We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good atmosphere, quality dishes and good service”
Review of Hutong

Hutong
Ranked #55 of 8,054 Restaurants in Hong Kong
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $32 - $90
Cuisines: Chinese, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions, Scenic view, Business meetings, Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: Tsim Sha Tsui
Description: Reminiscent of an ancient family courtyard in one of Peking's fast disappearing hutongs (courtyard houses set between narrow lanes), Hutong's interiors are set against the most breathtaking skyline of any international metropolis. This is not the only surprise. The sense of adventure and sheer avant-garde creativity continues in the innovating cuisine inspired by the culinary styles of Peking and Shandong province.
Bucks, UK
Level Contributor
94 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
“Good atmosphere, quality dishes and good service”
Reviewed May 28, 2013

I always try to eat at Hutong when I'm in HK although not to see the laser show, that's the most overrated thing about it!

I'd recommend going up to Aqua Spirit first on the top floor and having some drinks before your meal - it's great place to watch the sun go down.

Hutong offers good service, a fairly intimate atmosphere (although the tables are close together) and if you request a window seat, a good view of the harbour.

The dishes are very good quality and different to what you will find elsewhere in HK. Overall this is one of the best 'up market' Asian restaurants in HK. Well worth a meal there.

It's not the cheapest but then again good quality usually isn't.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JasonandSally
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,467 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    685
    481
    199
    64
    38
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Bergen
Level Contributor
77 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Really cool place with great food.”
Reviewed May 27, 2013

Turned up with a colleague and no reservation. We were seated immediately and the service that followed was very good. Menu was excellent the food was really tasty. The view of Hong Kong is stunning and the restaurant interior design is very cool.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Winson796
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Level Contributor
53 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Great food, superb views”
Reviewed May 22, 2013

Hutong was recommended to us by our hotel, the JW Marriott.

We had been unlucky so far with trying to see the lights of Central because of the weather but on arrival at Hutong we realised that this was the view we had been looking for.

The restaurant is not hard to find if you use the MTR, just head to Tsim Sha Tsui and take exit L5, it's a bit of a walk but its all underground and therefore dry!! At L5 turn left, there is a sign for 1 Peking Road. Head up the stairs into the main building lobby and take the bank of elevators on the Right to Floor 28, there is a sign for the restaurant in the elevator. You exit into the restaurant and immediately you will see the view!!

Service was very good, they were happy to explain everything and even pointed out that we were ordering too much food and that we should leave something out - it's not every restaurant that would do that.

The wine list is good, but very expensive!! The cheapest bottle is about HK$550, a Cloudy Bay Sauv Blanc (HK$790) was 50% more expensive than in a restaurant in Pacific Place.

We had veg spring roles (excellent), boneless duck (really excellent!) and boneless lamb (disappointing), pak choi (good but very very garlicky) and fried rice.

All in all an amazing evening. We would definitely go back the next time we are in HK.

If you are staying on Hong Kong Island, the Star Ferry terminal is just a short walk away and makes a wonderful journey to finish off an evening!

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Neiltoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bushmills, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
91 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Didn't disappoint”
Reviewed May 22, 2013

Having been disappointed by the weather and service at the Ritz Carlton, we tried again to see the lights of Hong Kong and enjoy some good food too. We were not disappointed at all by Hutong. Initially unable to get a table by the window on Tuesday evening we tried again for the Wednesday and were successful. The restaurant was full for the 7pm sitting so it looks like booking is necessary if you don't want to be disappointed.

The setting is superb and surely must be on the "must do" list for anyone coming through Hong Kong though probably not for those on a tight budget. The food was excellent ...the duck especially was terrific. We made a error in selection and having had the duck shouldn't have had the deboned lamb also .....a little too similar .... Still everything we ordered tasted good. The wine was somewhat on the pricey side but one felt that with the fantastic view it was worth it!

We found the service efficient, helpful and unobtrusive.

All in all a very enjoyable evening.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JE008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sydney
Level Contributor
164 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
“Best night-lights view , excellent food and service”
Reviewed May 17, 2013

This is our 3rd visit to Hutong over the last 3 years , and it is consistently excellent , and it's not often that i will return to the same restaurant on a return visit (usually I want to try as many different places as possible!)
Sitting by the window , it's hard to take your eyes away from the glittering views of Victoria harbour. You couldn't ask for a more perfect view. The service is slick and efficient . And the food is just divine , each and every dish !
I will be back !

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank SeaDream2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
patrick_kong, General Manager at Hutong, responded to this review, May 22, 2013
Thanks for your long time supporting Hutong!
LODON HUTONG will be open in mid of June. I'm sure will provide the best food & serive to you same as Hong Kong Hutong

Operation Manager Patrick Kong
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hutong also viewed

 

Been to Hutong? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing