We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bad rooms. Worse Staff.”
Review of Butterfly on Prat

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Butterfly on Prat
Ranked #48 of 725 Hotels in Hong Kong
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 12, 2009

If there is one hotel I will never go back to it is Butterfly on Prat. I had initially (on reading reviews on this site) booked the hotel for three nights; later on a friend's recommendation and also from hotel reviews I booked " The Mira" on TST; and thank heavens for that. We still booked this hotel for one night between our trip to Macau and our stay at Disney.
The hotel staff tells you its a less than 5 mins walk from the MTR but be ready for at least a 10 min walk through a not so good lane. The hotel rooms are SMALL we just had 2 cabin bags and there was hardly enough space to fit those in. The room was freezing cold, though there is a temperature control it didnt seem to work, the room was equally freezing at 30deg as it was at 18 deg celcius. On requesting the staff for another room the only solution they could come up with was to turn off the aircon.. on telling them it would be suffocating they sent us blankets... Can some one explain to them people dont sleep in the room always ( or maybe thats the kind of clientele this hotel gets). Finally they gave us heaters to heat the room which made matters worse.

Lets talk about the rooms... the bath room has a transparent door... but that does not serve any purpose apart from your roommate getting a clear view of you answering nature calls. It is not in the line of sight of the television which is the primary purpose for having transparent bathroom walls. The bathroom was dirty had hair and grout everywhere. The towels were dirty. The curtains were torn and had stains. The room looked into the building in front so you had to keep the curtains shut at all times.

There are some good points on this hotel though... it is in a bylane of TST so lots of eating and shopping options around. It has a small microwave in the room which definately helps people who have dietary restrictions. I did not have the inclination to try any of its other facilities and checked out at 9AM.

BoP is like an very expensive student's boarding. I would suggest if you are spening over HK$900 per night ( thats what I paid); pay HK$100 more and get a better hotel... TST has pleanty of choices.

  • Stayed: November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Buddhakkan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,973)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,275 - 2,281 of 2,975 reviews

Reviewed November 8, 2009

I arrived an hour earlier and although checking in was relatively easy for me, it was not so for another guest who seemed to have arrived much earlier but was still struggling to get his room. The staff at the lobby was sometimes friendly, sometimes not. I overheard some negative comments made about the other guests by the staff in Cantonese at the lobby; this was totally not professional.

Room was small, the smallest room I’ve ever stayed in Hong Kong, but still fairly alright if you are staying only for one or two nights alone or with a partner. Previous reviews are correct; the transparent and un-lockable toilet door can be quiet a problem. I find the toilet sink a little too shallow, water keeps spilling out of the sink, making a mess on the counter which I really didn’t quite like.

During my stay many of the common hotel room amenities were missing, I have to called housekeeping for my bedroom slippers, toothbrush, etc; this was not a good experience when you came back into the room late in the night to find missing amenities. The walls were paper thin; I can constantly hear the opening and closing of doors as well as the TV shows my neighbors were watching, not a pleasant experience when you’re trying to get some sleep. The bed was not really bad, but neither was it fantastic.

Location wise, the hotel is a walk-able distance from the MTR, with many eateries around the corner. There are many other good hotels around the area, so unless you have a special discount perhaps you may want to consider another hotel.

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ri_Sun8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 4, 2009

Mavellous location to all of the shopping in the area and easy access to MTR to travel around and also within minutes to the Star Ferry to get over Hong Kong Island like Macau. Great price for great location. jus rite outside of hotel are the few teahouse(including a 24hr teahouse with nice foods.- just right beside hotel) . Room is clean and nice, big enough to lay your luggage on the floor for packing. Towels change everyday with nicely clean up in the room and have Microwave in the room for last min hunger with instant warming up of food from 7 eleven store.Guess they have done something to the clear windows from bathroom after some neg reviews previously which currently allow some privacy if you are travelling with friends. The hotel lobby is equiped with computers for your use that are at no cost, very friendly staffs. Everyone are so friendly, even the cleaner who clean the room. they greeted us with smiles which makes your day.

  • Stayed: November 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jazz81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 3, 2009

I stayed in a 15th floor room at Butterfly on Prat for 4 nights late October 2009. This boutique style hotel is located on Prat Avenue which is a fairly busy street in Kowloon with numerous shops, restaurants and pubs nearby. The room was a good size for one or two people and was very well appointed and clean. The room had a plasma TV with satellite channels, bar fridge and safe. The bed and pillows were ultra comfortable which is important to me when I travel. The bathroom was fresh, large and beautifully decorated. The view out the window wasn’t great but not an issue for me. The hotel itself was quiet during the night however there was a bit of noise from the street (even up on the 15th floor) during the night however as a light sleeper I used earplugs which worked well. The Star Ferry is only a 10 minute walk from the hotel and the fantastic shops of Nathan Road only a 2 or 3 minute walk. The staff at the hotel were very friendly and helpful. If you like Japanese food there is a nice restaurant outside the front of the hotel serving good quality Japanese food. I would definitely stay at Butterfly on Prat again and would recommend it to couples of all ages and solo people travelling for pleasure or business.

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TetleyJeff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 30, 2009

This is a nice budget boutique hotel in a hip kowloon location with lots of restaurants and clubs close by. Rooms are clean but very simple and not great amenities...NO electrical outlet in the bathroom so no hair drier! The shower and bathroom sink provide no privacy since they have windows directly into the bedroom area. OK for a single traveler but no privacy for multiple guests. The bed and pillows were definitely not the quality level I am used to in other HK hotels, such as Marco Polo and Royal Garden and Langham (all naturally more expensive). If the price is similar I would select the Panorama Hotel around the corner. I was on the 13th floor and heard alot of street noise, but not too loud, and no noise could be heard from the next rooms.

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank blubs99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 30, 2009

Rooms are very well appointed, comfortable and amazingly quiet. Shower is particularly nice with plenty of hot water and large shower heads. Flat screen TV with DVD player.
Staff is very courteous and helpful. Our room came with breakfast which is handled by the Japanese restaurant in the same building. The breakfast was complete including eggs cooked to order a choice of breakfast meat and potatoes. If the breakfast isn't to your liking, there's a coffee shop right across the street with a variety of breakfast combination plates. A Deli France is also across the street. The hotel is well located within a short walking distance of many major tourist destinations. I'd stay there again and recommend it highly.

Stayed: October 2009, traveled as a couple
2  Thank foodsmarts3301
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 29, 2009

We stayed for 4 nights here and have to say first that the rooms are gorgeous. large, spacious, free fruit in the mornings etc. Very nice.

We had a number of problems including cigarette smoke coming in from the air con. They asked us if we wanted to move room which we agreed to, but the room they moved us to was half the size of the first room. We kicked up a fuss in the end because they wouldn't accept why we weren't happy paying the same rate for a half size room. After 30mins of angry conversations, suddently a room similar to our first room came available. We were furious - felt like we'd been tried to be ripped off, how much would it have taken them to move us to that room in the first place? when we'd paid for a larger room?

That issue aside the hotel after that were very helpful with our questions and queries, and even brought earplugs to our room for the noise and didn't charge us.

free wifi in the room is also good and computers downstiars if you dnt have a laptop.

The location was very very busy and very noisy at night. earplugs helped but i'd recommend staying elsewhere location-wise if you odn't like the husstle and busstle, travel into it when you want to go, don't stay in it.

all in all, very nice room, mix of staff service but I think they generally did their best to help with the issues that arose.

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LPass16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hong Kong hotels
Tsim Sha Tsui
Hotel Panorama by Rhombus
Hotel Panorama by Rhombus
#96 of 725 in Hong Kong
2,707 reviews
Mong Kok
Royal Plaza Hotel
Royal Plaza Hotel
#26 of 725 in Hong Kong
4,097 reviews
Tsim Sha Tsui
The Salisbury-YMCA of Hong Kong
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sheung Wan
Ibis Hong Kong Central & Sheung Wan Hotel
Mong Kok
Metropark Hotel Mongkok
Metropark Hotel Mongkok
#29 of 725 in Hong Kong
1,289 reviews
Jordan / Yau Ma Tei
Eaton, Hong Kong
Eaton, Hong Kong
#98 of 725 in Hong Kong
4,025 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Butterfly on Prat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Butterfly on Prat

Address: No.21 Prat Avenue, Tsim Sha Tsui, Hong Kong, China
Phone Number:
Location: China > Hong Kong > Tsim Sha Tsui
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#37 Family Hotel in Hong Kong
#38 Romantic Hotel in Hong Kong
#45 Business Hotel in Hong Kong
#61 Best Value Hotel in Hong Kong
Price Range: $118 - $299 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Butterfly on Prat 3.5*
Number of rooms: 158
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the heart of pulsating Tsim Sha Tsui, Butterfly on Prat is the ideal launch pad to indulge in the best shopping, museums and panorama Hong Kong has to offer. Step outside of the hip and chic comforts of the hotel and loose yourself in the mega shopping maze of Harbour City. Go catch up with arts, culture and past of the ex-colony, wine and dine Michelin-grade gourmets and drink in the uninterrupted views of some of the world's finest skylines. Whatever you do in this part of town, you simply wish you'd have more eyes, ears, taste buds and time. To fulfill travellers' need for seamless, connected travel experience, the hotel now offers "4G Pocket WiFi Device" to keep your life in sync! Bring WiFi with you around town and stay in touch with the mobile hotspot (unlimited local data) that instantly connects your devices (up to 5 smartphones, tablets or other wireless portable devices) to the Internet anywhere the coverage is available. Straightforward and effortless - this is how travel should be! And once your heady day is over, return to the stylish relief of our 158 rooms, where branded amenities and device-friendly docking stations mix with free Wi-Fi and strong pops of colours to craft enhanced inspirations for both work and play. Guests will even get the treat of a free smartphone, offering unlimited local calls and 3G data, a city guide as well as all sorts of interesting info and features. Families with children are well taken care of too, with thoughtful amenities and ample space to fit comfortably a family of four. Whenever help is needed, our 24-hour front desk is on stand-by. Need travel advice? Try our 'Local Ambassadors'! How well connected are we? - 4-minute walk to the Tsim Sha Tsui MTR subway station. - 10-minute taxi ride to the Airport Express Kowloon Station for direct train connection to Hong Kong International Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Priceline, TravelClick, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Butterfly on Prat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Butterfly On Prat Hotel Hong Kong
Butterfly On Prat Hong Kong

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing