We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great dinner for my son's birthday !”
Review of Cafe Renaissance

Cafe Renaissance
Reserve a Table
2
Sat, 7/20
8:00 PM
Ranked #85 of 13,471 Restaurants in Hong Kong
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $30 - $75
Cuisines: International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Buffet, Reservations
Neighborhood: Wan Chai / Causeway Bay
Description: Our stylish restaurant offers all-day international dining. Start your day here in Hong Kong with a delicious and healthy meal, or enjoy both buffet and a la carte options for lunch and dinner. And don't forget to visit us for weekend brunch!
Reviewed June 2, 2019

It is our second time to eat this buffet.
Food is great although the variety is not as much as we expected.
Toro is wonderful.
The server are very nice and professional and we have sufficient time to enjoy the dinner.
The cut cake for my son's birthday is also very delicious.
We will visit again in near future.

Date of visit: June 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Getaway326895
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rhi_hkghv, Director of Operations at Cafe Renaissance, responded to this reviewResponded June 3, 2019

Dear Getaway326895,

Thank you very much for your nice view and happy birthday to your son again! We hope that you like the cut cake. Our buffet menu will change in seasons and there is different promotion in the year. Please come and try again!

Regards,
Michael Mah
Director of Operations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (314)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3 - 7 of 314 reviews

Reviewed May 28, 2019

We came to the Cafe Renaissance when we visited Hong Kong in November. We went for their dinner buffet.
Food:
In general, the Cafe Renaissance's buffet was divided into 5 sections:
1) Cold Seafood: This was the first food counter by the entrance and it had 4 choices of seafood: Pacific oyster, Show crab leg, Sea Whelk & Lobster's claw.

Verdict: We've never been a big fan of oysters but we still managed to have one each. Unfortunately, the oyster had a strong fishy smell, it tasted awful and we didn't like the texture. The Snow crab leg was lovely though, even though it tasted a little bit bland but the crab meat came off the cluster easily. Also, the lobster claw was meaty and yummy.

2) Sushi: It included the normal sushi set as expected (i.e. Ebi nigiri, Sake Nigiri, Unagi Nigiri, tofu/egg sushi...etc.). There was also a tiny Sashimi section which provided 4 selections: salmon, tuna, toro & yellowtail.

Verdict: The sushi & sashimi were fresh and delicious and they were all very good quality. However, my 2 complaints were the absence of scallops (which I read from previous reviews that this buffet would provide scallops) and each person was only allowed to order 2 pieces each time. I respected their policy, but each sashimi was sliced too thin so it made its texture & thickness closed to the smoked salmon's. Personally, I think they were a bit too stingy on the Sashimi section.

3) Soup Noodles: This section included serving the hot soup with Chinses rice or egg noodles. Selection of ingredients included 4 types of typical Chinese vegetables, plus some fishballs, beefballs, shrimps and mushrooms...etc. Next to this noodles section, it also offered the "Beef & Chinese herbs" soup.

Verdict: We didn't have the stomach for noodles as we were stuffed, but my wife had ordered 2 pots of Chinese soups and she said they were delicious.

4) Hot food: In this section, Renaissance's signature courses were the "Roasted prime ribs", "Baked Boston lobsters with cheese", "Rotisserie Chicken" & an "unknown Fish" (forgot the name). They also had a selection for the unpopular "Chinatown's cheap buffet" style of food, such as "sweet & sour chicken", "beef in black beans sauce", "stir-fried noodles", "seafood fried rice", "stir-fried vegetables"...etc. Towards the end of the hot section, there was a small counter for the Hainanese Chicken Rice.

Verdict: We were very disappointed with every signature course, i.e. the sliced beef was chewy (which might due to the poor selection of beef rather than the quality); the meat from the lobsters was tiny (just a mouthful), it was very rubbery & tasted bland; the Rotisserie Chicken was too dry and not tender at all, it was tasteless without gravy. However, I loved the Hainanese Chicken Rice, the chicken was moist and tender and the rice was well cooked with full of chicken flavour. I was also surprised with the Braised Chicken, as it turned out to be my favourite from the hot food section. The chicken skin was crispy and the meat underneath was juicy and delicious.

5) Salad Bar & Dessert: There was a huge selection of desserts on the kitchen island, such as Haagen Dazs, green tea roulade, chocolate cake, souffle, cheesecake, mousse cake, egg custard tart, tiramisu, matcha, Belgium chocolate, cupcake and multiple flavours of waffles...etc.

Verdict: The dessert section was the star of the night & there wasn't any that we didn't like. My personal favourites were the lemon cheesecake and custard tarts as they were lovely and were so addictive. The chocolate cake, mousse cake and waffles were also deliciously tasty! Every dessert was well prepared. I wished I had a 2nd stomach so that I could eat them over and over again. The dessert section stood out from the rest of the meal.

Service and the eating environment:
Cafe Renaissance is located inside a very elegant 5 stars hotel (Renaissance Harbour Hotel). The restaurant is posh. modern and well decorated. There was plenty of space between each table, and it wasn't noisy even when it was full. Chairs were comfy, although we actually preferred to sit by the sofa bench. Decent food presentation and the food refilled time was fast.

Staff service quality was a mixed bag. Staffs at the food counters were helpful, patient, friendly and worked their socks off to try to please every customer throughout the night. However, staffs on the floor were okayish, although they refilled our drinks quickly but they looked so pissed off as none of them smiled. The girl at the reception was not a very friendly person too, she gave us no eye contact and gave us an empty expression when we said "thank you" & "goodbye" to her. The dinner was also partially let down by a few customers who repeatedly jumped in the queues (at the lobsters and sashimi sections) and were very rude towards the staffs at the counters.

Price:
Originally, it cost around $750 per person but we received a lovely 25% discount through the booking via "OpenRice website". We stayed there for 3 hours and hadn't stopped eating.

Overall, we were slightly disappointed with the quality of food, mainly due to the poor prime ribs, lobsters and rotisserie chicken as they were the main reasons for us to come here. However, we were very satisfied with every dessert that night as it surpassed our expectations.
There was also room for improvement for its customer service, the floor staffs could be more attentive and be more friendly. Anyway, we had a lovely time at Cafe Renaissance, we left with full bellies and happy hearts.

Food: A mixed bag (or slightly below average).
Customer Service: Average.
Value for Money: Very.
Eating environment: Good.

Date of visit: November 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Snowball23514
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rhi_hkghv, Director of Operations at Cafe Renaissance, responded to this reviewResponded May 28, 2019

Dear Snowball23514,

Thank you very much for your very detailed review. We put high value of our guest comments as it always give us direction to do better. We are glad that you had a good time at Cafe Renaissance. Regarding the food and customer services you mentioned, we will arrange a meeting to follow up.

Thank you again for your valuable comments. Please visit us again when you are at Hong Kong!

Regards,
Michael Mah
Director of Operations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 14, 2019

這個五月除了有母親節愛, 更有飲食界的盛事法國五月美食薈。

食中藥不少餐廳,都參與其中,更會在餐牌中加插了不少法國美食。

今次萬麗海景咖啡室便在自助餐區開闢了專區,特意擺上了好幾款來自法國盧瓦爾河谷(Loire Valley)的美食。

簡單的一角,已提供了鴨、雞、魚、豬及羊等肉類元素,再加上令人著迷的法式甜品,用舌尖走一轉,已經半飽了。

當中最吸引我的,就一定係 Duck Rillettes,入口甘香軟滑,鴨油味濃,尤其是配上法式多士,口感就更有層次,正。

再來是白梭吻鱸魚,一貫西式處理手法,獨留魚塊部位,食落毫無碎骨,啖啖肉的感覺真好。

至於最具特色的菜色,個人認為是特色腸肚包配酸瓜,望落毫不顯眼,但入口卻羶味澎湃,油份幾重,所以配上酸瓜來平衡口感,講真,大家未必接受,但無可否認坊間好難食到。

法式香草烤雞

跟平日見到的不同,但醃得好香同入味。

而精選的芝士更是有「 山羊芝士之王」美譽的Sainte-Maure 聖馬賽蘭山羊芝士,芝士迷可不要錯過啊!

甜品是塔丁蘋果塔Tarte Tatin、Macaroon、櫻桃撻及 Sables,都是具傳統的法國風味,值得大家花點胃納。

一口氣品嚐過多款法國美食後,又係時候喪食RenCafe 的菜色了。

海鮮

焗龍蝦

由以往的活蒸龍蝦轉成焗龍蝦,風味是不同,但同樣可口,加上源源不絕供應,最佳回本位。

Pacific oyster生蠔

新鮮爽滑,蠔味不俗,食得過。

仲有鱈場蟹腳、藍青口、咖啡蟹同埋龍蝦鉗,質素好自然食多幾件。

刺身

拖羅

環顧香港自助餐,除了特意找來黃鰭吞拿即劏外,相信萬麗海景自助餐的拖羅,必定是最佳,真係睇相已經知道。

另外,有三文魚、油甘魚、吞拿魚、八爪魚及鮑片。

壽司

鰻魚、玉子、三文魚、八爪魚、吞拿魚、魷魚、蟹柳及墨魚。

Carving Station

燒 Prime Rib

火喉啱啱好,烤至 medium rare ,肉質嫣紅帶血絲,肉味濃而且有嚼口,正。

烤羊架

羊味不算太濃,而且肉嫩,就算怕羶的太太都覺得問題不大。

燒雞

雞皮位好香,略嫌雞肉有點結實。

焗三文魚

雖然魚皮有些少焦,但無損內裡嫩滑的肉質,好味。

熱葷

原先的鐵板羊架區換上了海南雞飯,雞肉嫩滑可口,加上三色醬,帶來不同口味,而油飯粒顆分明,比起坊間不少自吹自擂的名店更出色。

另外,有蒜香雞翼、乾炒牛河、炒雜菜、翠玉瓜炒魚塊、上海炒豬肉及中式炒飯。

當中有幾款值得一提。

黑椒龍蝦鉗

炒得好入味,不過要少少時間拆殼。

咖喱羊肉

炆得啱啱好,不會太稔,羊肉有咖喱的香料中和,毫不覺羶,用來配白飯一流。

另外,如果切了片Prime Rib,有好幾款side dishes,有焗西蘭花、烤南瓜、焗薯仔及燉炆雜菜。



黑木耳核桃燉豬展

每次到訪的燉湯,都是不同味道,真的要配服廚師的心思。

黑木耳與核桃,都是健康食材,喝起來有舌底生津的感覺。

鱆魚蓮藕豬骨湯

實在太真材實料,一揭開煲蓋,已傳來陣陣香氣,每口湯都帶蓮藕及鱆魚的味道,超正。

西蘭花白腰豆湯

西湯亦不錯,香甜滑溜,只是中湯太出色了。

麵檔

自從紅磡火車站附近某酒店的喇沙越來越差之後,相信 Renaissance Cafe 的喇沙,是我吃過近年最好的。

不論湯底的濃稠、椰香與及辣度,全都是恰到好處,尤其是用米粉混和油麵更是一絕,毫無誇大,在坐的每位朋友都先後來了一碗,大家試過就知。

如果不喜歡喇沙湯底的,其實還有豬骨湯底可供選擇。

沙律
羊芝士蕃茄沙律、大蝦沙律、豆腐沙律、吞拿魚沙律、薯仔沙律、麵沙律、雞沙律、茄子沙律、甘筍蘿蔔沙律及自家製沙律,種類又多又清新。

芝士

除了推介的法國芝士,當然有來自不同國家的上等貨色,例如Brie、Gorgonzola 及 Gouda。

Cold Cut

有煙三文魚、沙樂美腸、Coppa 及 風乾牛肉片。

甜品

即製 Molten Chocolate Cake

切開一半,呈流心狀,好對辦,配上一杯雪糕,更是無以尚之的享受。
雪糕是哈根大師,總共有香草、咖啡、朱古力、草莓、曲奇及香蕉,而且是獨立杯上,清潔衛生,口味各異,好啱心多既朋友。

另外,更有藍莓芝士蛋糕、咖啡戚風、朱古力松露、朱古力紅莓慕絲蛋糕、芒果慕斯蛋糕、抹茶慕斯蛋糕、朱古力噴泉、歌劇院、Chocolate Cone、Financier、雲呢拿紅莓奶凍Strawberry Short Cake、70% 比利時朱古力慕絲、葡撻、Praline Trifle及紅棗糕,款式又多又甜美,先是一件歌劇院,再來一份甜滑的芒果慕絲蛋糕,睇怕今次又會重幾磅!

Date of visit: May 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank foodiephilip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rhi_hkghv, 營運總監 at Cafe Renaissance, responded to this reviewResponded May 14, 2019
Google Translation

親愛的 foodiephilip︰

很高興收到您對我們萬麗咖啡室法國五月美食薈的正面評價!描述得非常詳盡,令人想立刻到場大快朵頤。我們一直致力於為客人提供高質的餐飲服務,除法國五月,陸續還會有其他的環球美食推廣,歡迎光臨指教!

營運總監
Michael Mah

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 5, 2019 via mobile

Food - not much options but pretty good quality of food. Recommend crab leg, lobster, tuna toro, oyster, prime rib, tenderloin, smoked salmon.

Service is outstanding! The server is very professional and clean up the dish very fast.

Date of visit: May 2019
Thank areufoodie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rhi_hkghv, Director of B&F at Cafe Renaissance, responded to this reviewResponded May 5, 2019

Dear areufoodie,

Thank you very much for your kind words! It was our pleasure to serve a nice customer like you. Except the tuna toro, bake lobster is also our famous dish. Our menu will be change by seasonal. Please come and visit us again for more delicious food.

Regards,
Michael Mah
Director of B&F

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 29, 2019

Friend birthday party night.
Service were the best, staff were proactive to serve with all your need, even just taking a photo, they were proactively to help.
Food were excellent too, esp. the lobster with cheese on top and the oysters were good too. Price were reasonable with extra HKD 100 that can re-fill red/ white wine all night that was good.
We had a very pleasant night.
Good place to have gathering in here.

Date of visit: April 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank fatddd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rhi_hkghv, Director of Operations at Cafe Renaissance, responded to this reviewResponded May 1, 2019

Dear fatddd,

We are glad to hear that you and your friend had a wonderful birthday party at Cafe Renaissance.Thank you so much for your kind words. Bake lobster and oysters are our hit items on the buffet table. The buffet menu will be changed by seasons. Please feel free to visit us again when you miss our great food!

Regards,
Michael Mah
Director of Operations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe Renaissance also viewed

 
Hong Kong, China
 

Been to Cafe Renaissance? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing