We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Delicious & Affordable” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Khyber Pass Mess Club

Khyber Pass Mess Club
Ranked #407 of 7,777 Restaurants in Hong Kong
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $6 - $13
Cuisines: Pakistani, Indian, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Dining on a budget, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Drinks, Cash Only, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wine and Beer
Neighborhood: Tsim Sha Tsui
Description: Khyber Pass was named as the King of Curry with their traditional Indian cuisine, good quality of ingredients and the best Indian food served in Hong Kong. Khyber Pass was named as the King of Curry, the Indian Chef has been interviewed by TV programs and magazines. With their traditional Indian cuisine, good quality of ingredient, it became a popular attraction for artists, Hong Kong people and even tourists. Must try dishes: Khyber Pass Signature Grilled Chicken, Curry Lamb Shank in Pot, Curry Lamb with cashews, Cheese Pizza, Mango Milkshake Please feel free to call in for table reservation.
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Delicious & Affordable”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2012

This place is a bit hidden but easy to find and worth the effort. My fiance and I went there at 5:35pm and we had to wait (sitting at a table ) until 6:00pm when they opened. Service was good and the food was really satisfying. We both had a full meal for a total of $180HK. The place seats maybe 35 people and it was packed by 6:30 pm. It was mostly locals eating there and the ambiance is nothing special, however, if you are shopping in TST then you need to check it out for an affordable and authentic Indian meal. We will go there again for sure.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank dmprior
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

76 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    24
    40
    8
    4
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Bloomfield, New Jersey
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Fantastic Indian food for a decent price in a ridiculously overpriced city”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 3, 2012 via mobile

Im a huge fan of Indian cuisine so this may be slightly biased. However, looking for good food at a good price is tough in Hong kong since there is no space for anything, and everything is priced like you're an international banker making six figures.
I decided to give this a go since I was staying at mirador mansion. First of all Chungking and mirador are not nearly as bad as people make it sound - its just that if you're a westerner in a strange land, you will of course feel uncomfortable in a place like this. However, if you're adventurous and willing to give things a try, this place is certainly worthy.
The restaurant is just one room in the building and you sit at a long table next to others. The workers are extremely friendly and want you to have a good meal and time. We tried the makhni chicken and Rogan josh, which were both excellent along with naan bread. Can't forget to mention the samosas. All of this was excellent and some of the best Indian food I've had and I've been to India three times previously. Nonetheless, the prices were slightly higher than I would've hoped but certainly one of the best deals I could find in the city. And you should sign up for their VIP membership - you get 10% off your future visits. No doubt any of the menu selections would have been great - give this one a try if you enjoy Indian cuisine and are in the tsim hsa tsui area.

    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Friske
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“favourite restaurant and dish in the world”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 28, 2012

The khyber is a north Indian / Pakistani restaurant and a Hong Kong institution located within the infamous Chungking Mansions - visiting it is an experience - old narrow raggedly lifts with little apparent regard for building regulations. Their kadhai (chicken or mutton) dish is fantastic, rich thick curry where you can taste the different herbs and spices with each bite. Mixed with onions, tomatoes and capsicum, reasonably spiced -just sublime in my opinion. As far as I know a 60 year old Pakistani chef has kept the recipe for 20 plus years.

Most of the other curries are great.... starters such as samosas and onion bahji are only average.

Been going fairly regularly for last 5 years and will continue to

  • Visited March 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank p2me2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lytham St Anne's, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
157 reviews
82 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 219 helpful votes
“Fabulous food, brilliant experience”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 4, 2011

You queue for a lift to take you to the 7th floor of a residential apartment block. You take your seat along with other customers on long tables for a cosy experience. The menu offers a simple selection of meat and vegetarian dishes. The service is efficient and friendly and soon you are presented with fabulous Indian food of generous proportions and excellent quality. The meat, often the letdown when dining at the cheaper end of the restaurant scale was first rate.

The prices are very fair and the only let down are the loos!

Great Hong Kong experience.

  • Visited November 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Beebs11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Great Curry”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 12, 2011

I know this restaurant is located within Chungking Mansions but don't let this put you off.

The food is GREAT and very cheap!

Don't expect posh decor and you'll get better service at your local Mac D's but it all part of the experience.

Check it out for yourself.

If you fancy a GREAT curry in Hong Kong, this is the place to go.

  • Visited November 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Gmoney71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Khyber Pass Mess Club also viewed

 

Been to Khyber Pass Mess Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing