We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hyatt Regency Hong Kong, Sha Tin
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Royal Park Hotel(Hong Kong)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Regal Oriental Hotel(Hong Kong)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (2,043)
Filter reviews
2,043 results
Traveler rating
1,064
746
147
45
41
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,064
746
147
45
41
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsuniversity stationnew territoriestolo harbourchinese universityscience parkthe tin tin bartai popeking duckmountain viewnew town plazachinese restaurantfitness centerfive star hotelbreakfast buffetthe club loungespacious roomcomfortable hotel
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
1,214 - 1,219 of 2,043 reviews
Reviewed December 20, 2012

Just stayed at the Hyatt Shatin for a week. Hotel rooms are spacious with great view of the Tolo Harbour. Facilities are also very good with a well equipped gym, a 25m swimming pool, tennis courts, sauna and steam rooms.

However, the lack of free Wifi is extremely frustrating. An hour of Wifi costs $80 and a day of Wifi costs $150 (or $120?). This policy is very outdated especially considering Hyatt Shatin is a 5-star property and is trying to market itself as a business hotel as well.

Cleanliness is also a major issue during our stay. The room was reasonably clean the first night of our stay but subsequent cleaning was below standard - work surfaces and bathroom sink were not cleaned, used tea pot was not replaced etc. We had to make a complaint in the end.

This is a real shame because Hyatt Shatin could potentially be a great alternative to the city hotels as it offers a relaxing and tranquil environment in comparison, but is still within reasonable reach of the city. (30 mins on MTR)

Room Tip: Harbourview room is worth the extra $200.
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Will C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 19, 2012

Nice hotel with big room and very clean bathroom. Conveniently located at the University Station. Front Desk and the housekeeping provided good services. Free Shuttle bus available to the city area. Only complaint , WiFi is not free here !

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lucylyamamoto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 17, 2012

The hotel itself is lovely. My room was clean and most of the staff around the hotel lobby are so helpful. However, there is no free WiFi (It is 80dollars an hour), and for such a popular hotel, this would be a bonus.
The heated pool is good, with clean towels available and excellent pool service. The sauna/steam room are very small but still a treat with clean bath gowns, towels, slippers, toiletries and water available.
However, my great disappoinment was when I was checking out. Our stay had been booked by a family member who wanted to treat us for christmas and pay for our stay. He had sorted out all the paperwork back in the UK and confirmed numerous times over the phone that his credit card would be paying for the stay. This was confirmed by the hotel as he had to fill in a form to authorise this. When we checked out, the lady at the desk (Conry) could not find any of this information and stated that it was not possible for someone else to pay for out stay using those credit card details if he was not present. I explained that this had already been discussed and authorised but she could not find the details and said that it was impossible for this to happen. She made a poor attempt at looking for the necessary information and we left having to pay for our 'Christmas treat' ourselves. Its a shame for her bad customer attitude as overall, we loved this place, but her poor customer service means that we won't be staying here again.

Room Tip: Ask for the harbour view, the higher the better
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Pam L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert_Hamer, General Manager at Hyatt Regency Hong Kong, Sha Tin, responded to this reviewResponded January 6, 2013

Dear Pam L,

We often receive great comments about the service and hospitality our team provides and it is with regret to learn about your disappointment and the inconveniences caused to you on this occasion, please accept our sincere apologies. I believe our management team had contacted you for the issue and will follow up the case. Thank you for bringing these items to our attention and we hope you will consider visiting us again in the future!

Best regards,

Robert Hamer
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 16, 2012

The Chinese restaurant of this hotel is always full and if you are not a VIP or regular customer the manager of this place is not enthusiatic about your booking.
Generally the rooms of this hotel are clean but the room we had been assigned with had a fishy smell - some one had used the kitchenette to cook seafood and the pungent ordor lingered.
It was said here that if you ask for a harbour view room they always oblige, this is certainly not the case - some EXACT staffer always ask for HKD300 more for the upgrade and this had happened for more than once.
Twice we had sent the G.M. a comment card provided by the hotel, the first one addressed to The General Manager and the second one to MR ROBERT HAMER by name, His secretary should
have the courtesy of making an acknowledgment!

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 423john
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 13, 2012

A bit of a distance from the city but nicely priced and spacious (for Hong Kong). Hotel staff upgraded us to the harbor view for no charge and the swimming pool was really nice in the Hong Kong summer. At least an hour by trains and subways to Hong Kong Central. Probably not good for single's looking for night life, but good for families and business.

BTW: food in the hotel is super expensive!!

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank uwscott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews