We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fun place to spend the day!”
Review of Cheung Chau Island

Cheung Chau Island
Book In Advance
More Info
$97.50*
and up
6-Hour Hong Kong Excursion to Cheung Chau Island With Dim Sum Lunch
More Info
$90.25*
and up
Cheung Chau (Long Island) Tour with Dim Sum lunch
Ranked #32 of 824 things to do in Hong Kong
Certificate of Excellence
Useful Information: Activities for young children, Activities for older children
Attraction details
Useful Information: Activities for young children, Activities for older children
Baltimore, Maryland
Level 6 Contributor
274 reviews
41 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Fun place to spend the day!”
Reviewed October 3, 2012

You can take the express boat or the ferry to the island. Once there, rent a bike and peddle your way through the island. Lots of snack on and lots of restaurant with great seafood and prices to choose from along the main road. Would definitely return!

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank MrsLyons0420
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,208 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    517
    530
    142
    10
    9
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Singapore
Level 5 Contributor
37 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“A place to relax”
Reviewed October 2, 2012

We travelled to Cheung Chau last year Oct. It was a place to relax and forget about the stress. We bought fried fishball and spring roll when we arrived. Slowly stroll down the street and you will notice some cafe or eateries.. Bought some dumpling to munch along the way. It was good. Probably my mood was great then and everything taste well. We walk to the seaside and it was pleasant. Love the sea breeze. At night we went to one of the restaturant for a seafood dinner. I miss the fresh steam fish and steam chicken... will return again.

Visited November 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank Wongtracy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancashire
Level 6 Contributor
141 reviews
35 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
“Great day out”
Reviewed September 30, 2012

We travelled to Cheung Chau for a day out during our holiday to Hong Kong. We arrived at Pier 5 to find that we had missed the ordinary ferry so jumped on the next fast one. This was a good choice, the views of the harbour were ok it was a fast crossing. On arrival we turned to the right and wandered through the streets looking in the shops which were numerous. We then walked back along another road of shops and went to the beach where we swam. There are showers and changing rooms which were very clean but no lockers but as the beach was virtually empty this was not really a problem, there were also life guards all over the place. Following our swim we walked back to the ferry pier and this time went to the left hand side where we had lunch at the New Baccarrat restuarant where we had excellent sea food at and reasonable price with a fantastic view across the harbour. Following this we walked back to the ferry pier and caught the slow ferry back to Hong Kong. It is worth paying the extra to go on the Delux Deck so you can go outside. We sat outside in the sun and took loads of photos of the harbour and its sky line. It was a good opportunity to have a relaxing day away from all the crowds and enjoy fabulous sea food.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Shadowfaxlancashire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maui, Hawaii
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Bring your walking shoes or rent a bike”
Reviewed September 24, 2012

There is a lot to see on this small island, but don't let that make you think it'll be a stroll. I highly recommend renting a bid if your here for just a few hours and want to see the hot spots. Otherwise bring your walking shoes and be prepared to walk a lot.

Take a map if you can get on of the island because the signs are few and a far between.

To be honest I was underwhelmed with our visit. Yes there are beache but in my opinion they aren't spectacular. We were also there on an overcast day so that didn't help.

We liked the view from the North look out point, but it's a pretty good walk on n inline up there.

It was neat to get away from Hong Kong and see what small island life is like,but I don't think I'll be back agin on our next visit.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Kjlevitt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HK
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Nice beaches, great seafood at bargain price !”
Reviewed September 24, 2012

Seafood lunch (turn left & go north) is great value for money. Imagine USD 20 for 3 dishes, USD 30 for 5 dishes, USD 40 for 7 dishes - all fresh from the sea ! There are also lots of interesting stores selling traditional souvenirs and dried seafood around the pier. Nice beaches on the east side of the island are filled with swimmers in the summer, also a great place for surfers too. Running from the south eastern side of the island, hikers can follow "Mini Great Wall", which leads you to see weird boulders ("Vase", "Human Face", "Elephant", etc - please use your imagination). Worth spending the day !

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank tkfvirg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cheung Chau Island also viewed

 
Hong Kong, China
 

Been to Cheung Chau Island? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing