We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hyatt Regency Hong Kong Sha Tin
Ranked #56 of 718 Hotels in Hong Kong
Certificate of Excellence
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Excellent Hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 16, 2013

Stayed at the Hyatt Regency Sha Tin four times in past six months. Overall wonderful experience, with excellent views, relaxing setting, and good service. If you're looking for a hotel right in the middle of the hussle and bussle of Hong Kong, this isn't the hotel for you. But if your willing to tradeoff proximity for a really nice hotel with large rooms and an excellent pool, this is the place to go. Also the MTR station is right next door to the hotel so you can get to Tsim Sha Tsui in less than 20 minutes.

Room Tip: Go for a club level room if you can afford it. It's worth it! Also, go for a room with a view of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KhunMark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert_Hamer, General Manager at Hyatt Regency Hong Kong Sha Tin, responded to this review, January 16, 2013
Dear KhunMark,

Thank you for the 5 Stars review! We are thrilled to hear that you had an excellent stay and we look forward for your 5th visit! Thank you for sharing your review, we really appreciate it.

Best regards,

Robert Hamer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,690 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    874
    632
    124
    32
    28
See reviews for
370
355
151
584
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (293)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Paris, France
Level Contributor
37 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 11, 2013

What a delightful dinner experience at the Chinese!
The acclaimed signature dish Peking Duck was so tasteful, the discreet service was outstanding, and the atmosphere just as you would expect from one of the best managed Hyatt hotels!
Congratulations to the GM Robert Hamer, the Chef and the Maitre!
We will be back!

Room Tip: Take a top floor room if you can. Relish the spa!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cosmopolitus1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 10, 2013

The Hyatt is a long way from the city centre but easily accessed by train. The rooms and facilities are nice.
I booked for myself and my 15 year old son through Expedia. We had on the expedia itinerary confirmation breakfast for two plus the accommodation.
The staff members both at breakfast and reception insisted my son's breakfast was not included, just one adult, not the child eventhough the itinerary said breakfast for 2 included. They said this was for an adult, not a child. I said this was ridiculous surely breakfast for 2 meant 2 people.
So they insisted on charging me for another adult for breakfast. An expensive exercise and an unpleasant breakfast as they were trying to charge for it, whilst i was trying to eat some breakfast. Then the HYATT reception fellow insisted this was an error on my travel agency's fault. This clearly was not the case, even with my black and white itinerary in front of him, the reception fellow insisted it was not right. So I escalated the issue to the manager, who conceded the error and apologised. This was resolved but only after I escalated this, Hyatt resources at this site, did not resolve the issue on their own.
Clearly an unpleasant experience, the fault in the hotel system was clear and yet they insisted for an overly protracted period, this was my problem. Not a nice way to end a holiday.

Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank Lovetravell1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert_Hamer, General Manager at Hyatt Regency Hong Kong Sha Tin, responded to this review, January 14, 2013
Dear Lovetravell1234,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. We are delighted to hear that you have enjoyed our rooms and facilities.

We are sorry to hear about the miscommunication regarding breakfast arrangement, and we understand your frustration. Our sincere apologies for the inconvenience caused. Your comments have been shared with the concerned teams. Once again, thank you for choosing our hotel and we hope to see you again soon.

Best regards,

Robert Hamer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
84 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 9, 2013

We enjoyed our night at the Sha Tin Hyatt Regency on a recent New Years Eve layover through Hong Kong. While it is somewhat out of the way, it was our choice to be near the Sha Tin racecourse for the New Years day races.

All was clean, orderly, modern, comfortable, and top quality. The meal we had in the chinese restaurant on site was top quality and very enjoyable.

Of special note regarding service quality was the courtesy shown to us by Godfrey on the concierge staff who took extra time to provide us with suggestions and tips that enabled us to enjoy some things in Hong Kong that we would not otherwise have done. We were thrilled with his terrific service. Congratulations, Hyatt, on hiring this extraordinary employee!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TheMcNomads
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert_Hamer, General Manager at Hyatt Regency Hong Kong Sha Tin, responded to this review, January 10, 2013
Dear pasofinogal,

Thank you for staying with us on New Year Eve. We are delighted that Godfrey and our team made the highlight of your vacation and will definitely share your compliment with them. Looking forward to welcoming you back soon!

Best regards,

Robert Hamer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 4, 2013

2nd time stayed with my 3 years old boy. Always a great stay and have to say excellent value for money! Rooms are new and clean and bed are great like the usual Hyatt standard [ can even match some "Grand" level]!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank M2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert_Hamer, General Manager at Hyatt Regency Hong Kong Sha Tin, responded to this review, January 6, 2013
Dear M2013,

Thank you for sharing your review with us! We are happy to know that you and your family enjoy your stay here. Next time, be sure to visit our Camp Hyatt, it is an excellent place for children and we often receive great comments from them as well as their parents. Please visit us again!

Best regards,

Robert Hamer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 4, 2013

This hotel was just great in so many ways, it has something for everyone. We stayed in a very spacious 2 bedroom suite, very comfy, very clean. We had the most amazing view of the harbour in the 21st floor. Staff were always ready to help with a smile on their faces. The kids got to go to Camp Hyatt. Although its a bit far from Kowloon and HK, it was very much worth it being away from the hassle, especially because were there during new years. The MTR is just next the hotel which made it convenient, and there is a Mall if you needed the bare necessities just 2 stops away. The Gym was adequately equipped. We didn't get to use the pool because it was really cold. You have to try the apple pie at the patisserie in the Lobby, delicious. Great breakfast.

Room Tip: try and get a room overlooking the harbour, on the higher floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank iamavip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert_Hamer, General Manager at Hyatt Regency Hong Kong Sha Tin, responded to this review, January 6, 2013
Dear iamavip,

Thanks for the compliments! We are happy to know that you and your family enjoy your stay here. I cannot agree you more about our beautiful view, comfortable rooms and our happy team. Thanks again for your 5-star review and hope to see you back with us soon!

Best regards,

Robert Hamer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur
Level Contributor
86 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2013

Hyatt Regency in Sha Tin is a wonderful hotel if most of your activities will be in this area. It is not near Kowloon or HK island.

The room itself is new and of Hyatt quality.
Breakfast spread is amazing and of top quality.

The executive rooms have a separate lift, which is great if the hotel gets too crowded.

Room Tip: If you are staying in the Executive floor, make sure your breakfast is at the Executive lounge. Oth...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lous80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert_Hamer, General Manager at Hyatt Regency Hong Kong Sha Tin, responded to this review, January 6, 2013
Dear louso80,

Thank you for the 5 Stars review! We are thrilled to hear that you had an excellent stay and we look forward to your return! Thank you for sharing your review, we really appreciate it!

Best regards,

Robert Hamer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hong Kong hotels
Royal Park Hotel
#47 of 718 in Hong Kong
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,115 reviews
Courtyard Hong Kong Sha Tin
#71 of 718 in Hong Kong
4.0 of 5 bubbles 568 reviews
Tsim Sha Tsui
Hyatt Regency Hong Kong, Tsim Sha Tsui
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ovolo Southside
#40 of 718 in Hong Kong
4.5 of 5 bubbles 554 reviews
Hung Hom
Harbour Grand Kowloon
Harbour Grand Kowloon
#49 of 718 in Hong Kong
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,788 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Regency Hong Kong Sha Tin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Regency Hong Kong Sha Tin

Property: Hyatt Regency Hong Kong Sha Tin
Address: No.18 Chak Cheung Street, Sha Tin, New Territories, Hong Kong, China
Phone Number:
Location: China > Hong Kong
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#18 Spa Hotel in Hong Kong
#25 Business Hotel in Hong Kong
#25 Family Hotel in Hong Kong
#40 Romantic Hotel in Hong Kong
#51 Luxury Hotel in Hong Kong
#65 Best Value Hotel in Hong Kong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hyatt Regency Hong Kong Sha Tin 4.5*
Number of rooms: 559
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
As the latest urban oasis in Hong Kong, Hyatt Regency Hong Kong, Sha Tin features 559 guestrooms and suites, including 132 well-furnished suites specially designed for long stay accommodation. Exciting dining options include Sha tin 18 Chinese restaurant, all-day-dining Cafe, Pool Bar, Tin Tin Bar and Patisserie. Recreational facilities include the luxurious Melo Spa, outdoor heated swimming pool and whirlpool, fitness centre with sauna and steam, tennis court, bike rental and Camp Hyatt for children. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Hotwire, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hyatt Regency Hong Kong Sha Tin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Regency Hong Kong Sha Tin Hotel Hong Kong
Hong Kong Hyatt Regency

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing