We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Value for the Money”
Review of Butterfly on Prat

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Butterfly on Prat
Ranked #45 of 729 Hotels in Hong Kong
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 26, 2014

If you are looking for amenities, look elsewhere. The lobby is a tiny area with two reception podiums. Sometimes when you or your friends call the hotel, you get a voice message as the two front desk clerks are checking people in at that moment. While the front desk personnel are very young, they are very professional and willing to offer advice/assistance in English, Mandarin and of course Cantonese.

This is the Butterfly business model. Nice modern rooms with reasonable space in a city known for small, outdated rooms unless you are paying a lot more. The bathroom also gave you some space to maneuver.

What attracted to me to the Butterfly is the location. We love the action in Tsim Tsa Tsui. You are close to the metro and the harborfront. TST has become the popular place for tourists who aren't looking for the sterile Western environment in Central. There are amazing restaurants of all prices and varieties Asian and Western. There is great shopping and plenty of bars. TST has enough of that edge with the mix of Traditional and Western that makes Hong Kong a unique city within Asia.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MarcoPolo62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Butterfly_Hotels, Group Guest Services Manager at Butterfly on Prat, responded to this reviewResponded March 4, 2014

We are so pleased to hear that you had a great experience! It's great that you enjoyed welcoming and helpful services from our guest services team, your encouragement is exactly the motivation the team needs to continue to drive further improvement. Tsim Sha Tsui is definitely a great place to stay with its wide variety of restaurants, shops and tourist attractions which we hope you had time to enjoy and explore the area’s hidden charms. Looking forward to your next stay with us!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (3,073)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,611 - 1,617 of 3,073 reviews

Reviewed February 25, 2014

My first stay a few years back at Butterfly on Prat left me very satisfied so I decided to stay here again when I visited Hong Kong in Jan.

First night was spent in Room 1602. There was something wrong with the aircon which went on having a drumming noise the whole night and it kept us up. The hot water shower was another big nuisance. The temperature of the water went from hot to cold and back to hot again. Needless to say, I requested for a room change the next morning which was promptly arranged without any questions.

The change was definitely for the better as the aircon was quiet (thank goodness) and the water shower was better. However, the room was showing signs of aging as compared to the first stay I had in this hotel.

The service of the hotel staff was as good as before and they speak good English which is probably essential for guests who are non-Mandarin/Cantonese speakers.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travel_addict0807
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Butterfly_Hotels, Group Guest Services Manager at Butterfly on Prat, responded to this reviewResponded March 4, 2014

Thanks for sharing your comments, we are delighted to have you returned and to hear that you found our guest services as impressive as ever. It was a pity that the specific guest room condition affected your overall satisfaction, we already reviewed and have all necessary issues fixed. Also, we will improve each guest room quality through our on going enhancement program, we hope to offer you a much more refreshed experience during your next stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2014

After having stayed at Butterfly on Pratt since 2011, it is now my defacto hotel when travelling to Hong Kong is concern. Excellent location, easily accessible and lots of local food around the area.

Not forgetting free wifi !

I would like to thank Stephen (Front Desk) for the assistance rendered to me & my friend on this recent trip.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Coolfrog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Butterfly_Hotels, Group Guest Services Manager at Butterfly on Prat, responded to this reviewResponded March 4, 2014

Thanks for your positive review and loyalty support. It's truly our honor to be one of your faviorite hotels in Hong Kong, really appreciate that! Stephen and the rest of our guest service team are always happy to assist our guests and they are proud to have made your experience a memorable one. Thanks again, we can't wait to welcoming you back at Butterfly on Prat.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 23, 2014 via mobile

I must say, it was my first time staying in this hotel, but not the first time at TST area. This hotel is surrounded by 24hour convenient stores, restaurants and 3min walk to underground transportation. Close to K11 and Hyatt, so you can easily locate the hotel even if the taxi driver cant locate the hotel, just tell them "hyatt,k11 or GuangDong Hotel" and you can walk to the hotel by foot, easily.

Price considered cheap for this location. Cleanliness i rate 8/10. Above acceptable. Staff very well trained and polite. Location and the price per night is the main highlight.

Stayed: December 2013, traveled on business
Thank KhinChong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Butterfly_Hotels, Group Guest Services Manager at Butterfly on Prat, responded to this reviewResponded February 26, 2014

Thanks a lot for writing us such a great feedback. It's great that you enjoyed our location so much and that we are capable to offer a nice accommodation for your business trip. Do not hesitate to contact our friendly guest services team directly if you are planning for your next visit, we will surely make the best arrangement for you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 23, 2014

We've stayed at several Tsim Sha Tsui hotels over the years and this is one of the best. The rooms are spacious in Hong Kong standards, excellent shower, excellent location, very friendly staff and very quiet on the 17th floor despite being warned about noise in advance (it may be noisier on lower floors). The mattress was a bit too hard and housekeeping was a little noisy a little too early, but those were minor issues in an otherwise great stay.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TA24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Butterfly_Hotels, Group Guest Services Manager at Butterfly on Prat, responded to this reviewResponded February 26, 2014

Thank you for taking time to add our online reputation. We are happy to see that you enjoyed our services and facilities, and we will also pay attention to the area that could further improve your experience next time. Thanks again for your comment and we look forward to serving you in the not too distant future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 22, 2014

Quietly located a mere 5 min walk from chaotically busy Nathan Road this little gem offers a wonderful location for shopping, sightseeing, MTR, Star Ferry, buses, museums, theatres. Efficient welcoming check in, a reasonably spacious room, marvellous shower. Ample choices in close vicinity for eating and the buzz of being in a " neighbourhood" filled with Hong Kong colour. I will return absolutely.

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lochie2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Butterfly_Hotels, Group Guest Services Manager at Butterfly on Prat, responded to this reviewResponded February 26, 2014

Thank you so much for your wonderful feedback, we really appreciate it. It's very happy to understand that you have a great travel experience and had a taste of the true Hong Kong color during your trip. We would love to welcome you back and bring you more lovely experience next time.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 21, 2014

There are 2 good points to stay in this hotel:

a) It is near to the MTR.... 5 mins walk from hotel to station.
b) Outside the hotel, you can find many eating places.

The standard room is small but clean and comfortable...... pillows are not too soft! Overall, both me and my husband are happy with our stay.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LuLu672014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Butterfly_Hotels, Group Guest Services Manager at Butterfly on Prat, responded to this reviewResponded February 26, 2014

It's great to hear that you and your husband enjoyed a convenient and comfortable stay at Butterfly on Prat, hope to welcoming you back for another great experience very soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hong Kong hotels
Tsim Sha Tsui
Hotel Panorama by Rhombus
Hotel Panorama by Rhombus
#103 of 729 in Hong Kong
2,762 reviews
Tin Hau
Butterfly on Victoria
Butterfly on Victoria
#63 of 729 in Hong Kong
1,480 reviews
Mong Kok
Royal Plaza Hotel
Royal Plaza Hotel
#27 of 729 in Hong Kong
4,280 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Tsim Sha Tsui
The Royal Garden
The Royal Garden
#38 of 729 in Hong Kong
2,163 reviews
Tsim Sha Tsui
The Salisbury-YMCA of Hong Kong
Tsim Sha Tsui
Holiday Inn Golden Mile Hong Kong
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Butterfly on Prat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Butterfly on Prat

Address: No.21 Prat Avenue, Tsim Sha Tsui, Hong Kong, China
Location: China > Hong Kong > Tsim Sha Tsui
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#30 Family Hotel in Hong Kong
#38 Romantic Hotel in Hong Kong
#45 Business Hotel in Hong Kong
Price Range: $108 - $350 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Butterfly on Prat 3.5*
Number of rooms: 158
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the heart of pulsating Tsim Sha Tsui, Butterfly on Prat is the ideal launch pad to indulge in the best shopping, museums and panorama Hong Kong has to offer. Step outside of the hip and chic comforts of the hotel and loose yourself in the mega shopping maze of Harbour City. Go catch up with arts, culture and past of the ex-colony, wine and dine Michelin-grade gourmets and drink in the uninterrupted views of some of the world's finest skylines. Whatever you do in this part of town, you simply wish you'd have more eyes, ears, taste buds and time. To fulfill travellers' need for seamless, connected travel experience, the hotel now offers "4G Pocket WiFi Device" to keep your life in sync! Bring WiFi with you around town and stay in touch with the mobile hotspot (unlimited local data) that instantly connects your devices (up to 5 smartphones, tablets or other wireless portable devices) to the Internet anywhere the coverage is available. Straightforward and effortless - this is how travel should be! And once your heady day is over, return to the stylish relief of our 158 rooms, where branded amenities and device-friendly docking stations mix with free Wi-Fi and strong pops of colours to craft enhanced inspirations for both work and play. Guests will even get the treat of a free smartphone, offering unlimited local calls and 3G data, a city guide as well as all sorts of interesting info and features. Families with children are well taken care of too, with thoughtful amenities and ample space to fit comfortably a family of four. Whenever help is needed, our 24-hour front desk is on stand-by. Need travel advice? Try our 'Local Ambassadors'! How well connected are we? - 4-minute walk to the Tsim Sha Tsui MTR subway station. - 10-minute taxi ride to the Airport Express Kowloon Station for direct train connection to Hong Kong International Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TravelClick, Travelocity, Agoda, Orbitz, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Butterfly on Prat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Butterfly On Prat Hotel Hong Kong
Butterfly On Prat Hong Kong

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing