We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quality Boutique hotel in central HK”
Review of Butterfly on Prat

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Butterfly on Prat
Ranked #49 of 718 Hotels in Hong Kong
Certificate of Excellence
sydney traveller
Level 6 Contributor
203 reviews
116 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 138 helpful votes
“Quality Boutique hotel in central HK”
Reviewed January 1, 2013

We've now stayed at three Butterfly hotels in Hong Kong. All have the same intimacy and quality and all in good but different locations, so it depends what you want from your 24/7 Hong Kong visit. Also all reasonably priced in a very variable value city for hotels.
This one is on Kowloon side, close to major tourist shopping areas. Free wifi, small 24 hr gym (useful for me as often jetlagged...)

Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank nathanwaks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,855 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,268
    1,251
    257
    55
    24
See reviews for
657
950
295
365
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (303)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed December 28, 2012

I had been to Hong Kong 4 times. It is my first time staying in Butterfly on Prat. I booked the hotel because it looks nice compare to some other hotel. During my stay, the hotel fire alarm rang in the middle of the night on the Christmas Eve and everyone smell smoke coming from somewhere. When this situation happened, the visitors who are staying in the same level as me do not know what to do. There is no speaker system build in the hotel to make an announcement to inform the visitors. We called the service desk the phone is engaged due to too many visitors calling.

When we managed to reach the service desk, the staffs ask us to bring our important belonging and come down to the lobby. There are two staircase exits and I walked the fire exit. When I reach 2F I notice that there is a lot of oil stain on the stair. It is the staircase that caught the fire. If the fire was not put off while we are walk down to the lobby I might have already get burnt.

After the fire was put off, every one slowly return to their room but none the staffs inform us what happened until we went to ask the staff who is at the service desk asking what is happening?

It is such as terrible service provide from this hotel. I will never stay in this hotel anymore.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank albee_lum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maxing, Manager at Butterfly on Prat, responded to this review, January 2, 2013
Thank you for taking time to post this review. First of all, let us extend our sincerest apology for the experience that you encountered during your recent stay with us.

In the evening you mentioned, we had a guest who smoked and leave a cigarette butt that caused a small fire. The smoke activated the fire alarm; and in minutes’ time, the fire sprinkler as well that promptly put the fire out. Fire service team arrived within five minutes after the fire alarm was alerted, and declared that the fire was put out and the hotel was in a safe condition. For the first five minutes when the alarm was alerted, our primary focus was to locate the fire and co-operate with the firemen upon their arrival in order to take the right actions to assist our guests. During the course of incident, our front office manager made three announcements to ask our guests to claim down, explain the situation and finally ask our guests to return to their guestrooms. Our guest service officers also explained and apologized to our guests on the following day. Nevertheless, we will carefully review the incident again and will seek for any necessary improvement on our communication with guests.

Fire and safety has been the hotel management’s utmost concern. The hotel has been operated under the regulation of government official and met the requirements of fire service department. The hotel fire system is checked by authorized contractor on an annual basis. The government official has carried out inspection on a regular interval as well. Fire drill has been carried out regularly to ensure the operation departments are familiar with the fire handling procedure.

During the incident, our fire precaution and fighting equipments including smoke detector, fire sprinkler and auto alert system with fire service department worked in good condition which promptly inform the fire service, detected and put the fire out. Two days after the incident, the fire service department inspected the property again and found its compliance of fire safety satisfactory.

We feel sorry about the inconvenient experience caused by the incident. Once again, please rest assured that the hotel management has been putting every effort to ensure a safe and secured environment for all our guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed December 27, 2012 via mobile

Location is very central in a major touristy area. Less than five minute walk to MTR. Beds were comfortable in a city where comfortable beds is a foreign concept. Clean, good value money.

Wifi is horrible but if not necessary, no biggie. The rooms have a fridge so added bonus. Would definitely stay here again! Staff were helpful as well.

It can get a bit noisy because there are a few bars and clubs in the area do bring ear plugs!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sherrypd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California, United States
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed December 26, 2012

I stayed here a number of times on trips to HK.
The hotel is within walking distance from the train station which makes for a good walk as long as it is not too hot.
Hotel is very clean and they have free wifi.
The espresso machine is handy in the morning.
They don't have a fitness center which is unfotunate.
Overall good value for the price.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gadi B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed December 26, 2012 via mobile

we stayed there just for one night at the end of a south east asia trip. the hotel is located in kowloon and easy to reach by taxi or rail. the rooms are clean and ok for a city hotel. if we would be again in hk for a stopover we would book it again!

Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank zum_fettigen_joe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed December 19, 2012

For a city break this hotel is perfect. The rooms are clean and cozy, the beds are very comfortable and the hotel is in a great location. However, I would advise that you avoid the airport shuttle bus – for 2 people it is actually cheaper (and a lot quicker) to get a taxi.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank J0ey3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed December 14, 2012

Fragrant hotel. I'm attracted by the smell the moment I stepped in. Staff generally friendly. Room was very cozy and had a home warmth feeling, especially suitable for those who felt homesick easily. Perfect location for shoppers and diners - just step out of the hotel and you got a whole row of food and shopping all lined up for you. Clothes, desserts, massage, food, everything is just right within walking distance!!!!! Extremely convenient location and always a home to return to after a tiring day.

Travelled: July 2011

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PhuaChiuYen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hong Kong hotels
Tsim Sha Tsui
Hotel Panorama by Rhombus
Hotel Panorama by Rhombus
#90 of 718 in Hong Kong
2,645 reviews
Wan Chai / Causeway Bay
Butterfly On Morrison
Butterfly On Morrison
#79 of 718 in Hong Kong
1,407 reviews
Tin Hau
Butterfly on Victoria
Butterfly on Victoria
#65 of 718 in Hong Kong
1,334 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sheung Wan
Butterfly on Hollywood
Butterfly on Hollywood
#91 of 718 in Hong Kong
1,731 reviews
Tsim Sha Tsui
The Salisbury-YMCA of Hong Kong
Mong Kok
Metropark Hotel Mongkok
Metropark Hotel Mongkok
#32 of 718 in Hong Kong
1,153 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Butterfly on Prat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Butterfly on Prat

Property: Butterfly on Prat
Address: No.21 Prat Avenue, Tsim Sha Tsui, Hong Kong, China
Location: China > Hong Kong > Tsim Sha Tsui
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#37 Family Hotel in Hong Kong
#38 Romantic Hotel in Hong Kong
#45 Business Hotel in Hong Kong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Butterfly on Prat 3.5*
Number of rooms: 158
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the heart of pulsating Tsim Sha Tsui, Butterfly on Prat is the ideal launch pad to indulge in the best shopping, museums and panorama Hong Kong has to offer. Step outside of the hip and chic comforts of the hotel and loose yourself in the mega shopping maze of Harbour City. Go catch up with arts, culture and past of the ex-colony, wine and dine Michelin-grade gourmets and drink in the uninterrupted views of some of the world's finest skylines. Whatever you do in this part of town, you simply wish you'd have more eyes, ears, taste buds and time. To fulfill travellers' need for seamless, connected travel experience, the hotel now offers "4G Pocket WiFi Device" to keep your life in sync! Bring WiFi with you around town and stay in touch with the mobile hotspot (unlimited local data) that instantly connects your devices (up to 5 smartphones, tablets or other wireless portable devices) to the Internet anywhere the coverage is available. Straightforward and effortless - this is how travel should be! And once your heady day is over, return to the stylish relief of our 158 rooms, where branded amenities and device-friendly docking stations mix with free Wi-Fi and strong pops of colours to craft enhanced inspirations for both work and play. Guests will even get the treat of a free smartphone, offering unlimited local calls and 3G data, a city guide as well as all sorts of interesting info and features. Families with children are well taken care of too, with thoughtful amenities and ample space to fit comfortably a family of four. Whenever help is needed, our 24-hour front desk is on stand-by. Need travel advice? Try our 'Local Ambassadors'! How well connected are we? - 4-minute walk to the Tsim Sha Tsui MTR subway station. - 10-minute taxi ride to the Airport Express Kowloon Station for direct train connection to Hong Kong International Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Travelocity, Agoda, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Butterfly on Prat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Butterfly On Prat Hotel Hong Kong
Butterfly On Prat Hong Kong

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing