We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exceptional stay with an excellent view”

Best prices for your stay
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hyatt Regency Hong Kong Sha Tin
Ranked #57 of 718 Hotels in Hong Kong
Certificate of Excellence
Texas
Level 5 Contributor
37 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Exceptional stay with an excellent view”
Reviewed August 25, 2013

Three days in Hong Kong in the Sha Tin Hyatt Regency. Great hotel. Rooms are huge, comfortable, quiet and exceptionally clean. Bathrooms are uber large (bigger than my office). Separate toilet room, shower, sitting/make up area, full size tub with a window that looks out into the room. The shower was fantastic with a monsoon shower head in the ceiling. The only issue I had was that the shower did not drain very well and, if you used the monsoon shower head, the shower stall would fill up slightly (told the front desk about it when checking out).

The hotel has all the amenities expected. Free WiFi (thanks!), huge work out room, very large pool, hot tub, sauna full service restaurant, bar. Prices were a bit high in my opinion, but probably on par for the general area. Ate in restaurant for breakfast (twice) and dinner (once). Ate the breakfast buffet (285 HKD) which I felt was a bit steep, but you could eat yourself into a coma with all the food offered. Great Chinese dishes along with the regular standards.

One downside for some might be with location. The hotel is located some distance from downtown along Sha Tin Hoi. Not convenient if you have business in or want to tour downtown Hong Kong. Our business was located in nearby new town area so this was very convenient for us. The hotel is located next to the University train stop. A great, convenient place to hop a train to downtown. Outside of the train station are a myriad of buses and cabs you can catch to take you anywhere you like. Just make sure you take the right cab (red vs green). Ask the hotel concierge for help.

Room Tip: Rooms on the east side face Sha Tin Hoi cove. Great view of the water and skyline of Sha Tin across...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilson L, General Manager at Hyatt Regency Hong Kong Sha Tin, responded to this review, September 4, 2013
Dear Aluminut,

Thanks for the great review sharing your feelings and experience about your stay. We are extremely delighted to know that you have thoroughly enjoyed our rooms, facilities and food. Look forward to welcoming you back to Sha Tin.

Best regards,

Wilson Lee
General Manager
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

1,803 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    931
    672
    134
    35
    31
See reviews for
395
378
161
622
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (295)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
San Jose, California
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed August 14, 2013

We stayed 14 nights at the hotel with 2 adults and 2 kids. We had two connecting rooms (1 queen in one and 2 singles in the other) and ocean view. I would say that this is the best ocean view in HK. I had ocean view rooms of the Victoria Harbour before and I find this ocean view to be much more "peaceful", a true place to relax after a busy day. The HK Marine Police base is across from the hotel and you can watch police launches come and go every hour. It is so nice and relaxing to wake up with a view of the peaceful ocean. The rooms were very spacious and the bathrooms were roomy. There are two small café type nearby that you can buy breakfast, lunch, and afternoon snacks (a must have for us). We speak the language, but the MTR station is a college town station so I assume they speak some English. That would be cheaper than the hotel restaurants and can give you some variety. The main drawback is that as a MTR station, there is a gauntlet of smokers to cut through at times. Again, we expect that and it is tolerable. Shatin mall (New Town Plaza) is about two stations away where a nice Starbucks and other small cafes are available for more breakfast choices. The New Town Plaza also has great lunch and dinner choices as well, including Ramen, Japanese sushi, Cantonese, and Shanghainese food. I believe the hotel rents out bikes, but we did not use them. We rented them at the Plover Cove Reservoir. We did eat at the hotel restaurant famous for their Peking duck. Unfortunately, maybe because we were late for our reservation (we got stuck in traffic jam), the duck was unimpressive. The service was good, but that's expected since it was expensive to eat there. Overall, this is a place I would go to with kids in HK. The service from the front desk to the bell desk to the housekeeping were fantastic. Apparently, this is also a favorite haunt for local young people getting married. The locale is out of the way, but it gives a resort feel that you don't have anywhere else. BTW, if you have kids, many of the HK museums are free on Wednesday, including my kids' favorite, The HK Science Museum. The items there are new and there are staff monitoring to make sure things don't get out of hand. A ride from the MTR from the hotel to the end of the line with a short walk will get you there. If you want a relaxing vacation, this is a place to be.

Room Tip: Get an ocean view. It costs more, but way worth it. However, it is not Victoria Harbour so don'...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilson L, General Manager at Hyatt Regency Hong Kong Sha Tin, responded to this review, August 19, 2013
Dear baseballfreak,

Thanks for the great review sharing your feelings and experience about your stay. I must agree that our suites are unbeatable and that the calming Tolo Harbour is a quiet beauty tucked away in the green side of Hong Kong! Thanks again for the encouraging review, we hope to see you again soon!

Best regards,

Wilson Lee
General Manager
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona, Spain
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed August 12, 2013

As the title suggests this is one of my favourite hotels worldwide which after 5 years and many visits still never fails to impress.

First the negatives - after all nothing is perfect right? The hotel is quite far from pretty much everything. The airport is a good 20 to 30 minute taxi ride from the airport and equally as far from the CBD via the MTR with a single change required to get you into Central or Nathan road areas. It is however very possible to get here very cheaply by public bus as the main bus station and the MTR for that matter are right outside the hotel. That position though makes the hotel an excellent choice if you are visiting Shenzhen as that same MTR station will take you straight to the border crossing at Lo Wu in around 15 to 20 minutes. Unlike the other Hyatt on HK island this hotel does not offer an airport shuttle bus which is a shame.

The hotel itself doesn't stick out in the way that many HK hotels do. It is a fairly modest glass fronted building which oodles simplicity and quality - yet at an affordable price. The lobby is airy and spacious and I have always found the staff to be very courteous.

I have stayed in both standard and deluxe doubles (with king bed) and a suite (free upgrade) and although there is an obvious difference in size the furnishings and layout are very similar with all rooms being of high quality and very spacious - especially by Hong Kong standards. Possibly the best feature of any of the rooms is the bathroom which contains a walk-in shower and large separate bath. The bathroom as a glass wall with blind which while unusual makes everything seem just that little bit bigger and more inviting. Cleanliness and attention to detail is very clearly important here as I have never had to comment or complain about anything in this area.

The beds are king beds of a very high standard. Comfort has never been an issue.

As far as the rooms are concerned the only other point to note is the cost of, and somewhat flaky reliability of the wireless internet. I tend to select an business package which includes internet, limited laundry, and breakfast at no additional cost. Without this package as with many HK hotels the internet would be extremely expensive. As too would the breakfast which remains among the best I have had anywhere.

Breakfast then is a typical buffet with a huge choice of hot and cold options, western, oriental, and others, with various dishes made to order. Coffee is fresh rather than machine made and juices are squeezed there and then. The breakfast then, though expensive if paid for separately, is of a standard I would expect from a hotel of this class.

As you may guess then I have no problems recommending this hotel. While it is more expensive than others in HK I think it would be difficult to find something in the same class for cheaper.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilson L, General Manager at Hyatt Regency Hong Kong Sha Tin, responded to this review, August 19, 2013
Dear ACNM,

Thanks for the great review sharing your feelings and experience about your stay. We are thrilled to hear that we are one of your favourite hotels you have been to. And you may be pleased to know that we now offer complimentary internet access to all of our residential guests. Thanks for recommending to your friends, we will do our best to make their stay as memorable as yours. Hope to have you back with us soon!

Best regards,

Wilson Lee
General Manager
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 11, 2013

This is my second time staying at this hotel. The first time was in May 2012. This time we are given a room with a different layout and there is no fridge in the room ! The furniture looked much older in just a year time, with chipped corner and faded varnish. Some inconsiderate guest leaves their wet swimsuit in the sauna to dry, occupying the benches. The hotel staff should do something about such behaviour as it affect other guest, but they did not.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 10, 2013 via mobile

Located far north nearer to China border than to Hk island but close to mtr and bus stop and provide shuttle to hyatt tst and kowloon mtr, shatin bus st and else, so nothing to worry. For us its better because the surrounding areas is montainous and near the tolo harbour so the air quality was much better than in central areas.
The room 38sqm has spacious well equipt bathroom.
The facilities such as garden, kids playground, fitness, pool, jacuzzi, sauna, whirlpool were very nice and good quality. Also generously provide everything you need for swim and cleaning after.
The small restaurant next to the mtr station serve good foods but close at about 8:30 pm.
Service was very helpfull especially Miss Angela and Miss Winter (sorry if i forgot your name) although some male concierge staff was not so child friendly.
The sitting area in lobby was too small and provide only couples of sofa to waiting guests.
No direct bus to the airport was major disadvantages, need to take it from Shatin bus st. Will stay again if the price is good, under HK$1k.

This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Doha, Qatar
Level 6 Contributor
149 reviews
83 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 136 helpful votes
Reviewed August 3, 2013

As others appear to have experienced, staying at this hotel was not intended! I had asked to stay at the Hyatt Regency in TST but had mistakenly (through no fault of the hotel) been booked into the one in Sha Tin instead. It caused no major problems, although it does take about 25-30 minutes to drive into Hong Kong Island. The hotel is located right next to a subway station so that is an alternative. One word of warning, I spent a number of nights out late in Kowloon and trying to get a taxi back to the hotel was a nightmare as no-one appeared to know where the place was! However, that aside, the hotel is perfectly pleasant. The bedroom was a good size with a nice spacious en-suite. It is also easy to access the free WiFi throughout the hotel. There is a spa and hairdressers on site, both of which are good. There is an outdoor swimming pool although I was unable to use it owing to weather warnings. The breakfast buffet was excellent although I did not think much of the food that was served from the in-room dining menu. General service throughout the hotel was excellent as the staff were very attentive.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Schaumburg, Illinois
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed July 31, 2013

I usually stay in TST, but this place was great. Fantastic service, very nice room. ( I received a free upgrade with apologies!?)
I was concerned about location but metro stop made getting into town easy.
Breakfast was outstanding, I wish I had been there more than one night to enjoy the university area restaurants.
Also convenient to enter mainland.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilson L, General Manager at Hyatt Regency Hong Kong Sha Tin, responded to this review, August 7, 2013
Dear Bill F,

Thanks for the great review sharing your feelings and experience about your stay. Welcome to Sha Tin! Happy to know that our rooms, restaurants and convenient location were able to make your trip in Hong Kong an enjoyable one. Please stay with us longer next time. Looking forward for your return!

Best regards,

Wilson Lee
General Manager
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hong Kong hotels
Courtyard Hong Kong Sha Tin
#69 of 718 in Hong Kong
606 reviews
Royal Park Hotel
#53 of 718 in Hong Kong
1,156 reviews
Tsim Sha Tsui
Hyatt Regency Hong Kong, Tsim Sha Tsui
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mong Kok
Royal Plaza Hotel
Royal Plaza Hotel
#27 of 718 in Hong Kong
3,838 reviews
Fortress Hill
Harbour Grand Hong Kong
Harbour Grand Hong Kong
#56 of 718 in Hong Kong
3,271 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Additional Information about Hyatt Regency Hong Kong Sha Tin

Property: Hyatt Regency Hong Kong Sha Tin
Address: No.18 Chak Cheung Street, Sha Tin, New Territories, Hong Kong, China
Phone Number:
Location: China > Hong Kong
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#20 Spa Hotel in Hong Kong
#25 Family Hotel in Hong Kong
#25 Business Hotel in Hong Kong
#40 Romantic Hotel in Hong Kong
#53 Luxury Hotel in Hong Kong
#66 Best Value Hotel in Hong Kong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hyatt Regency Hong Kong Sha Tin 4.5*
Number of rooms: 562
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
As the latest urban oasis in Hong Kong, Hyatt Regency Hong Kong, Sha Tin features 430 guestrooms and 132 well-furnished suites specially designed for long stay accommodation. Exciting dining options include Sha tin 18 Chinese restaurant, all-day-dining Cafe, Pool Bar, Tin Tin Bar and Patisserie. Recreational facilities include the luxurious Melo Spa, outdoor heated swimming pool and whirlpool, fitness centre with sauna and steam, tennis court, bike rental and Camp Hyatt for children. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Agoda, Asiatravel.com Holdings, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hyatt Regency Hong Kong Sha Tin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Regency Hong Kong Sha Tin Hotel Hong Kong
Hong Kong Hyatt Regency

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing