We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good but far away from the city”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hyatt Regency Hong Kong Sha Tin
Ranked #55 of 718 Hotels in Hong Kong
Certificate of Excellence
Munich, Germany
Level Contributor
19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Good but far away from the city”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 15, 2014

I stayed at this hotel several times due to business reasons. Would not chose the place if I were a visitor to HK as it is too far outside of the city center. There is nothing around the hotel itself, you need to take either MRT (2 min walk), use their shuttle bus or take a taxi even if you want to eat outside of the hotel.

The rooms are big, but furniture already a bit worn-out and with stains. Usually I stay in a harbour view room which have a stunning view. This time they booked me into mountain view and this was quite noisy as the train passes by the hotel very frequently. Futhermore you can hear everything from your neighbour's room.
The gym is well-equipped but I hate the icy cold air they blow strongly directly over your body when you use the weight machines. Would suggest to lower the fan speed here.

Service is overall good, although upon departure I called "guest service" for the concierge to pick-up my suitcases, but they never appeared. Had to go down into the lobby and ask the concierge personally.

The breakfast buffet I would rate excellent although the standard coffee and tea they serve both tastes awefully. I ended up ordering espresso instead. But the food quality is excellent and plenty of choices. Service at the breakfast area has improved over the last 2 years I would say.

I went to the spa for a massage once but consider the prices there too high for what it was (1200 - 1400 HKD for a 90 min massage).

Overall very good for a short business trip but not my choice for a private visit.

Room Tip: Book the harbour view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank baitingna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,692 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    876
    632
    124
    32
    28
See reviews for
371
356
151
584
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (293)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong
Level Contributor
106 reviews
80 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 195 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 15, 2014

We booked a river/ sea view room and was given a room at the end of the corridor with panoramic view of the Shing Mun River and Tolo Harbour. The room is cosy and big and I have nothing to complain about. The best thing is that we were given late checkout to 2pm!

The hotel is right next to University MTR station which is about 20 minute ride away from city centre. For those who prefer to escape from the hustle and bustle of city life, it's the best to rent a bike to ride along the Tolo Harbour.

Room Tip: Book a river/sea view room on the top floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank guneingdoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2014

The hotel is a very nice and reasonably priced business hotel with easy access to the island and to Shenzhen. Service was excellent, food in the cafe is very good, and the gym is well appointed for a hotel. There is a nice pool and pool area that I did not use, but it looked nice. The rooms are very good, but show the usual signs of wear - some carpet stains and scrapes on furniture. Bay View rooms have very nice views. Access to the MTR is a two minute walk, making trips easy. There are always taxis available, and trips too and from the airport cost about HKD260 and take less than 40 minutes.

Room Tip: Ask for a bay view room on a high floor away from the elevators.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lucky66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
139 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 13, 2014

We stayed at this hotel for a conference in the close by Chinese University. The harbour view is excellent and relaxing. The hotel is modern with pleasant staff, complimentary internet, and a very good breakfast buffet. The University train stop is close by and allows one yo reach Kowloon/Hong Kong island in 35 minutes.

Room Tip: Harbour view is delightful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Harry R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beijing, China
Level Contributor
26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 9, 2014

This hotel is located adjacent to a university, train and bus station. Such a location has both good and bad aspects and for us the access to transportation was more important than solitude. Also, this hotel is far away from nearly everything, but price was right and MTR is great. Service at the front desk, like all Hyatts was quick and pleasant.

Harborview room had amazing sights when not cloudy - unfortunately cloudy during 90% of our visit, but the 10%, wow. Room itself was nicely furnished with a wonderful, large shower. Wi-Fi free and OK for our needs. The less good things: Bed too hard, towels - quality and quantity less than expected, very few english TV channels (I know this is not the US, but we have more english channels in Tianjin, China).

This hotel 'processes' many groups and so timing in the main restaurant is an essential skill. Breakfast buffet was serviceable, but otherwise unremarkable. Used room service for one meal and it was quick and some of the best fish and chips ever.

Lastly, really communication problems between Concierge and taxis??? Twice the taxi attempted to drop us off at a location other than the intended destination. Not sure if this is a taxi or hotel problem or both, but it definitely needs to be fixed.

Room Tip: Time your breakfast to avoid the rush, either before (better) or after. Harborview room has amazing...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kevin R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 3, 2014

I was staying in this hotel 23-26/02/2014 and have been stayed with them few times prior. They never disappoint me, rooms are big and clean. All staff members were friendly and helpful, close to the train station (3 mins walk). Restaurant served one of the best buffet in Hong Kong.

Room Tip: Join their membership to receive upgrades
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank blueblood2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hong Kong hotels
Royal Park Hotel
#47 of 718 in Hong Kong
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,118 reviews
Courtyard Hong Kong Sha Tin
#71 of 718 in Hong Kong
4.0 of 5 bubbles 570 reviews
Tsim Sha Tsui
Hyatt Regency Hong Kong, Tsim Sha Tsui
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ovolo Southside
#37 of 718 in Hong Kong
4.5 of 5 bubbles 559 reviews
Hung Hom
Harbour Grand Kowloon
Harbour Grand Kowloon
#51 of 718 in Hong Kong
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,791 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Regency Hong Kong Sha Tin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Regency Hong Kong Sha Tin

Property: Hyatt Regency Hong Kong Sha Tin
Address: No.18 Chak Cheung Street, Sha Tin, New Territories, Hong Kong, China
Phone Number:
Location: China > Hong Kong
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#18 Spa Hotel in Hong Kong
#25 Business Hotel in Hong Kong
#25 Family Hotel in Hong Kong
#40 Romantic Hotel in Hong Kong
#50 Luxury Hotel in Hong Kong
#68 Best Value Hotel in Hong Kong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hyatt Regency Hong Kong Sha Tin 4.5*
Number of rooms: 559
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
As the latest urban oasis in Hong Kong, Hyatt Regency Hong Kong, Sha Tin features 559 guestrooms and suites, including 132 well-furnished suites specially designed for long stay accommodation. Exciting dining options include Sha tin 18 Chinese restaurant, all-day-dining Cafe, Pool Bar, Tin Tin Bar and Patisserie. Recreational facilities include the luxurious Melo Spa, outdoor heated swimming pool and whirlpool, fitness centre with sauna and steam, tennis court, bike rental and Camp Hyatt for children. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Priceline, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Ctrip TA, Travelocity, Booking.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hyatt Regency Hong Kong Sha Tin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Regency Hong Kong Sha Tin Hotel Hong Kong
Hong Kong Hyatt Regency

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing