We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“So glad I treated myself!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hyatt Regency Hong Kong, Sha Tin
Ranked #59 of 718 Hotels in Hong Kong
Certificate of Excellence
Qingdao, China
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“So glad I treated myself!”
Reviewed April 4, 2014

I stayed one night as a personal get-away. It was above my expectations. The hotel staff were very accommodating, giving me an upgrade when there were no rooms of what I had paid for available. The room was spacious, including nice amenities. The breakfast buffet was also well worth the cost. It was easy to navigate from the University stop on the KCR. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SpotsandShots
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,834 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    951
    681
    135
    37
    30
See reviews for
407
383
163
629
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (296)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 6 Contributor
165 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed April 3, 2014

I booked this room with hotel points and chose to stay here only because my points account could not afford a location closer to the city. However I was not disappointed. I received a large room with a king-size bed facing the surrounding hillside. The room itself was quite comfortable and the bathtub was great for an evening soak. The buffet breakfast is expensive but the quality of food was worth the price. I did not try the outdoor pool but it looked nice. Overall the hotel feels quite new and well-appointed. The only downside might be location, which is far away from Hong Kong island (about 30-60 minutes by taxi), though the hotel conveniently sits just on top of the University subway station. On the other hand, the location is much more quiet and peaceful than the city and might be just the break you need from the Hong Kong concrete jungle.

Room Tip: The rooms facing the hills have a modest amount of train noise, but are still quiet enough even for...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jrh825
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilson L, General Manager at Hyatt Regency Hong Kong, Sha Tin, responded to this review, April 8, 2014
Dear jrh825,

Thanks for the great review sharing your feelings and experience about your stay. Considered as one of the best resort hotels in Hong Kong, we are very proud of our spacious rooms and unique location. Next time when you visit, be assure to stay in our Harbour View Room featuring calming views of the Tolo harbor that you will discover another beautiful side of Hong Kong. Look forward to welcoming you back soon!

Best regards,

Wilson Lee
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 3, 2014 via mobile

From booking in to ordering the room service I found very little to complain about this hotel. The rooms are very clean and spacious with a nice standard specification. Plenty of TV channels if that's what you want or a big luxurious bed, I picked the bed and slept like a log. This is a bit of a boring review as there is nothing to complain about and I will stay here again!

Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank 762mickb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunderland, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed March 31, 2014

I stayed in this hotel as I was on a business trip. The hotel's location is not ideal if you want to see attractions in Hongkong as it is not close to everything a tourist would like to see.
I stayed in a Harbour view room and it was amazing, very spacious room and clean. Food was excellent and the Club Lounge has the friendliest staff in the hotel. I would definitely recommend this hotel if you have business meetings in the area and you want a comfortable place to stay. Internet connection has fast connections

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Antony P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed March 23, 2014

My recent stay was the second time I stayed at this hotel within 6 months and not much has changed; clean spacious rooms and below-average service for a Hyatt Regency.

The location has been mentioned a few times already and yes, it is not close to everything a tourist wants to see when visiting Hong Kong (one of the busiest hubs in Hong Kong is Mongkok and that is about a 20 minute train ride away) but if you want a decent size room at a reasonable price, then compromises will have to be made.

The rooms I have stayed in are really spacious with nice natural lighting coming from the windows. There were adequate power points (important for me, maybe not to others) and fast internet. Beds and floors were clean so there are no complaints about the rooms themselves.

The Club Lounge had a nice view of Tolo Harbour and was always stocked with snacks and drinks. The staff looking after the Lounge were probably the only friendly staff in the premise.

Now the not so good, starting with service. When checking in, the male staff at Reception grumpily did the usual process and handed me the keycard afterwards. There was no explanation of anything, i.e. the correct set of elevators I had to take; internet access code, etc. Because of his lack of communication, I had to pay for breakfasts that I was told were complimentary (Diamond Member benefit). Almost all the staff in the hotel looked miserable (exception being the Club Lounge staff) and had no intention of helping.

The other unfortunate issue during my stay was that I was there over a Friday and weekend, and it seems this was a popular hotel for the locals to hold weddings. I was down the hall from a party that had booked a room for the ceremonies and games, so 8am in the morning, there was just a lot of loud screaming and laughing, and this carried on for about 2 hours. Then down at the lobby, it is packed with brides and grooms and photographers. I am happy for the brides and grooms but wish the hotel could somehow control this chaos so it minimises the disturbances to the guest.

Despite my annoyances, I will most likely return, probably not on a weekend though.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Alan L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shenzhen, China
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 21, 2014

truly excellent hotel and Hyatt service for a small price ! located is a little bit poor as it far from everything. We had to travel from the airport to Shatin with the Hyatt limo, experience was ok. Suites are big and spacious. Thank you !!

Room Tip: go for floor 23 suite 02, it is a corner suite, simply awesome
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mark R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilson L, General Manager at Hyatt Regency Hong Kong, Sha Tin, responded to this review, April 6, 2014
Dear Mark R

Thanks for the great review sharing your feelings and experience about your stay. We are glad that you enjoyed staying with us and loved our suites. Hope to see you again soon.

Best regards,

Wilson Lee
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level 6 Contributor
126 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
Reviewed March 19, 2014 via mobile

Am surprised at my less than stellar stay here, given all the glowing reviews. Stayed with my son for 4 nights for his wushu competition, held at Ma On Shan.

Location is the first reason why I would not recommend staying here unless you have business to attend to at the nearby University. The hotel is surrounded by..... Nothing! There is the mtr station, a 7-11 and a Maxim restaurant. That's it. I'm used to staying at Causeway Bay where everything is within a 5minute walk. Here, you have to take a cab or mtr to do anything. The cab to tsim tsa tshui is $140 for 30minutes. Airport is $300 for 45minutes.

Service was uniformly excellent. However housekeeping is a major weak point here. The bedside electrical plug was located rather low to the ground. Hence i had to go on my knees. Lo and behold, I found an old piece of melon right under the bed. I'd just checked in and unpacked. Further looking at the carpet yielded lots of hair and some crusty chocolate stuff. I called guest services. Phyllis the duty manager was super efficient and accommodating. Within 20minutes she moved me to the most basic suite.

The suite was indeed nice but plagued by the same housekeeping issues. Again I found a glittering green gem under the bed. I did not complain as it wasn't food and I really didnt want to unpack and repack again. During my 4 nights here, the super nice lady who cleaned my room missed a piece of trash n the corner of the bathroom. She also missed the dustballs gathering in the bathroom sconce lights. When I was going to hang my towel on the shower wall, I found out the surface along the top of the shower and toilet wall was dusty. The rod for the clothes hangers was similarly covered with dustballs. The door to the fridge has been loose on the hinge as well.

It really is too bad since service was uniformly friendly and professional.

Hongkong has so many hotels that I cannot imagine why a tourist would stay here. I stayed at Hyatt Sha Tin only because of the wushu competition at Ma On Shan. Coupled with the cleanliness issue, I don't think I will be staying here again.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pigletthepug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hong Kong hotels
Courtyard Hong Kong Sha Tin
#71 of 718 in Hong Kong
615 reviews
Tsim Sha Tsui
Hyatt Regency Hong Kong, Tsim Sha Tsui
Royal Park Hotel
#52 of 718 in Hong Kong
1,171 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mong Kok
Royal Plaza Hotel
Royal Plaza Hotel
#27 of 718 in Hong Kong
3,903 reviews
Hung Hom
Harbour Grand Kowloon
Harbour Grand Kowloon
#53 of 718 in Hong Kong
2,899 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Regency Hong Kong, Sha Tin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Regency Hong Kong, Sha Tin

Property: Hyatt Regency Hong Kong, Sha Tin
Address: No.18 Chak Cheung Street, Sha Tin, New Territories, Hong Kong, China
Phone Number:
Location: China > Hong Kong
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#21 Spa Hotel in Hong Kong
#24 Family Hotel in Hong Kong
#25 Business Hotel in Hong Kong
#39 Romantic Hotel in Hong Kong
#54 Best Value Hotel in Hong Kong
#55 Luxury Hotel in Hong Kong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hyatt Regency Hong Kong, Sha Tin 4.5*
Number of rooms: 562
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
As the latest urban oasis in Hong Kong, Hyatt Regency Hong Kong, Sha Tin features 430 guestrooms and 132 well-furnished suites specially designed for long stay accommodation. Exciting dining options include Sha tin 18 Chinese restaurant, all-day-dining Cafe, Pool Bar, Tin Tin Bar and Patisserie. Recreational facilities include the luxurious Melo Spa, outdoor heated swimming pool and whirlpool, fitness centre with sauna and steam, tennis court, bike rental and Camp Hyatt for children. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Ctrip TA, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hyatt Regency Hong Kong, Sha Tin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Regency Hong Kong Sha Tin Hotel Hong Kong
Hong Kong Hyatt Regency

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing