We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good base out of the main city area”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hyatt Regency Hong Kong Sha Tin
Ranked #57 of 718 Hotels in Hong Kong
Certificate of Excellence
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Good base out of the main city area”
Reviewed April 10, 2013

Stayed at the hotel at the start of our Far East tour, arriving from London. The hotel is distant from the airport and we booked a limo to take us there - the service was very good. The check in was smooth - we had 2 suites on the upper far side of the tower - with really stunning views over the water. The rooms were enormous by normal standards with a bedroom, ensuite, living room /kitchenette. Well appointed with flat screen and other white goods. The breakfast was fantastic with huge offering and choices of cuisine. The evening meals was good but the menu somewhat less full than I expected, but we were satisfied. The hotel is right by the University area and the MTR is literally next door - giving access to other destinations in the city. Also notable that the hotel was being used for weddings and receptions - 2 whilst we were there. A good choice for a quiet and enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilson L, General Manager at Hyatt Regency Hong Kong Sha Tin, responded to this review, April 12, 2013
Dear Paul B
Thank you for taking the time to write a 5-star review. We are glad that you enjoyed staying with us, as well as enjoyed breakfast. We hope to see you again soon.
Best regards
Wilson Lee
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,769 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    915
    660
    130
    33
    31
See reviews for
387
370
160
609
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (295)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed April 9, 2013

My husband and I stayed at this hotel on 3/19/2013. The room we had was a suite. The view from the hotel room is magnificent. The hotel staffs, both the front desk and the restaurant, were genuine, friendly, polite and highly professional. The front office manager, Mr. Godfrey Kan, was extremely helpful and very friendly. The hotel room is meticulous and super clean. Public transportation is very close by. It is just a short 5 min walk to the train station(University MTR station), bus station and taxi station. We also had a dinner buffet at the hotel restaurant. They offered a lot of different varieties of food. The dessert selections were plentiful. We had a very full and satisfied stomach when we walked out of the restaurant. From my point of view, this is an above and beyond 5 stars hotel. I would highly and strongly recommend this hotel to everyone.

Room Tip: Get the room with the ocean view. You won't regret it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kitty T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilson L, General Manager at Hyatt Regency Hong Kong Sha Tin, responded to this review, April 12, 2013
Dear smt8
Thank you very much for your 5-star review. We are delighted to hear that you have enjoyed your stay, as well as our buffet at Cafe. Your compliments have given us encouragement to continue exceeding our guests’ expectations. We look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Best regards
Wilson Lee
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
149 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed April 9, 2013

Yes, this is not in the centre of town, but out in the New Territories, or the Chinese University of Hong Kong. ut eing right next to the East Rail station, this hotel is within reach of Kowloon. There is also a large shopping mall in nearby Shatin, which has quite a lot of medium to high end merchandise as well as eateries. The hotel concierge can arrange tours if you like. Rooms are Hyatt standard and comfortable with amenities, and the Chinese restaurant on the premises is famous. If you can get a seaview room you will see the Tolo Harbour.

Room Tip: Pay a bit more for a harbour view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank eymwonder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilson L, General Manager at Hyatt Regency Hong Kong Sha Tin, responded to this review, April 12, 2013
Dear eymwonder
Thank you very much for your review. I agree that our hotel location may sound a bit far, but we are very easily accessible via the MTR rail line. Our Chinese restaurant Sha Tin 18 is a destination in itself. We hope to see you back soon.
Best regards
Wilson Lee
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
siem reap
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 8, 2013

I was meeting a friend in Hyatt . The hotel is in the best of surroundings and being in club floor 25th floor, the view was superb from every where , room , bedroom , lounge......and the best services ...it was one of the best experiences I had and ..guess what my friend eventually ended up being my girl friend.

Room Tip: The rooms facing the sea are especially with a better view n those facing the hill are not bad eithe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank camkash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yaounde, Cameroon
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 7, 2013

My husband and my six year old spent 5 nights at the Hyatt, this was a wonderful stay. The rooms were spacious and nicely decorated, very clean and well equipped with all the amenities one needs when in Hong Kong. Comfortable beds, nice pillows, lots of light in the room etc etc. The only down side is the storage for suitcases and space for cloths, but its nothing to ruin a nice holiday.

The Breakfast was generous, with all the variety, from brown bread, salmon, fresh fruits, English breakfast to chinese dim sums. In 5 days, we did not get bored of breakfast and were able to eat healthy. The coffee was also very good.

The staff were attentive, helpful but not necessarily in your face, the gym, pool area, bar area etc were also very nice and we enjoyed making the most of "chilled out time".

I would recommend this hotel to anyone who appreciates good sleep and great service.

Room Tip: Aim to get the rooms at the higher floor, either with the mountain view or the sea view, either are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank shinunakarume
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilson L, General Manager at Hyatt Regency Hong Kong Sha Tin, responded to this review, April 12, 2013
Dear shinunakarume
Thank you very much for the great review. We are happy to learn that you and your family have enjoyed a 5-night stay with us. Thank you for the compliments to our associates, which will be passed on to the team. We look forward to seeing you back soon.
Best regards
Wilson Lee
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong
Level Contributor
29 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed April 5, 2013

We had a Mountain View King which size was decent and fitted with accessible facilities inside the bathroom. Perfect for elderly people or those who have accessibility needs. I asked for an anti-slippery floor mat for the shower area and received one from the housekeeping in no time.

The room was overlooking the swimming pool / recreation area below and had an open view of the mountain at the back of the hotel. Very comfy, bright and quiet.

The cafe in the lobby also served buffet lunch/dinner with a wide selection of food. A la carte is also available until rather late at night.

My experience with the reservation department was also pretty impressive. Courteous staff noted my special requests and responded very quickly after making necessary arrangements with the front desk. Check-in was speedy.

I have been to quite a number of 5-star hotels around the world (including the 7-star Burj Arab in Dubai) and I can say this Hyatt property is one of the best value you can get at this price level (less than HKD1,200 or around USD150 for a standard room), whether of the Hyatt Group or among other hotels.

Room Tip: Accessible rooms are located next to the elevator and only come with a King bed.
See more room tips
Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Zungyaci
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich, Germany
Level Contributor
80 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed April 3, 2013

Stayed there more than 6 times in Hyatt Regency Sha Tin. It's a one of the brand new Hyatt hotels in Hong Kong. Location is in New Territories area, around 30 mins by taxi from Hong Kong island Central. There is a MTR stop 'University' 2 mins walk from the hotel. There is only a 7-11 at the station. No cafe or mall near by the hotel. You have to take the MTR to Shatin Town Plaza to explore. There you can find many places to eat and shops.

The hotel is huge, spacious lobby, and hotel room in two high rises building. As Hyatt passport member they upgraded me to a Suites facing to the Hill. The room is huge, bedroom and living room in separate area. I would say it's a huge room. Very clean and everything up to standard. There is also a kitchen with dishwasher and microwave, and a sink. It's kind of like service apartment Suite.

Breakfast is very nice, fresh juice . Food selection from East to West. There is a famous bakery selling apple pie, must try! Lunch is also very nice there if you like Dim Sum dumplings.

At night there is nothing to do nearby. You must take a taxi or train in and out from the City.

I like the outdoor swimming pool there and hot Jacuzzi in the changing room. It's good to spend time there on the weekend if you are sick of City life in Hong Kong.

Room Tip: Choose a room face to the river and pick a higher floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hyattdiamond
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilson L, General Manager at Hyatt Regency Hong Kong Sha Tin, responded to this review, April 15, 2013
Dear Chun W,

Thank you very much for having visited Hyatt Regency Hong Kong, Sha Tin 6 times and for the amazing feedback. We are delighted to know that you had a great time and enjoyed our rooms, food and facilities. We are looking forward to welcoming you back to our hotel soon.

Best regards

Wilson Lee
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hong Kong hotels
Courtyard Hong Kong Sha Tin
#68 of 718 in Hong Kong
590 reviews
Royal Park Hotel
#50 of 718 in Hong Kong
1,138 reviews
Tsim Sha Tsui
Hyatt Regency Hong Kong, Tsim Sha Tsui
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mong Kok
Royal Plaza Hotel
Royal Plaza Hotel
#25 of 718 in Hong Kong
3,774 reviews
Mong Kok
Cordis, Hong Kong
Cordis, Hong Kong
#15 of 718 in Hong Kong
6,285 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Regency Hong Kong Sha Tin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Regency Hong Kong Sha Tin

Property: Hyatt Regency Hong Kong Sha Tin
Address: No.18 Chak Cheung Street, Sha Tin, New Territories, Hong Kong, China
Phone Number:
Location: China > Hong Kong
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#20 Spa Hotel in Hong Kong
#25 Family Hotel in Hong Kong
#25 Business Hotel in Hong Kong
#40 Romantic Hotel in Hong Kong
#53 Luxury Hotel in Hong Kong
#67 Best Value Hotel in Hong Kong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hyatt Regency Hong Kong Sha Tin 4.5*
Number of rooms: 562
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
As the latest urban oasis in Hong Kong, Hyatt Regency Hong Kong, Sha Tin features 430 guestrooms and 132 well-furnished suites specially designed for long stay accommodation. Exciting dining options include Sha tin 18 Chinese restaurant, all-day-dining Cafe, Pool Bar, Tin Tin Bar and Patisserie. Recreational facilities include the luxurious Melo Spa, outdoor heated swimming pool and whirlpool, fitness centre with sauna and steam, tennis court, bike rental and Camp Hyatt for children. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Ctrip TA, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hyatt Regency Hong Kong Sha Tin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Regency Hong Kong Sha Tin Hotel Hong Kong
Hong Kong Hyatt Regency

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing