We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overpriced, underwhelming food”
Review of Hutong

Hutong
Ranked #56 of 8,048 Restaurants in Hong Kong
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $32 - $90
Cuisines: Chinese, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Large groups, Special occasions, Scenic view, Business meetings
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: Tsim Sha Tsui
Description: Reminiscent of an ancient family courtyard in one of Peking's fast disappearing hutongs (courtyard houses set between narrow lanes), Hutong's interiors are set against the most breathtaking skyline of any international metropolis. This is not the only surprise. The sense of adventure and sheer avant-garde creativity continues in the innovating cuisine inspired by the culinary styles of Peking and Shandong province.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
51 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Overpriced, underwhelming food”
Reviewed May 29, 2013

First and last visit to Hutong. Simply put, the food was way overpriced, and the taste was mediocre at best. The view, however, is magnificent.

Hutong is the kind of place you'd bring out of town visitors to impress them with the HK skyline and harbor. And if they don't terribly care about the food, then it's a good choice. Judging from a scan of the clientele, that appeared to be the case.

There are many places to get a top-notch view of HK, but you don't have to pay an arm and a leg at Hutong to do it.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank sfmattyb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
patrick_kong, General Manager at Hutong, responded to this review, June 14, 2013
Iwould like to thank you for taking the time to post your comments. I can only hope we will get the chance to show you how good we really are.

Operation Manager Patrick Kong
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,467 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    685
    481
    199
    64
    38
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
27 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“View to a feast”
Reviewed May 28, 2013 via mobile

So you have killer views (tick), you have amazing decor (whole hutongs transplanted to a skyscraper, and well a frankly touristy crowd.. Now what do you do with the food ..

Well you do it well. The most amazing crispy chilli beef. The focus seems to be the schezuan flavours.. Delicious and beautifully presented. Order well and you shall be rewarded with food that evokes the real china. Just ignore the tourists snapping photos.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MrJonesreviews
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucks, UK
Level Contributor
94 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
“Good atmosphere, quality dishes and good service”
Reviewed May 28, 2013

I always try to eat at Hutong when I'm in HK although not to see the laser show, that's the most overrated thing about it!

I'd recommend going up to Aqua Spirit first on the top floor and having some drinks before your meal - it's great place to watch the sun go down.

Hutong offers good service, a fairly intimate atmosphere (although the tables are close together) and if you request a window seat, a good view of the harbour.

The dishes are very good quality and different to what you will find elsewhere in HK. Overall this is one of the best 'up market' Asian restaurants in HK. Well worth a meal there.

It's not the cheapest but then again good quality usually isn't.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JasonandSally
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bergen
Level Contributor
77 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Really cool place with great food.”
Reviewed May 27, 2013

Turned up with a colleague and no reservation. We were seated immediately and the service that followed was very good. Menu was excellent the food was really tasty. The view of Hong Kong is stunning and the restaurant interior design is very cool.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Winson796
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Level Contributor
53 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Great food, superb views”
Reviewed May 22, 2013

Hutong was recommended to us by our hotel, the JW Marriott.

We had been unlucky so far with trying to see the lights of Central because of the weather but on arrival at Hutong we realised that this was the view we had been looking for.

The restaurant is not hard to find if you use the MTR, just head to Tsim Sha Tsui and take exit L5, it's a bit of a walk but its all underground and therefore dry!! At L5 turn left, there is a sign for 1 Peking Road. Head up the stairs into the main building lobby and take the bank of elevators on the Right to Floor 28, there is a sign for the restaurant in the elevator. You exit into the restaurant and immediately you will see the view!!

Service was very good, they were happy to explain everything and even pointed out that we were ordering too much food and that we should leave something out - it's not every restaurant that would do that.

The wine list is good, but very expensive!! The cheapest bottle is about HK$550, a Cloudy Bay Sauv Blanc (HK$790) was 50% more expensive than in a restaurant in Pacific Place.

We had veg spring roles (excellent), boneless duck (really excellent!) and boneless lamb (disappointing), pak choi (good but very very garlicky) and fried rice.

All in all an amazing evening. We would definitely go back the next time we are in HK.

If you are staying on Hong Kong Island, the Star Ferry terminal is just a short walk away and makes a wonderful journey to finish off an evening!

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Neiltoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hutong also viewed

 
Hong Kong, China
Hong Kong, China
 

Been to Hutong? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing