We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Comfortable and luxurious stay in peaceful area” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hyatt Regency Hong Kong Sha Tin

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hyatt Regency Hong Kong Sha Tin
Ranked #49 of 699 Hotels in Hong Kong
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level Contributor
26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Comfortable and luxurious stay in peaceful area”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

Located in Sha Tin, it's away from the hustle and bustle of busy Hong Kong, yet still very convenient as it’s a 2 minute walk to the MTR station on the West Island line. It’s surrounded by some greenery with a beautiful garden, something that is quite rare for HK hotels. Our room was spacious, clean, very comfortable and prices were absolutely reasonable for the quality of the rooms, customer service and the close proximity to the MTR station. One of the restaurants “Sha Tin 18” does beautifully cooked Cantonese and Peking cuisine and also with reasonable prices when compared to the quality of food. And since I come from a food background, I really do recommend them and urge you to try food! Also had one of the best beef brisket soup noodles I’ve ever tasted in my life, ordered via room service.

Everything ticked the box for me at this hotel - so much so that we chose to get married here in Dec 2012!

Room Tip: Choose the rooms facing the mountains and overlooking their lovely garden and pool area!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lulula17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilson L, General Manager at Hyatt Regency Hong Kong Sha Tin, responded to this review, April 24, 2013
Dear Lulula17,

Thank you so much for your wonderful review. We're glad that you like our location and restaurant. Do come back and visit us again in December for your anniversary. We hope to see you again!

Best regards

Wilson Lee
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,384 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    706
    537
    93
    28
    20
See reviews for
298
286
127
474
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (265)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong
Level Contributor
49 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

This is the first time i stay in the Regency Suite. The room is big with full amenities.

Guest can access to the Lounge all day to enjoy snacks and drinks. The service from checking in is very nice. Efficient and polite.

The only one things is not good - the customers service in replying email enquiry is very slow. at least wait for 24 hours for every email

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank carykong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
42 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013

After a week of busy days working, we arrived at the Hyatt Sha Tin eager for a relaxing weekend. The hotel delivered.

Although check-in at the 25th floor club level is a bit tedious. Why not just check-in members at the main counter? It would have been easier for us. However, once we got settled, we left the hassle behind.

Dinner in the cafe was delicious. Fresh salads, steamed veggies, and perfectly roasted prime rib. Add to that, two expertly made dry martini's, and we were blissful.

Next morning, we swam two kilometers in the beautiful pool with a lovely view of the surrounding mountains. Then up to the club level for breakfast. Fresh fruit, nice assortment of breads and cheeses, robust tea, and freshly ground coffee.

It's Sunday. Do we take the train thirty minutes into HK SOHO? Nah, we're settling in with a good book. Aahhhh....

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JohnSturtevant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
43 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

Overall pretty good. By HK standards the room was pretty big and the bathroom in particular was spacious and high quality. We ordered room service three times and each time were very impressed by the speed of service and quality of food (not often that room service food arrives whilst still hot!) Also, the room service menu is quite conveniently priced. On the flip side, the buffet in the main restaurant was VERY expensive, $550 per head plus 10% then an extra $68 per head for soft drinks puts it up there with some of the more highly priced venues in HK (which would usually include free-flow bubbly)

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Eddseven
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo
Level Contributor
32 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

Booked and received a regency suite.
The hotell is in New Territories, so it is about a 20 minutes ride with the MTR to Mong Kok or Victoria Harbour.
The nearby MTR station is a 5 minutes walk or less from the hotell.
The hotel is in a quiet area, so if you do not need to be in central Hong Kong, this is a nice alternative.
Room and view was very nice. Club access was included in the rate, but the club was too crowded during meal hours, and as a result the service was not satisfactory.
I have stayed here several times, both on the harbour and on the mountain side, and both sides are fine. Overall a very good stay.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank driverxx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilson L, General Manager at Hyatt Regency Hong Kong Sha Tin, responded to this review, April 18, 2013
Dear driverxx,

Thank you very much for your 5-star review, and for staying with us several times. We are glad to know that you appreciate our location, and the fact that we are not too far from the city. Looking forward to your next visit.

Best regards,
Wilson Lee,
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

Excellent service on arrival, very friendly staff, nice to be out of the busy city of Hong Kong. Had a lovely room overlooking the harbour, MTR is 5 mins from the hotel, very convenient, Enjoyed the spa and swimming spool which was exceptional. A lovely place to relax but still be able to travel daily into my favourite city without any problems. Will definitely be going back.

Room Tip: Rooms over looking the harbour.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank RJarvisCapeTown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilson L, General Manager at Hyatt Regency Hong Kong Sha Tin, responded to this review, April 12, 2013
Dear RJarvisCapeTown
Thank you very much for taking the time to write a 5-star review for our hotel. We are very happy to know that you had enjoyed your second stay with us. Look forward to welcoming you back soon!
Best regards
Wilson Lee
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karachi, Pakistan
Level Contributor
20 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

The hotel is nice but away from all the hustle and bustle. I had to take a cab to go for a dinner outside hotel and drive is around 30 minutes. There is a train station near by but overall the location of the hotel is not good. The vicinity and area around the hotel is quite peaceful.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank doctorfaraz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hong Kong hotels
Royal Park Hotel
#46 of 699 in Hong Kong
4.5 of 5 stars 986 reviews
Courtyard Hong Kong Sha Tin
#69 of 699 in Hong Kong
4.0 of 5 stars 469 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hung Hom
Harbour Grand Kowloon
Harbour Grand Kowloon
#45 of 699 in Hong Kong
4.5 of 5 stars 2,480 reviews
Ovolo Aberdeen Harbour
#57 of 699 in Hong Kong
4.5 of 5 stars 576 reviews
Sheung Wan
Hotel LBP
Hotel LBP
#39 of 699 in Hong Kong
4.5 of 5 stars 852 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Regency Hong Kong Sha Tin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Regency Hong Kong Sha Tin

Property: Hyatt Regency Hong Kong Sha Tin
Address: No.18 Chak Cheung Street, Sha Tin, New Territories, Hong Kong, China
Phone Number:
Location: China > Hong Kong
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#16 Spa Hotel in Hong Kong
#25 Family Hotel in Hong Kong
#25 Business Hotel in Hong Kong
#34 Best Value Hotel in Hong Kong
#40 Romantic Hotel in Hong Kong
#47 Luxury Hotel in Hong Kong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hyatt Regency Hong Kong Sha Tin 4.5*
Number of rooms: 559
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
As the latest urban oasis in Hong Kong, Hyatt Regency Hong Kong, Sha Tin features 559 guestrooms and suites, including 132 well-furnished suites specially designed for long stay accommodation. Exciting dining options include Sha tin 18 Chinese restaurant, all-day-dining Cafe, Pool Bar, Tin Tin Bar and Patisserie. Recreational facilities include the luxurious Melo Spa, outdoor heated swimming pool and whirlpool, fitness centre with sauna and steam, tennis court, bike rental and Camp Hyatt for children. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, HotelTravel.com, Agoda, Priceline, Travelocity, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Odigeo, Orbitz and Hotwire so you can book your Hyatt Regency Hong Kong Sha Tin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Regency Hong Kong Sha Tin Hotel Hong Kong
Hong Kong Hyatt Regency

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing