We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing experience”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hyatt Regency Hong Kong, Sha Tin
Ranked #58 of 718 Hotels in Hong Kong
Certificate of Excellence
Los Angeles, California
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Disappointing experience”
Reviewed January 12, 2014

As a frequent guest of Hyatt worldwide, I'll have to say that this is one of the worst. While the location is excellent, with it being right at the University train station and surrounded by beautiful views, this hotel lacks overall quality standards. This low quality was evident from the moment I arrived at the hotel.

I arrived at after midnight, with two suitcases in hand. I struggled to work the revolving door, with the front desk clerks looking on. No one came up to help me. This lack of service persisted throughout pretty much my entire stay. For example, when I asked for a shuttle ticket to a nearby train station, they insisted that I should come back 30 mins before the departure time. When I explained that I would not be available to do that at that time, they insisted that this was "company policy". I had to escalate the issue to the next level manager to resolve. This was not the service level I expected from a 5-star hotel.

Then there was the room. Upon entering, I could immediately see that it was not clean. There were cup stains on almost all the table services, and the back splash of the kitchenette was greasy. The refrigerator interior was also not clean. On the first night, I used the bath tub. On the second day, after housekeeping had already cleaned my room, I found that the soap scum from the night before was still there.

Food-wise, the breakfast buffet was uneven. The noodles station was great, but the dimsum dishes were abysmal. The tea was served out of communal teapot, i.e. not freshly made for each guest. Tables were dirty. For the price that they charged (US $30), it was not worth it.

So, all in all, this was a disappointment. I wish Hyatt would exercise a tighter quality control for its overseas hotels. This one definitely does not live up to the Hyatt name based on my past experience with the brand.

Room Tip: Ask for an upgrade to the suite if you have high status. Ask for mountain view But best is to sta...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank siyuen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilson L, General Manager at Hyatt Regency Hong Kong, Sha Tin, responded to this review, January 16, 2014
Dear siyuen,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your recent visit. I am very sorry to learn about your disappointment, please accept our sincere apologies. If you could kindly give us your name, stay dates and your contact email, we would love to hear your feedback with more details. Kindly email me at hongkong.shatin@hyatt.com

Best regards,

Wilson Lee
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,834 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    951
    681
    135
    37
    30
See reviews for
407
383
163
629
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (296)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed January 8, 2014

We stayed here just before Christmas and found it to be a very good choice of hotel for our stay in Hong Kong. Having previously stayed near the airport and in the Nathan road area we decided to try something different. The hotel is on the edge of the new territories in Sha Tin which is a suburban area but quite scenic and hilly.
We travelled to the hotel from the harbourfront area and found that it didn't take very long to get there by train (just over half an hour). The hotel is a very short walk from University MTR station which has a few cafe type restaurants and is also a bustling bus terminus with street food on sale in the evenings. There is a direct lift from street level which is quite easy to find.
The foyer is spacious and has two shops. Our check-in was quick, courteous and efficient and we were given an early check-in to our Club Room which was much appreciated.
Our room was very large and had everything we needed. There was a lot of storage space - no tripping over your suitcase here! The only thing which it seemed to lack was a miirror in the bedroom area, the only one was in the bathroom.The bathroom was very large and private with a bath, separate shower (wall and rainshower type) and also had a shaving/make-up mirror.
Our room was on the 'mountain' side and we found the view to be very pleasant although not as spectacular as the Tolo Harbour side which we saw later in the Club Lounge. We could see the railway line down below but couldn't hear it. The only noise we could hear was from the lifts, a sort of low level sound which was not really loud but just slightly annoying. Other than that there seemed to be good noise insulation, we didn't hear anyhting from other rooms or the corridor.
The Club Lounge was very good with a wide variety of offerings for breakfast (including some hot food) as well as drinks and canapes in the evening, with tea, coffee and soft drinks available during the day. There is a small outdoor area although it was too cold to sit outside during our stay! The staff in general were very attentive. We found the concierge to be particularly helpful with general advice and printing our boarding passes.
During our stay we travelled extensively around Hong Kong but found that it never took very long to get back to the hotel, the MTR train system has very short waiting times and quite fast trains.
At the end of our stay we had a quick check-out and were able to use the hotel shuttle bus to go to the Kowloon Airport Express station. We found one small drawback with this, we thought that with ourselves and others taking luggage the hotel could use a bus with more luggage storage or a trailer. However, this shuttle was much appreciated as it gave us a very easy way to get to the airport for our flight home.
Overall this hotel was a great option and good value; we had a much larger room and more luxurious standard of accommodation than we could have found elsewhere.

Room Tip: All rooms are probably qiuiet but a high floor on either side has good views. The Club Level rooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Harrietah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed January 5, 2014 via mobile

We stayed at the Hyatt from the 30 dec - 2nd Jan 2014.
A family of 5 booked two rooms interconnecting on the club level
Although the location is away from the main tourist area it did not hinder us at all. The hotel Shuttle and Metro are very reliable and efficient.
We spent New Year's Eve at Victoria Harbor and saw the fireworks and managed to get a train back to the hotel at one in the morning
Regarding the note only downside for us personally was that if you on club floors you can't have the breakfast buffet downstairs it is not included, you can only have it in the club lounge which unfortunately gas very limited options

Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Ebi P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed December 31, 2013

The hotel is nice. Spacious rooms. Nicely setup and professional 24/7 room service.
However, the location of the hotel is pretty far from the city and other activities. It is close to a MTR station. However, it is an hour to downtown stations with 3-4 changes of trains, or ofcourse 200-250 by taxi.

The buffet is quite expensive too. Dinner is 500HKD + 10% service charge while breakfast is 200-300 from what I remember.

Other than the location and breakfast it was a decent hotel and a nice stay.

Room Tip: No breakfast or restaurants nearby. Buffet costs 200-300 HKD per person
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank M A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greensboro, North Carolina
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
Reviewed December 29, 2013

We usually stay at Royal Park in Sha Tin, but tried the Hyatt because of a special promotion. The rooms were nice, the gym was adequate, but the shocker was the buffet charge. About $80 USD per person!!!! When we questioned the $240+ charge for three people, the staff seemed embarrassed, and responded that there were many more affordable restaurants in the area but did not offer to make any adjustment or recommendation. We are accustomed to overpriced hotel food, and should have asked about the buffet charge but had no idea it would be this expensive.

The Hyatt was a short (outside) walk to the train station, the accommodations were decent and the food quality was fine, but certainly not worth the price-- we will not stay here again. In our opinion, there are other hotels more convenient to transportation, good retail, and affordable dining options.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 742SusanT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Germany
Level 6 Contributor
99 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed December 27, 2013

The hotel is located in the new territories yet excellently connected to the city as a metro stop is right next to it. The building is next to the stunning campus of the Chinese University of Hong Kong. This pleasant 5 star hotel has a great view of the green hills or the sea, quite refreshing if you want to escape the crowds and narrow streets of downtown Hong Kong. The rooms are spacious and comfortable, the restaurants are truly excellent. There is a good fitness club and a very nice heated outdoor pool, which allows for relaxing after work or shopping. It really feels like an oasis.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Batta83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilson L, General Manager at Hyatt Regency Hong Kong, Sha Tin, responded to this review, January 1, 2014
Dear Batta83,

Thanks for the great review sharing your feelings and experience about your stay. Glad to know that you love the natural landscape around our hotel. We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Best regards,

Wilson Lee
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Osaka, Japan
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 26, 2013

Having stayed in other Hyatt Regency hotels before, we were disappointed by this hotel.

I have many things I would like to write but will focus on the housekeeping service. It really needs improvement.

The room was big and nice, but it was cold. Even though we turned the air conditioning on and set the temperature very high, no warm air would come out. When we called housekeeping, they sent a person to the room who checked if we knew how to use/set the air conditioner. The person in charge of housekeeping told us that the air conditioner was working fine that we should wait for a while. After we told her that we had waited all the night, she sent an engineer to check it. The engineer also said that there was not any problem with the air conditioner.
We then asked for a room change and they put us through reservations. The person who answered said that if we wanted we could move to a lower floor room but it would not change much. He explained that it was the ventilation system of the rooms that let cold air in from outside. When we asked why no warm air would come out from the air conditioner he offered to send a heater to our room. I asked him to confirm me that the rooms don't have a heating system so that I could write a review about it and he did, adding that he was sorry about it.

After the explanation that the reservations person gave to us, we wondered why the housekeeping lady had sent the maid and then the engineer to the room making us wait half an hour each time if she knew no warm air would come out from the air conditioner...

One day they forgot to leave us the complimentary bottled water in the room. When we came back and noticed it we had to wait 30 minutes and call again for it to be delivered.

Other areas also need improvement. If you stay in this hotel expecting Hyatt Regency standards you will be disappointed.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Naomis_experiences
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hong Kong hotels
Courtyard Hong Kong Sha Tin
#71 of 718 in Hong Kong
615 reviews
Tsim Sha Tsui
Hyatt Regency Hong Kong, Tsim Sha Tsui
Royal Park Hotel
#52 of 718 in Hong Kong
1,170 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mong Kok
Royal Plaza Hotel
Royal Plaza Hotel
#27 of 718 in Hong Kong
3,899 reviews
Hung Hom
Harbour Grand Kowloon
Harbour Grand Kowloon
#53 of 718 in Hong Kong
2,897 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Regency Hong Kong, Sha Tin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Regency Hong Kong, Sha Tin

Property: Hyatt Regency Hong Kong, Sha Tin
Address: No.18 Chak Cheung Street, Sha Tin, New Territories, Hong Kong, China
Phone Number:
Location: China > Hong Kong
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#20 Spa Hotel in Hong Kong
#24 Family Hotel in Hong Kong
#25 Business Hotel in Hong Kong
#39 Romantic Hotel in Hong Kong
#52 Best Value Hotel in Hong Kong
#54 Luxury Hotel in Hong Kong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hyatt Regency Hong Kong, Sha Tin 4.5*
Number of rooms: 562
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
As the latest urban oasis in Hong Kong, Hyatt Regency Hong Kong, Sha Tin features 430 guestrooms and 132 well-furnished suites specially designed for long stay accommodation. Exciting dining options include Sha tin 18 Chinese restaurant, all-day-dining Cafe, Pool Bar, Tin Tin Bar and Patisserie. Recreational facilities include the luxurious Melo Spa, outdoor heated swimming pool and whirlpool, fitness centre with sauna and steam, tennis court, bike rental and Camp Hyatt for children. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hyatt Regency Hong Kong, Sha Tin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Regency Hong Kong Sha Tin Hotel Hong Kong
Hong Kong Hyatt Regency

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing