We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hyatt Regency Hong Kong, Sha Tin
Ranked #60 of 725 Hotels in Hong Kong
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 24, 2014

This is our second time staying in hotel. We got upgraded to a suite with water view. Took many pictures of day and night views of the sea. Hotel is about an hour from airport by car. This hotel is great for travellers who love open space, and taking walks as there are long trails on both sides of the water. Hotel's lower level has convenient access to transit system which connects to everywhere in the city. Outdoor swimming pool is great, also has nice gym, sauna and steam room facilities. Hotel staff are very helpful.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bonnie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilson L, General Manager at Hyatt Regency Hong Kong, Sha Tin, responded to this reviewResponded August 18, 2014

Dear Bonnie C,

Thanks for the great review sharing your feelings and experience about your stay. We are pleased to hear that both of you enjoyed your room, as well as the services and facilities at our hotel. We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Best regards,

Wilson Lee
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,923)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

913 - 919 of 1,924 reviews

Reviewed July 24, 2014

Firstly, I must say that I am a big fan of Hyatt's

The hotel is a two minute walk to the University station on the MTR which offers a quick get away to the major locations. This is needed as there is nothing around the hotel...

The rooms are large, the restaurant offers a good choice of local and international food. I would always recommend upgrade to the club to take advantage of the free breakfast and good selection of canopies in the evening.

The pool is great, it must be 25m and a nice temperature for swimming

Would I stay again, no. I will go back to TST as it is more central

Stayed: July 2014, traveled on business
Thank LittleMaples
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2014 via mobile

The Hyatt Hotel in Sha Tin is one of my favourite hotels in Hong Kong. From experience, having stayed there many times it is also the most friendly. Located in the New Territories it offers a much more peaceful setting than the hustle and bustle of the Island or Kowloon. It is actually located besides University MTR and one should avoid referring to the hotel as Sha Tin as taxi drivers will sure be confused. It is located next to the Chinese University of HK.

I make my reservation directly with the hotel and always stay on the Regency Club floor. The hotel is super efficient and the Club staff go out of their way to be helpful. Nothing is too much trouble and they are a great aide in planning meetings and working out logistics. The hotel has two good restaurants Shatin 18 which is Chinese and an international buffet restaurant on the lobby level. The bar next to Shatin 18 is a good place to unwind - enjoy a beer and some pub food whilst listening to a Filipina singing her heart out!!

The swimming pool is very pleasant and generally not overcrowded,

If your staying a few days consider the option of having a Harbour facing room - which overlooks the Tolo Harbour and costs approx HK$ 300 extra per night. The Regency Club has indoor and outdoor seating which is magnificent to watch the sundown over the Harbour. Be sure to view the Harbour at night - truly magnificent. Breakfast is served in the morning, and canapés and drinks are served at happy hour.

If you are using a taxi, make sure to ask the hotel staff to explain to the taxi driver in Chinese your destination. Make sure to have 'UNIVERSITY MTR' written on a card in Chinese or photograph the station sign on your mobile phone. Both red (urban) and green (NT) taxi's serve the hotel.

Surely the best hotel in the New Territories, with good access to the Chinese frontier and to the Sai King peninsula. A fraction of the price of more centrally located hotels but with an excellent rail link adjacent and easily accessible. If using MTR - University Exit B is the nearest.

Wifi is good, but at times temperamental requiring you to re-checkin.

My preferred choice unless business dictates otherwise. Relax and enjoy.

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nigel G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilson L, General Manager at Hyatt Regency Hong Kong, Sha Tin, responded to this reviewResponded August 18, 2014

Dear Nigel G,

Thanks for the great review sharing your feelings and experience about your stay. It is our pleasure to know that our rooms and surroundings fulfilled your expectations. Personally I like the live performance at Tin Tin Bar as you do, the singers are amazing! Next time, please also try our newly launched Sha Tin Honey Cake at Patisserie, it is an excellent afternoon delight.

Thanks for your continuous support to our hotel and we look forward to having you again soon.

Best regards,

Wilson Lee
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2014

hotel location is very good, it's just 5 minutes walk from Metro Station, very convenient for you if you wish to travel by Metro, actually in Hongkong it's the best transportation. but it little far from Airport, and seems no shuttle bus to Airport, taxi fee is too high if you go to airport from Hotel.
hotel property is well maintained and hotel room is clean, quite and comfortable, it's better if you can have sea view room, even it's not very open sea view, Club lounge is very comfortable, and very good quality of food.
I'll recommend this hotel both for leisure and business travel, and price is always attractive for Hyatt Regency like this.

Room Tip: you can try to ask have sea view room, that would be more enjoyable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Bandhoot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilson L, General Manager at Hyatt Regency Hong Kong, Sha Tin, responded to this reviewResponded August 18, 2014

Dear Bandhoot,

Thanks for the great review sharing your feelings and experience about your stay. We are glad that our services and facilities met your expectations and made your stay an enjoyable one. Thank you for recommending us to other TripAdvisor users. We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Best regards,
Wilson Lee

General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2014

Newish hotel with large well planned rooms. Child friendly hotel although we did not try the kids club. Customer service was top class in the Regency Club and other staff we encountered throughout the hotel were also professional, courteous and helpful. Fantastic gym, large pool. A shuttle bus runs to Kowloon 4 times a day. We did take the MTR railway a few times which was easy and about 20 minutes to the main shopping districts - although we seemed to be the only tourists travelling on the line apart from university students. We would prefer to stay here again if returning to HK.

Room Tip: Best rooms overlook Sha Tin bay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 386EllieC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilson L, General Manager at Hyatt Regency Hong Kong, Sha Tin, responded to this reviewResponded August 18, 2014

Dear 386EllieC,

Thanks for the great review sharing your feelings and experience about your stay. It is a pleasure to know about your satisfaction regarding our services and facilities and your appreciation of our colleagues. We look forward to your return and hope that you will have the chance to try out Camp Hyatt (our kids’ club) during your next stay, I believe the children will have loads of fun there. See you next time!

Best regards,

Wilson Lee
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2014

enjoyed my stay in Hyatt regency , it's quiet and luxury , the reception's employees are meticulously accurate , friendly and professional , rooms are clean,tidy and have an amazing view which overlook Sha Tin bay and the main freeway ,the limo service is very good , i recommend it mainly for business trips in Hong Kong , but it is far away the downtown and the main attractions in Hong Kong island , Lantau island and the airport , we had to take subway from Sha Tin ( University station) to downtown ( Central or Admiralty Station ) and it takes 45 min. duration one way trip , but overall it deserves a five stars ,

Room Tip: Choose a room in higher floor , better view and away from the freeway noise ,,,
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Maged E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilson L, General Manager at Hyatt Regency Hong Kong, Sha Tin, responded to this reviewResponded July 21, 2014

Dear Maged E,

Thanks for the great review sharing your feelings and experience about your stay. We are glad that our services and facilities were able to make your stay an enjoyable one. Thank you for recommending us to other TripAdvisor users. We looking forward to your return soon!

Best regards

Wilson Lee
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2014

Stayed at this hotel as part of a conference and in that regard it was excellent. Rooms were very big with great desk/business facilities. Gym was one of the best I've seen (great aircon too!) and breakfast had an amazing selection too.

Other than that, location is quite far from central HK with very few dining options in the immediate vicinity of the hotel (other than the hotel itself, which isn't cheap as you can imagine). Probably more of a business rather than holiday hotel if that's what you're after. Awesome for business though.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank RaffiTenenbaum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hong Kong hotels
Courtyard Hong Kong Sha Tin
#68 of 725 in Hong Kong
661 reviews
Royal Park Hotel
#50 of 725 in Hong Kong
1,219 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mong Kok
Royal Plaza Hotel
Royal Plaza Hotel
#25 of 725 in Hong Kong
4,103 reviews
Tin Hau
Metropark Hotel Causeway Bay Hong Kong
Kwun Tong
Dorsett Kwun Tong, Hong Kong
Dorsett Kwun Tong, Hong Kong
#69 of 725 in Hong Kong
453 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Regency Hong Kong, Sha Tin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Regency Hong Kong, Sha Tin

Address: No.18 Chak Cheung Street, Sha Tin, New Territories, Hong Kong, China
Phone Number:
Location: China > Hong Kong
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#22 Spa Hotel in Hong Kong
#24 Family Hotel in Hong Kong
#25 Business Hotel in Hong Kong
#39 Romantic Hotel in Hong Kong
#40 Best Value Hotel in Hong Kong
#56 Luxury Hotel in Hong Kong
Price Range: $137 - $317 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hyatt Regency Hong Kong, Sha Tin 4.5*
Number of rooms: 562
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
As the latest urban oasis in Hong Kong, Hyatt Regency Hong Kong, Sha Tin features 430 guestrooms and 132 well-furnished suites specially designed for long stay accommodation. Exciting dining options include Sha tin 18 Chinese restaurant, all-day-dining Cafe, Pool Bar, Tin Tin Bar and Patisserie. Recreational facilities include the luxurious Melo Spa, outdoor heated swimming pool and whirlpool, fitness centre with sauna and steam, tennis court, bike rental and Camp Hyatt for children. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Orbitz, Hotwire, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hyatt Regency Hong Kong, Sha Tin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Regency Hong Kong Sha Tin Hotel Hong Kong
Hong Kong Hyatt Regency

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing