UK-HCMC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mini hotel C, Front Office Manager at Mini Hotel Central Hong Kong, responded to this review, July 7, 2014
Dear Ms . Rachel,

Thank you for staying at mini hotel central and sharing your comments into details. We can assure you that we will strengthen our staff training and strive for the best to deliver quality services to our guests.

Your valuable comment is a great value to our hotel and We looking forward to serving you better in future !

Yours Sincerely,

Albert AU
Front Office Manager
Mini hotel Central
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Hong Kong hotels

Singapore
Level 6 Contributor
291 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
Reviewed June 25, 2014 via mobile

This intimate hotel is conveniently located in Central and is a stone's throw from tourist hotspots such as Victoria Peak, Duddell Street gas lamps, Lan Kwai Fong, etc. It also boasts the convenience and close proximity of public transportation nearby, with the MTR, trams and buses a walk away.

As the name implies, the rooms are minuscule but large enough for 2 guests, depending on your built and comfort level. But, reserve 2 rooms if you are a couple. Otherwise it may be a tight squeeze. Even the bathroom is small, with the toilet separated from the shower stall with a glass divider. Only couples will find it comfortable staying together in their rooms because the bathroom door is made of glass...so throw privacy out the door as soon as you get into the room. There is space available under the bed for 1 large piece of luggage. The safety box is also beneath the bed. The positioning of the mirror next to the bed along one side of the wall is cleaver as it made the room appear bigger than it actually is. For meals, take a walk to the right of the hotel and head down the steps to Wellington Street. There is a 24-hour tea restaurant that serves local cuisine.

What I like about this hotel is its wireless internet accessibility, both in the rooms and lobby, so important in this day and age. If you need to catch up on work, head down to the lobby and work from there. The lobby is artistically and tastefully decorated with ample space to put down your work items and start working.

If you do not mind the tight space, make affordable mini hotel Central your lodging property of choice whilst in Hong Kong.

Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
3 Thank CCHSingapore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mini hotel C, Front Office Manager at Mini Hotel Central Hong Kong, responded to this review, June 29, 2014
Dear Our Value guest,

Many thanks for having taken the time to share you feedback about your recent stay at The Mini hotel Central with the tripadvisor.com.

Your review is certainly most helpful to other future travelers who may be less familiar with our hotel and places Hong Kong has to offer.

We look foward to serving you at our hotel in future !

Yours Sincerely,

Albert AU
Front Office Manager
Mini hotel Central
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed June 25, 2014

Pros:
- Hotel is well located
- Clean room
- Decent amenities

Cons:
- Very small room so only choose if traveling light
- Nowhere to leave your luggage
- Not very flexible with early check in / late checkout

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shimal S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mini hotel C, Front Office Manager at Mini Hotel Central Hong Kong, responded to this review, June 26, 2014
Dear Mr. Shimal,

Thank you for having taken the time to share your feedback about your recent stay at
The Mini hotel Central on tripadvisor.com

We are definitely welcome you to our hotel in future !

Yours Sincerely,

Albert AU
Front Office Manager
Mini hotel Central
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hong Kong hotels
Central
Garden View Hong Kong
Garden View Hong Kong
#159 of 718 in Hong Kong
668 reviews
Central
Ovolo Central
Ovolo Central
#20 of 718 in Hong Kong
795 reviews
Sheung Wan
Ibis Hong Kong Central & Sheung Wan Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bishop Lei International House
#153 of 718 in Hong Kong
971 reviews
Sheung Wan
Homy Hotel Central
Homy Hotel Central
#209 of 718 in Hong Kong
38 reviews
Sheung Wan
Butterfly on Hollywood
Butterfly on Hollywood
#91 of 718 in Hong Kong
1,702 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mini Hotel Central Hong Kong? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mini Hotel Central Hong Kong

Property: Mini Hotel Central Hong Kong
Address: No.38 Ice House Street, Lan Kwai Fong, Central, Hong Kong, China (Formerly Ice House Serviced Apartments)
Location: China > Hong Kong > Central
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#5 Best Value Hotel in Hong Kong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Mini Hotel Central Hong Kong 3*
Number of rooms: 183
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, HostelWorld, Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Mini Hotel Central Hong Kong reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ice House Serviced Apartments Hotel Hong Kong
Mini Hotel Central Hong Kong

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing