We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Few Complaints But Overall A Good Value”
Review of Butterfly on Prat

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Butterfly on Prat
Ranked #51 of 718 Hotels in Hong Kong
Certificate of Excellence
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
108 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
“A Few Complaints But Overall A Good Value”
Reviewed June 6, 2010

Stayed at the Butterfly on Prat for the second portion of our trip to Hong Kong as we spent the first half at Langham Place in Mongkok. I booked via AsiaTravel so I got the stay 2 nights get 3rd night for free deal, which brough the deluxe room to about $100 USD per night, which is certainly a good value for a hotel in TST (though this is off season). The location was great, only a couple of blocks away from Tsim Sha Tsui station and 3 blocks away from East Tsim Sha Tsui station, giving you access to multiple MTR lines to go wherever you need to.

The deluxe rooms are spacious (for Hong Kong), modern, and clean. The lobby is small and basic, just the front desk and a couple of laptops which function as the business center. I would advise bringing your own laptop though, because during our stay the lobby laptops were always occupied. Internet access is also available in the room, although only by LAN cable and not wireless (kind of a pain because I'm the type that likes to use my laptop while laying in bed and I could only use it at the desk at the Butterfly).

My main complaint is the noise factor on Prat. Butterfly is located right above a few rowdy bars in this section of Prat Avenue, and no matter what night of the week, I could hear loud music and conversations well into the night from my 13th floor room. The noise probably would've been better if we had gotten a room on the side of the hallway away from the street (might as well as the street view is just another hotel building). The noise, in conjunction with the oddly short beds (I am 5'3" and my feet were almost touching the edge of the bed), made for rather poor sleep during my stay. My other complaint is the temperature control in the room which was manual instead of digital, and no matter what temperature we set it on, the room was always freezing cold. We ended up just turning off the A/C at night, but made the room rather muggy in the morning.

Room comes equipped with a mini fridge and a microwave, which is pretty handy (especially since we took a cooking class with lots of take home items). The bathrooms are bright with large showers.

The hallway on the 13th floor also stunk like durian and mildew, perhaps someone was eating durian during my stay, but more likely due to poor ventilation in the small hallway.

Overall, a good value for a central location in Hong Kong. I would say Butterfly is a solid 3 star hotel that has some conveniences of a serviced apartment (microwave, fridge). You get what you pay for, don't come here expecting 5 star treatment or furnishings.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank donnaaries
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,754 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,214
    1,211
    250
    55
    24
See reviews for
607
933
290
357
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (299)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Manila
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed June 5, 2010

Pros:

1. Location was perfect. Walking distance to malls, restaurants, the Star Ferry, the Space Museum.
2. Room was very nice - from the design to the mattress and the pillows. My wife was also able to book the farthest room from the elevator and on the 15th floor so no noise at all. We all slept like babies.
3. Friendly staff - All very eager to help.
4. It looks, smells and IS clean.

Cons:

1. Air con was way too cold - even if set at 30C. Must be broken. Shut it off for our last 2 nights and slept very comfortably.
2. You will need to take along those how-to-get-there cards (which the hotel provides). Not everyone knows where Prat st. is.
3. Had a minor leak problem in the bathroom, but nothing that inconvinienced us.

Would definitely stay here again and recommend it to others too.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Viciousmango
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fargo, North Dakota
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed June 4, 2010

Excellent location, right in the heart of the action. Great restaurants nearby. Steps from bus stops, block from train line, a nice 4-5 block walk to ferry terminal. Clean, polite staff. Modern decor. Small lobby/check-in area, but rooms were very nice. Quiet. Clean. Great choice, and reasonably priced!

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bea2006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Philippines
Level Contributor
26 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed May 31, 2010

We stayed at Butterfly on Prat from May 27-30, 2010. Ten persons, including 3 kids 10 years old and below. While we initially had problems with checking in - the rooms were supposed to be available by noon, then 2PM, then 3PM, the front desk staff were generally patient and friendly. We finally got our rooms set up almost 5PM as there were requests for extra beds. Main reason for the delay was that the hotel was booked full the previous night, although I think it was the lack of housecleaning staff that aggravated it.

Butterfly on Prat is primarily ideal for couples, or those without children. There are about a dozen rooms on each floor, and children running along the corridors can be quite noisy. Make sure you request for a room on the higher floors, as the street downstairs can be noisy with cars honking their horns loudly when there's traffic along Prat Ave.

There are a few convenience stores less than 3 minutes walk away, and you can buy food supplies and snacks as the rooms provide a refrigerator (empty) and microwave. The hotel provides 2 bottles of distilled water (380 ml) daily, but it is recommended you buy your own at 7-11 to refill in case these aren't enough as Hong Kong is hot and humid in May.

Some pet peeves... not all rooms have opaque glass panels in the bathroom door and the bathroom itself...out of the 3 rooms, one had clear glass panels (!!!) instead of the opaque panels...which is exactly the reason why the place is ideal for couples or individual travelers. It is quite a hassle to ask the hotel staff to paste Manila paper on the clear panels for the occupants' privacy. Another reason this is suited for couples is that the room is quite small, and adding an extra bed doesn't allow much moving space.

Among the hotel staff, the front desk personnel (especially the ladies) are the most professional. They speak good English and are courteous. However, it would be difficult to make requests from the housekeeping staff as most of them barely speak English except the basics - "Thank you, good morning, etc.".

Along Prat Avenue, there are a few reasonably priced Chinese, Vietnamese and Thai restaurants that serve great tasting food...the best bargains are during mid-day as they offer specials that include meals plus drinks.

Overall, if you don't expect too much from an establishment like this compared to full service hotels, Butterfly on Prat is considered value-for-money.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank NT01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lewisburg, PA
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2010

I just got back from a four day vacation with my wife, kids, and parents. We stayed in two rooms. This was my second time in Hong Kong. The previous time we stayed at the Mira. The Mira is a nicer hotel but we paid more than double the rate at the Mira. Butterfly on Prat was a much better value. Here is my summary of Butterfly on Prat:

- Excellent location
- Nice and helpful staff
- Nice rooms
- Very large refrigerator in the room with a working freezer
- Comfortable bed with nice sheets
- Microwave in the room
- Modern bathroom
- Nice size room for Hong Kong standards

My only minor negative is that you should be prepared for awkward doors in the lobby. For some reason they installed heavy narrow doors so it's hard getting luggage through the doors in the lobby. Other than that, I would highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dave_jacobson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed May 26, 2010

Stayed at Butterfly on Prat in may 2010 on 2 separate occasions. Both times had no trouble checking in. Staff were friendly and helpful. Location is ideal for exploring the city, with mtr stations and some attractions nearby. 7/11 near the hotel as well as cafes/restaurants. Rooms clean and spacious with everything one might need in a hotel. Overall, a great hotel in a perfect location at a very affordable price. Only downside is no wifi internet in the building, however there are 2 computers in the lobby which every guest can use. Will stay again and recommend to anyone visiting Hong Kong.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank paperkt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level Contributor
91 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed May 24, 2010

I just returned to the United States from a 14 day China trip. I always end a business trip with an overnight in Hong Kong to relax, take photos, shop a little, and enjoy the people.
I've stayed for years at the Marco Polo Gateway, the New World Mariott and the Sheraton, and even the Ibis on North Point. In planning last trip, I wanted to give Butterfly on Prat a try, because of it's price, it's location, it's website and some of the more positive reviews on TripAdvisor.
I think I can agree on everything said in all the reviews, , including the weird smell in the lobby. However.....
Checked in on a Friday afternoon after arriving by rail from Dongguan. 2 minute cab ride - a breeze. Dropped off on the street, not a problem. 10 meter walk to the lobby door.
No staff to open the door for me. Narrow stiff doors were kind of akward. Got in, dropped bags, stepped right up and checked in. Only to find that...they were full. But, I had a reservation! No problem. They had a room waiting for me, it was the largest in the hotel, room 1808. That's a suite. That's right. Walk in, look left, bedroom. Look straight ahead, KITCHEN! Look Right, living room. Even had a little breakfast table. AMAZING.
The bathroom was I am sure larger than most in the hotel. Clean, clean, clean, and after an all day worth of meetings and rail travel, that shower looked great. Shampoo was citrus and the best smelling hotel shampoo I've come across in 15 years of Asia travel. Sound like a small, dumb detail? Try some shampoo that smells like a mixture of gasoline and rice wine and you come to appreciate the little things like a nice smelling shampoo. Water pressure was great.
Flat screen in the bedroom. Flat screen in the living room. No utensils nor glasses, as you would find in the kitchen of let's say a Residence Inn by Mariott - but this is Hong Kong ! Who would need a kitchen?
Noise? Forget about it! 18 floors up. I was out cold anyway from such a long trip. And SOFT bedding.

Never got to eat at the adjacent resturant called Al Dente. Will next time.
Butterfly on Prat is going to be my new favorite hotel property in Hong Kong/TST!
Also, Staff was cute, smiling and never, ever *****@*.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TheSk8Guru
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hong Kong hotels
Tsim Sha Tsui
Hotel Panorama by Rhombus
Hotel Panorama by Rhombus
#85 of 718 in Hong Kong
2,596 reviews
Tin Hau
Butterfly on Victoria
Butterfly on Victoria
#63 of 718 in Hong Kong
1,290 reviews
Wan Chai / Causeway Bay
Butterfly On Morrison
Butterfly On Morrison
#78 of 718 in Hong Kong
1,371 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sheung Wan
Butterfly on Hollywood
Butterfly on Hollywood
#92 of 718 in Hong Kong
1,666 reviews
Tsim Sha Tsui
Park Hotel Hong Kong
Park Hotel Hong Kong
#77 of 718 in Hong Kong
1,591 reviews
Tsim Sha Tsui
The Salisbury-YMCA of Hong Kong
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Butterfly on Prat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Butterfly on Prat

Property: Butterfly on Prat
Address: No.21 Prat Avenue, Tsim Sha Tsui, Hong Kong, China
Location: China > Hong Kong > Tsim Sha Tsui
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#38 Family Hotel in Hong Kong
#39 Romantic Hotel in Hong Kong
#46 Business Hotel in Hong Kong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Butterfly on Prat 3.5*
Number of rooms: 158
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the heart of pulsating Tsim Sha Tsui, Butterfly on Prat is the ideal launch pad to indulge in the best shopping, museums and panorama Hong Kong has to offer. Step outside of the hip and chic comforts of the hotel and loose yourself in the mega shopping maze of Harbour City. Go catch up with arts, culture and past of the ex-colony, wine and dine Michelin-grade gourmets and drink in the uninterrupted views of some of the world's finest skylines. Whatever you do in this part of town, you simply wish you'd have more eyes, ears, taste buds and time. To fulfill travellers' need for seamless, connected travel experience, the hotel now offers "4G Pocket WiFi Device" to keep your life in sync! Bring WiFi with you around town and stay in touch with the mobile hotspot (unlimited local data) that instantly connects your devices (up to 5 smartphones, tablets or other wireless portable devices) to the Internet anywhere the coverage is available. Straightforward and effortless - this is how travel should be! And once your heady day is over, return to the stylish relief of our 158 rooms, where branded amenities and device-friendly docking stations mix with free Wi-Fi and strong pops of colours to craft enhanced inspirations for both work and play. Guests will even get the treat of a free smartphone, offering unlimited local calls and 3G data, a city guide as well as all sorts of interesting info and features. Families with children are well taken care of too, with thoughtful amenities and ample space to fit comfortably a family of four. Whenever help is needed, our 24-hour front desk is on stand-by. Need travel advice? Try our 'Local Ambassadors'! How well connected are we? - 4-minute walk to the Tsim Sha Tsui MTR subway station. - 10-minute taxi ride to the Airport Express Kowloon Station for direct train connection to Hong Kong International Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Hotwire, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Priceline, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Butterfly on Prat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Butterfly On Prat Hotel Hong Kong
Butterfly On Prat Hong Kong

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing