We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hotel, just the right level of service.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hyatt Regency Hong Kong Sha Tin
Ranked #57 of 718 Hotels in Hong Kong
Certificate of Excellence
Geneva, Switzerland
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent hotel, just the right level of service.”
Reviewed November 7, 2012

Very high quality hotel, excellent service. Location is right next to the Chinese University of Hong Kong, but a good half an hour, when roads are quiet, from Hong Kong proper. Only minor gripe with the hotel was the lack of a quiet bar (the bar had loud muzak). The hotel's own transportation was limited, but taxis are cheap enough (and always plentiful) so it was no problem. The (bay view) room was of excellent quality, the view fantastic. Food in the evening was good, though I did not have a big meal. Breakfast was good, but not the best in terms of choice of Chinese items.

Room Tip: The bay view is stunning. Can't comment on the mountain view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Crozati01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EdithCheng, General Manager at Hyatt Regency Hong Kong Sha Tin, responded to this review, November 14, 2012
Dear Crozati01,

Thanks for taking time to write about your stay. We are delighted that you had a relaxing time at our hotel. Thanks for bringing to our attention your comment about our bar and breakfast. Hope you will visit us again!

Best regards,

Robert Hamer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,800 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    930
    670
    134
    35
    31
See reviews for
393
378
161
621
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (295)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Port Macquarie, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed November 7, 2012

We've stayed at the Hyatt Regency Hong Kong Sha Tin around six times now over the past three years and find it constantly good especially with the attractive rates often available mid-week. The hotel is located very close to the MTR train station at the University stop which is around 20 minutes to the centre of Hong Kong. After a hectic day out touring around it's a nice change to get back to the relative quiet of the area. Excellent facilities including a great pool.

Room Tip: Ask for an upgrade and I find they often oblige.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank wannadanz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Byfleet, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2012

The room designs of this hotel are extraordinary. Tiny wardrobe and drawer space, yet huge room sizes: fine for overnight male guests but not for long stay guests or women: the kitchen area has a microwave and lots of cupboards but no sink. The food is very mediocre in the restaurant and often cold in the evening with long waiting times, if you do not want buffet. There are no other restaurants in the vicinity of the hotel. Lifts are dark and gloomy and it is very difficult to see your floor number. The swimming pool and gym are good, but this hotel is a long way from the bright lights of Tsim Sha Sui. The trains are extremely crowded whichever direction you are going unless you use the First Class.

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking Tolo Harbour have better amenities than those on the train track side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mjudithclare
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orange County
1 review
Reviewed October 30, 2012

What started off as a happy visit ended up a sad one. My father passed away 2 days after we got there and we were trying to figure out how to deal with all the paperwork to get his body back to the states. Upon hearing about my father's death, the General Manager, Mr. Robert Hamer went out of his way to ensure that his staff took care of our needs. To me this was a sign of wonderful hospitality and really understanding and caring of his customers.

The staff there was very helpful and friendly. The only suggestion I would give to the staff members is to think outside the box - when you don't know an answer, ask and ask again. Don't afraid to ask.

Room Tip: The suites were wonderful. Especially since we were there for a long time, having 2 little children...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank thalia_oc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EdithCheng, General Manager at Hyatt Regency Hong Kong Sha Tin, responded to this review, October 31, 2012
Dear thalia_oc,

Thank you for the review and compliments. I am sorry for your loss and we hope that you and your family will recover from the pain soon. Please come back to visit us again.

Best regards

Robert Hamer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level 6 Contributor
236 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
Reviewed October 29, 2012

For those who are familiar with Hong Kong's public transport, this hotel is worth a look! It may be far from the city center, but with a convenient KCR and MTR ride you can go anywhere within 1/2 hour. If you're planning to go to Shenzhen the location is great too as the train stops just downstairs.

The interior is typical new Hyatt style. Very functional. Nice & spacious rooms. Good pool & gym. Very nice breakfast and buffet restaurant. Consider staying at the club floor as this will give you breakfast and happy hours snacks/drinks inclusive and a great view over Tolo Harbour on top.

Room Tip: If you enjoy a good view, book the harbor view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alex H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Greece
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed October 29, 2012

Very nice hotel. Modern rooms fullfil all the needs you may need as a quest,
Even docking station for your iPod
Nice view from above the only problem is that it's about 25 minutes
From the center, but the value for money it's great so it's worth to try it.

Room Tip: The best room view it's north east see the attached photo
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Yannis A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EdithCheng, General Manager at Hyatt Regency Hong Kong Sha Tin, responded to this review, October 31, 2012
Dear Yannis A,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us and for the 5-star review! Since our hotel is a short distance away from downtown, we bring you the natural side of Hong Kong. Glad you like our hotel and look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Best regards

Robert Hamer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manhasset, NY
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed October 25, 2012

I just returned from Hong Kong where I visited several hotels on my business trip to select 5* hotel
for my company pre cruse package in 2013. I stayed in Hyatt Regency Hotel. I expected 5* hotel but this is 4+* hotel. Rooms are small, even I stayed in deluxe room. Deluxe upgrade in Hong Kong is only upper floor, higher price but room size is the same as standard room. Even I was business partner who was on hotel inspection tour non from the sales department was available to contact me to show hotel and discuss about future business. I went to The Peninsula Hong Kong hotel where I had appointment with Mr. Chris Yuen, Sales Manager who show me hotel and new renovated rooms. This hotel is top quality, I will say 6* with great services and very friendly staff.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MisoManhasset_NY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EdithCheng, General Manager at Hyatt Regency Hong Kong Sha Tin, responded to this review, October 29, 2012
Dear MisoManhasset

Thank you very much for your review. However, our hotel does not offer any pre-cruise package, and therefore would like to re-confirm if you are indeed referring to our hotel.

We have sent you a private message, so kindly check when you have time.

We do hope to see you at our hotel soon.

Best regards

Robert Hamer
General Manager
Hyatt Regency Hong Kong, Sha Tin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hong Kong hotels
Courtyard Hong Kong Sha Tin
#69 of 718 in Hong Kong
604 reviews
Royal Park Hotel
#53 of 718 in Hong Kong
1,153 reviews
Tsim Sha Tsui
Hyatt Regency Hong Kong, Tsim Sha Tsui
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mong Kok
Royal Plaza Hotel
Royal Plaza Hotel
#27 of 718 in Hong Kong
3,831 reviews
Fortress Hill
Harbour Grand Hong Kong
Harbour Grand Hong Kong
#56 of 718 in Hong Kong
3,266 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Regency Hong Kong Sha Tin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Regency Hong Kong Sha Tin

Property: Hyatt Regency Hong Kong Sha Tin
Address: No.18 Chak Cheung Street, Sha Tin, New Territories, Hong Kong, China
Phone Number:
Location: China > Hong Kong
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#20 Spa Hotel in Hong Kong
#25 Business Hotel in Hong Kong
#25 Family Hotel in Hong Kong
#40 Romantic Hotel in Hong Kong
#53 Luxury Hotel in Hong Kong
#66 Best Value Hotel in Hong Kong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hyatt Regency Hong Kong Sha Tin 4.5*
Number of rooms: 562
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
As the latest urban oasis in Hong Kong, Hyatt Regency Hong Kong, Sha Tin features 430 guestrooms and 132 well-furnished suites specially designed for long stay accommodation. Exciting dining options include Sha tin 18 Chinese restaurant, all-day-dining Cafe, Pool Bar, Tin Tin Bar and Patisserie. Recreational facilities include the luxurious Melo Spa, outdoor heated swimming pool and whirlpool, fitness centre with sauna and steam, tennis court, bike rental and Camp Hyatt for children. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hyatt Regency Hong Kong Sha Tin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Regency Hong Kong Sha Tin Hotel Hong Kong
Hong Kong Hyatt Regency

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing