We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel, location not that bad either”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hyatt Regency Hong Kong, Sha Tin
Ranked #67 of 727 Hotels in Hong Kong
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 31, 2014

My wife wants to spend a night with the kid and chose this hotel. Although it appears quite far off from action, it's actually right next to a train station which can whisk you away to Kowloon within minutes. And it's part of the Chinese University so visiting scholars will treasure the convenience.

The room was a pleasant surprise. They upgraded us to a one-bedroom suite, with sprawling views of the Tolo Harbour and the university. Stunning. And it is set up like an apartment, with a small kitchenette with all the amenities and utensils. Very convenient.

What I liked was the service. Check in was a pleasant experience, all smiles which made my kid love the place immediately. Then when we were walking around the property, we inquired where was the pool and gym and children playroom, the attendant just took us up and gave us a walking tour. We were touched.

So if you don't mind escaping from the concrete jungle and prefer a bit of air, a bit of space, but still within reach with convenient transport, Shatin Hyatt is a nice choice.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Yau Baby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilson L, General Manager at Hyatt Regency Hong Kong, Sha Tin, responded to this reviewResponded February 7, 2014

Dear Yau Baby,

Thanks for the great review sharing your experience about your stay. Thank you for recognizing our colleagues, and I am glad that you love the hotel’s beautiful view and comfortable rooms. Our restaurants are also well known in the region, rest assured to visit them next time.

Looking forward to seeing you again soon!

Best regards,

Wilson Lee
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,983)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,026 - 1,032 of 1,983 reviews

Reviewed January 26, 2014

I stayed one night just for sleep.
it's a little far from airport, cost about 300 HKD with toll fee.
but I was so satisfied with hospitality.
even I booked for basic room, I was given to stayed in a suite room.
If I have much time to enjoy hong kong, It's more reasonable to stay since it's much cheaper
than Grand hyatt hong knog.
I had breakfast in a club lounge. nice view!!
I will miss it

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JimRogers1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilson L, General Manager at Hyatt Regency Hong Kong, Sha Tin, responded to this reviewResponded January 28, 2014

Dear JimRogers1982,

Thanks for the great review sharing your feelings and experience about your stay. We are glad to know that you have enjoyed your stay in our hotel, though it is a short one. Hope you will have chance to visit us again, next time when you are here, spend some time exploring our neighborhoods, you will find more than expected.

We look forward to welcoming you back.

Best regards,

Wilson Lee
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 26, 2014


I have had a long experience staying at the Hyatt Regency, the first one dating back to the early 70's where I stayed at this hotel located in Tsim Sha Tsui on the busy street of Nathan Road. Of course, the Hyatt I knew is no longer there but is now on a beautiful peace of land in Shatin where I spent the last couple of days with close friends celebrating a birthday date.
The room I had was very spacious overlooking the harbour.
My friends booked one night at the coffee shop where I had the most amazing buffet dinner : the variety was amazing, the offered sea food most delicious and fresh and that was the case for the remaining food on display.

I was able to renew this fabulous experience the following day at breakfast!

For poeple who are looking for something different while visiting Hong Kong I highly recommend the Hyatt Shatin.

Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
Thank Slim N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 25, 2014

My wife and I stayed here during our travel to HK during the Christmas break. I really liked the hotel - spacious rooms with all amenities, quiet location with a lot of open space all around. Staff was good and very helpful. Beds were large and extremely comfortable. In short, the hotel provided everything you could ask for.

My only concern is the location of the hotel away from the main attractions. Getting to Disneland or the Ropeway can take really long with a number of changes on the metro. The taxis can be expensive especially if you are coming from the central island. The upside is that you get a great hotel to stay in away from the city noise plus you get it at a great price as compared to hotels in the mainland. You decide!

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank guamit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 22, 2014

Have stayed at this hotel a couple of times now and have found it a great place to stay. The rooms are very comfortable and well appointed.
The best thing about this hotel though is the staff, everyone I meet is super helpful.
There is a nice coffee shop on the lobby level which does nice coffee and cakes. It's very handy to the train being next to the station plus if there for work it's easy to get to the border or to Kowloon.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank COLIN W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilson L, General Manager at Hyatt Regency Hong Kong, Sha Tin, responded to this reviewResponded January 28, 2014

Dear COLIN W,

Thanks for the great review sharing your feelings and experience about your stay. It’s our pleasure to welcome you back. Our staffs are committed to providing authentic hospitality and excellent services. Thank you for acknowledging this. Next time when you have time, you may also try our Chinese restaurant Sha Tin 18. We will be happy to recommend you some signature dishes.

We look forward to seeing you back again.

Best regards,

Wilson Lee
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 21, 2014

My friend and I stayed in this hotel for 6 nights late last December. The room is very comfortable and spacious compared to other hotels in Hong Kong.

Even though it is located in Sha Tin, away from city centre, it is not a problem as Hong Kong public transport especially the MTR is cheap and reliable. The hotel is 3 minutes from University MTR station. New World Plaza Sha Tin is 2 MTR station away.

The bus station for buses servicing the New Territory is just beside the MTR station. On weekends, we took a bus directly to Sai Kung.

However, the soap and lotions provided by the hotel is way below par. For a 4 star hotel, I would thought that better quality lotion and shower gel should be provided. From my 3rd night in this hotel, I noticed that the housekeeping failed to put shower gels or items essential for bathing in my room. I have to called the housekeeping for the balance 3 nights to provide me and my friends those items.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sheronlee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilson L, General Manager at Hyatt Regency Hong Kong, Sha Tin, responded to this reviewResponded January 28, 2014

Dear COLIN W,

Thanks for the great review sharing your feelings and experience about your stay. It’s our pleasure to welcome you back. Our staffs are committed to providing authentic hospitality and excellent services. Thank you for acknowledging this. Next time when you have time, you may also try our Chinese restaurant Sha Tin 18. We will be happy to recommend you some signature dishes.

We look forward to seeing you back again.

Best regards,

Wilson Lee
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 21, 2014

My friend and I had a wonderful five-night stay in this hotel in late December 2013. We used it as a quiet base to explore HK, which we hadn't seen for quite a number of years. The nearby MTR station was certainly an advantage as it connected us to downtown HK in about half an hour, and was handy for places such as Sai Kung. As for the hotel itself, we like the nice view from our deluxe twin room, which was pleasantly large, especially by HK standards. Bell-hop was helpful with our luggage on arrival from the airport, and check-in was pleasant and prompt. Front desk was helpful with offbeat queries -- such as where, in the vicinity, we could find a pub to catch the evening's EPL match. All in, apart from the regret that the in-room or onsite TV didn't show the season's soccer matches, we have no complaints. We like the space, the well-designed room, the roomy bathroom, and the understated service. Ah yes, we had a surprising good price for the room -- less than what we would have had to pay for a much smaller room in an older international class four-star hotel in TST.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lalangm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilson L, General Manager at Hyatt Regency Hong Kong, Sha Tin, responded to this reviewResponded January 28, 2014

Dear lalangm,

Thanks for the great review sharing your experience about your stay. Glad to know that you love our guestroom. Exploring New Territories is always exciting; we hope you have also enjoyed your Sai Kung trip. Look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Best regards,

Wilson Lee
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hong Kong hotels
Courtyard Hong Kong Sha Tin
#62 of 727 in Hong Kong
690 reviews
Royal Park Hotel
#48 of 727 in Hong Kong
1,246 reviews
Tin Hau
Metropark Hotel Causeway Bay Hong Kong
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Tsim Sha Tsui
Hyatt Regency Hong Kong, Tsim Sha Tsui
Mong Kok
Royal Plaza Hotel
Royal Plaza Hotel
#26 of 727 in Hong Kong
4,213 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Regency Hong Kong, Sha Tin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Regency Hong Kong, Sha Tin

Address: No.18 Chak Cheung Street, Sha Tin, New Territories, Hong Kong, China
Phone Number:
Location: China > Hong Kong
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#21 Family Hotel in Hong Kong
#22 Spa Hotel in Hong Kong
#25 Business Hotel in Hong Kong
#39 Romantic Hotel in Hong Kong
#47 Best Value Hotel in Hong Kong
#61 Luxury Hotel in Hong Kong
Price Range: $120 - $221 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hyatt Regency Hong Kong, Sha Tin 4.5*
Number of rooms: 562
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
As the latest urban oasis in Hong Kong, Hyatt Regency Hong Kong, Sha Tin features 430 guestrooms and 132 well-furnished suites specially designed for long stay accommodation. Exciting dining options include Sha tin 18 Chinese restaurant, all-day-dining Cafe, Pool Bar, Tin Tin Bar and Patisserie. Recreational facilities include the luxurious Melo Spa, outdoor heated swimming pool and whirlpool, fitness centre with sauna and steam, tennis court, bike rental and Camp Hyatt for children. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Travelocity, Hotwire, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hyatt Regency Hong Kong, Sha Tin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Regency Hong Kong Sha Tin Hotel Hong Kong
Hong Kong Hyatt Regency

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing