We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hyatt Regency Hong Kong, Sha Tin
Ranked #67 of 726 Hotels in Hong Kong
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 16, 2009

This hotel has only been open since Feb 2009 and is superb value for money with attentive but not instrusive staff. There is virtually nothing I can fault, but for some the location may be a problem. It is into the New Territories but even so just a 20min ride to downtown on the MTR that is so efficient in Hong Kong. The station is 100m from the Hotel. If you want this kind of standard in a hotel either in downtown Kowloon or the Wanchai Hong Kong area you will be paying twice the price HK$2000 vs 1000. Thoroughly recommend on all points.

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank smaragdpete
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,983)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,420 - 1,426 of 1,983 reviews

Reviewed May 10, 2009

My boyfriend and I stayed at the Hyatt Regency Sha Tin prior to competing in a triathlon in the area. We arrived via the KCR and rode our bike over to the hotel. The hotel is less than 400 meters from the University train station. We typically stay in Central or Kowloon when traveling to Hong Kong, but opted for a room in the New Territories because of its proximity to the race.

From the moment we arrived to the moment we left, the service was superb. The staff was so friendly and accommodating that we felt like royalty. We could not have asked for better treatment.

The rooms in the hotel were spacious, clean and modern. We had a lovely view of the harbor. The bathroom was large and fresh. The restaurant served delicious food and again the service was definitely five stars. Despite a busy mother’s day crowd, the staff attended to every detail. We felt as if we were on a vacation rather than simply visiting Hong Kong for an evening. We plan to return soon, and given the ease of public transportation in Hong Kong and the beautiful and quiet surroundings of the hotel, I am certain we will be back in the New Territories.

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mickiburns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 10, 2009

We arrrived at the Hotel from the Hong Kong Airport - it is directly located at the University Station on the East Rail Line. If you don't have too much luggage it is no problem taking the MTR but with a few suitcases it might be.

The Hotel itself is very nice and brand new. Rooms are very spacious, clean & bright. The Regency Club Floor is very nice and has a great Patio attached to the Lounge where you can enjoy your Drinks & Snacks. Great View onto the Harbour. Staff has been very helpful and friendly during our visit. Also has a great Outdoor Pool and other facilities.

All in all exellent value for Money - it does take you around 20min to take the MTR to get to Kowloon and around 30 min to get to Hong Kong. But to me the Hotel was well worth the travel.

Stayed: May 2009, traveled as a couple
1  Thank swisscook2001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 29, 2009

Upon entrance, like all hotels in HK, a warm welcome by the door staff, which is appreciated as always, since I travel a lot, so any feeling of uneasiness does not help, and they have done well again on that.

Having been many Hyatts around the globe, this is definately a new experience in some ways. It's grand, it's definately at a very comfy price range (I travel for my own business, so a little price-cut with a little more luxury is always welcomed).

After I got myself checked in, went to my room on the 15th floor, got a sea view room, which was relaxing upon arrival. You get your luxuries such as a big LCD screen for TV purposes, a king size bed, nice bathroom with a window with an individual shower compartment. Im gonna bring my lady here next time definately!!! (It's got a window so the bath is viewable to the room!!!)

Jokes aside, everything seems very adequate, the kind of service that you would expect will meet your expectations or even exceed it. I remembered having visited Hyatts in UK specifically, in comparison between the two, i would definately say this one in Shatin is a winner amongst many Hyatts that I have been to.

Shame that I'm not a photo person, but when I do re-visit with my misses, she will bring a camera along and I'll ask her to upload the shots for you all.

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Charles__222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 28, 2009

Hyatt Regency Sha Tin offers excellent facilities. Though the hotel is still in it's soft opening, I see that the facilities to be offered would be very much competitive to other five star hotels in HK. Staff are warm and friendly. The location is quite far though for leisure trips to HK.

Good staff and excellent service!

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank joannejoy9289
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 23, 2009

I was looking forward to the opening of this hotel as I was expecting its price to be low and its facilities to be nice. Indeed this hotel offers excellent value for money and its service is efficient and very quick just like in the Grand Hyatt. The restaurant is quite good and seem always crowded but the pool and spa are not open yet. The hotel is right next to the University MTR Station and it will take you about 30 minutes to go downtown. Basically it's the perfect hotel if you're looking for 5 star facilities with 5 star service at 3 star prices but don't mind the location.

  • Stayed: March 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hsav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 15, 2009

We stayed at the Hyatt from 4/12 to 4/14. The hotel is a new hotel
that was recently opened in February. It is so new that they have yet
to have their grand opening. The gentleman who showed us to our room
told us that they will have their grand opening at the end of April.
They are still doing some finishing touches on the pool and in one of
the restaurants.

The staff is very happy to assist you whatever you wish. Everyone
we've spoken to speaks good English, so communication isn't a problem
if English your primary language.

The hotel itself is brand spanking new. Everything looks polished and
smells new. We stayed in a room with 1 queen bed and had more than
enough room for 2 average sized suit cases. Our room had a nice sized
tv, a small sofa, lounging chair.

I don't know about the double rooms, but in our room, there's a window
that separates the bathroom and sleeping area. You can clearly see
inside the bathroom from the bed. The bathroom itself is very nice
looking. There is both a shower and a tub.

The hotel is located about 30 minutes from the airport and just a few
seconds from the University Station train station.

The buffet breakfast in the main dining area is very good, but rather
expensive. Expect to pay $450 HKD for two people.

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JonandKatie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hong Kong hotels
Courtyard Hong Kong Sha Tin
#63 of 726 in Hong Kong
690 reviews
Royal Park Hotel
#48 of 726 in Hong Kong
1,246 reviews
Tsim Sha Tsui
Hyatt Regency Hong Kong, Tsim Sha Tsui
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Tin Hau
Metropark Hotel Causeway Bay Hong Kong
Mong Kok
Royal Plaza Hotel
Royal Plaza Hotel
#26 of 726 in Hong Kong
4,212 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Regency Hong Kong, Sha Tin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Regency Hong Kong, Sha Tin

Address: No.18 Chak Cheung Street, Sha Tin, New Territories, Hong Kong, China
Phone Number:
Location: China > Hong Kong
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#21 Family Hotel in Hong Kong
#22 Spa Hotel in Hong Kong
#25 Business Hotel in Hong Kong
#39 Romantic Hotel in Hong Kong
#41 Best Value Hotel in Hong Kong
#61 Luxury Hotel in Hong Kong
Price Range: $120 - $309 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hyatt Regency Hong Kong, Sha Tin 4.5*
Number of rooms: 562
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
As the latest urban oasis in Hong Kong, Hyatt Regency Hong Kong, Sha Tin features 430 guestrooms and 132 well-furnished suites specially designed for long stay accommodation. Exciting dining options include Sha tin 18 Chinese restaurant, all-day-dining Cafe, Pool Bar, Tin Tin Bar and Patisserie. Recreational facilities include the luxurious Melo Spa, outdoor heated swimming pool and whirlpool, fitness centre with sauna and steam, tennis court, bike rental and Camp Hyatt for children. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Expedia, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hyatt Regency Hong Kong, Sha Tin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Regency Hong Kong Sha Tin Hotel Hong Kong
Hong Kong Hyatt Regency

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing