We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fishing village” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Cheung Chau Island

Cheung Chau Island
Book In Advance
More Info
$90.74*
and up
Cheung Chau (Long Island) Tour with Dim Sum lunch
Ranked #28 of 807 things to do in Hong Kong
Certificate of Excellence
Useful Information: Activities for older children, Activities for young children
Attraction details
Useful Information: Activities for older children, Activities for young children
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
68 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Fishing village”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 17, 2013

Cheung Chau Island is a short ride by ferry from Central. We always enjoy this boat ride when we are visiting, especially on a sunny day you can spent the whole ride on deck and watch the harbor scenery before getting to the island. The island have everything you will ever need from either a 2hour walk or spending the night. There is shopping on the broadwalk just off the ferry for local/ethnic items. Many small or medium restaurants to choose from or just picking up food from street hawkers. I always rent a bicycle or tricycle (if there is two or three of you) and ride around the island.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank WWglobal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,144 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    496
    498
    134
    7
    9
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Toronto
Level Contributor
263 reviews
99 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
“sleepy island close to HK”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 16, 2013

Cheung Chau is an island about 30mins-1hour away (depending on which ferry) from Central.

The island compared to Kowloon has a very sleepy feel to it. The locals seem to go at a slower place and it's a nice area to spend 2 hours at if you have time to kill.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Barry C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
35 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Treat of History”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 15, 2013

Not for the faint hearted . A boat trip to the island can be hairy at high sea. But a worthwhile gem in old style Hong Kong. Thsis is not for the new traveller as the place is dirty but the old monastry and walk through the forest and the old eateries are an absolute contrast to main land Hong Kong. I would definitely recommend for a break from organised Hong Kong and a cheap day out as well

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Jason P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
94 reviews
33 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“A good contrast to HK”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 15, 2013

This is a pleasant half day trip from HK. There is a slow ferry and a fast one from Pier 5 - I recommend you get the fast one as it is much nicer. When you arrive there is a strip of shops and seafood restaurants. I recommend you try the seafood but which restaurant you choose is basically pot luck as to the untrained eye they all look roughly the same. The restaurants are very basic (so if you have a Japanese wife like I do be prepared for her to recoil in horror). But the food is fine and very reasonably priced and you can sit right by the harbour and watch the fishermen come in and go out.

The main beach are also very close to here (about a 10 minute walk) and was of pretty good quality. We also visited a small temple which was interesting but the most fun bit was walking through the back streets and seeing how simple life is there compared to HK.

You can also hire bicycles from many places and if I go back again I would definitely do that.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank TeejTeejTeej
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
1,062 reviews
308 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 187 helpful votes
“Island Away from the Metropolis”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 13, 2013

Cheung Chau is a nice day trip get away from the bustling of Hong Kong. It is a small island, and there are better places to hike, but there are some nice beaches, and a lovely restaurant strip as well as the ubiquitous Hong Kong markets.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank MrDavetheSarks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cheung Chau Island also viewed

 

Been to Cheung Chau Island? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing