We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very disappointing”
1 of 5 bubbles Review of Hutong

Hutong
Ranked #53 of 7,948 Restaurants in Hong Kong
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $32 - $90
Cuisines: Chinese, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view, Families with children, Business meetings, Special occasions, Large groups, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: Tsim Sha Tsui
Description: Reminiscent of an ancient family courtyard in one of Peking's fast disappearing hutongs (courtyard houses set between narrow lanes), Hutong's interiors are set against the most breathtaking skyline of any international metropolis. This is not the only surprise. The sense of adventure and sheer avant-garde creativity continues in the innovating cuisine inspired by the culinary styles of Peking and Shandong province.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Very disappointing”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 29, 2013

We were looking for a good restaurant to celebrate our friends 55th birthday. The hotel recommended Hutong at One Peking. The views were great over Hong Kong Harbor but that's all that was great. The service was very poor, no smile, helpful suggestions or attentiveness. The food was far from 3 star Michelin. I have had better Chinese food at our local take away. A few of us had the tasting menu which was very expensive.
After the meal we decided to try the upstairs bar Aqua - just as disappointing.
After this experience we asked some locals who suggested the restaurants in ISquare and we tried Nanhai -a 1star Michelin - much better!

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Tasia G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,443 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    672
    475
    195
    63
    38
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
UK
Level Contributor
84 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Great view and food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 26, 2013 via mobile

Loved the view and drinks in the bar beforehand. The lamb was good and you have to try the chilli chicken - excellent experience!

Helpful?
1 Thank britabroad9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inverness
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Excellent”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 24, 2013

Hi,

My wife and I have visited this restaurant 4 times in the last year, usually on a Saturday at lunch time. We have chosen their reasonably priced set menu and have found on each occasion, the food to be of excellent quality and the service to be very good.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Pinksnowdrop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“What happened to the high level of service?”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 21, 2013

The meal was fabulous ... Tasting menu x 8. But the wheels fell off at dessert time. Despite repeated requests, the delivery of ice creams took over half an hour. The service fee was waived yet somehow found its way onto the credit card transaction.

A great experience with friends, including first time visitors to HK was soured. V disappointed. Doubt we will go back

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank AussieB3ar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great food and view”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 19, 2013

The food was fantastic, sliced calamari with a hot sauce, seriously good prawns on a bed of XO dried chilli, crispy, boneless duck etc ...

The view is great and such a Hong Kong experience to travel up vertically into the sky to eat and drink.

Only detraction is the poor staff are so over the tourists, the service is a little ... deflated and deflating. Also, the touristy vibe has a little of a bus stop vibe to it.

Definitely do Hutong, try to ignore the bustle and the depressed waiters, concentrate on the delicious food and view and you'll have a ball.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank karinliebling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hutong also viewed

 
Hong Kong, China
Hong Kong, China
 

Been to Hutong? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing